Medical lab technician programs in South Dakota
4 medical lab programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
3 schools offer these medical lab programs, and South Dakota has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Clinical laboratory technologists and technicians run the medical lab tests used to diagnose, treat and prevent disease. Most need a bachelor's degree, though technicians sometimes qualify with an associate degree and some vocational and technical schools offer technician certificates; some states require a license, and employers may prefer certification.1
In South Dakota, all 4 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.
All 4 are the same kind of program: medical lab technician (associate degree).
See the 4 programsHow much do medical lab technician programs cost in South Dakota?
$16,994 to $19,734
is what the 4 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- 4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- South Dakota's rates sit far below every other state's
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- Not enough data
- 4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in South Dakota may also offer medical lab technician programs. How these figures are made
All 4 medical lab programs in South Dakota approved for WIOA funding
Filters
4 programs
Medical Laboratory Technician | AAS | Campus
Lake Area Technical College
Watertown
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$16,994Program website, Medical Laboratory Technician | AAS | Campus at Lake Area Technical CollegeMore details about Medical Laboratory Technician | AAS | Campus at Lake Area Technical College
- Finished
- 46%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 76 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,625
- Students counted
- 79
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $16,994
Medical Lab Technician | AAS | Hybrid
Lake Area Technical College
Watertown
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$19,594Program website, Medical Lab Technician | AAS | Hybrid at Lake Area Technical CollegeMore details about Medical Lab Technician | AAS | Hybrid at Lake Area Technical College
- Finished
- 17%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 76 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,000
- Students counted
- 75
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $19,594
Medical Laboratory Technology | AAS | Campus
Mitchell Technical College
Mitchell
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$19,113Program website, Medical Laboratory Technology | AAS | Campus at Mitchell Technical CollegeMore details about Medical Laboratory Technology | AAS | Campus at Mitchell Technical College
- Finished
- 54%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 81 weeks, 21 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,357
- Students counted
- 67
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $19,113
Medical Laboratory Technician | AAS | Hybrid (69 credit hours)
Western Dakota Technical College
Rapid City
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$59,900Price if you pay yourself$19,734Program website, Medical Laboratory Technician | AAS | Hybrid (69 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical CollegeMore details about Medical Laboratory Technician | AAS | Hybrid (69 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical College
- Finished
- 68%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,984
- Length
- 64 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,734
- Students counted
- 63
- Earned a year, estimated
- $59,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $19,734
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for medical lab technician programs in South Dakota
WIOA funding can pay for medical lab technician programs in South Dakota
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for medical lab technician programs
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for medical lab technician programs
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Medical lab technician programs in Watertown, Mitchell, Rapid City and other South Dakota cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above.
Other training in South Dakota
How medical lab technician programs compare with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in South Dakota
- CDL training13 programs
- CNA classes2 programs
- Medical assistant training4 programs
- Phlebotomy training4 programs
- Welding classes15 programs
- HVAC training5 programs
- Medical billing and coding training11 programs
- LPN programs7 programs
- EMT classes6 programs
- Electrician training4 programs
- Dental assistant programs4 programs
- Auto mechanic classes3 programs
- Pharmacy technician training1 program
- Plumbing school4 programs
- CNC machinist training5 programs
- Carpentry classes1 program
- Heavy equipment operator training2 programs
- Diesel mechanic training5 programs
- Cybersecurity training3 programs
- IT training13 programs
- Cosmetology school2 programs
- Barber school2 programs
- Surgical tech programs3 programs
- Culinary school1 program
- Human resources training4 programs
- Medication aide training1 program
- Industrial maintenance technician training5 programs
- Early childhood education programs1 program
- Hospitality management programs2 programs
- Community health worker training2 programs
- Coding and software development courses5 programs
- Lineman school2 programs
- Sonography school3 programs
- Administrative assistant training4 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses1 program
- Digital marketing courses2 programs
- Web and graphic design courses1 program
- Health information technology programs1 program
- Vet tech programs1 program
- Home inspector training1 program
- Healthcare administration programs1 program
- Cardiovascular technology programs1 program
- Human services programs1 program
- Manufacturing technician training2 programs
- Electronics technician training3 programs
- Business administration programs9 programs
- Criminal justice programs4 programs
- Auto body repair classes3 programs
- Solar and wind technician training1 program
- Construction training programs7 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes11 programs
- RN programs5 programs
Where the South Dakota medical lab program numbers come from
Which South Dakota medical lab programs are on this list?
These are the medical lab programs South Dakota approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what South Dakota offers.
How the prices and results of South Dakota medical lab programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the South Dakota figures?
We leave out the share working 6 months later for South Dakota: its rates sit far below every other state's.
Sources for the facts about medical lab technician programs in South Dakota
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List