Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Home inspector training in South Dakota

1 home inspector program with costs, results and funding that can make it free

One school offers this home inspection program, and South Dakota has approved it for workforce funding. It shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Home inspectors examine houses and other homes and report on their condition, from the roof and foundation to the plumbing, electrical and heating and cooling systems. Most states require a state license or certification or set rules for the work; requirements vary but may include inspection experience, liability insurance and a passed exam.1

In South Dakota, the one program asks for a high school diploma or equivalent.

See the program

How much does home inspector training cost in South Dakota?

$615

is what this program costs if you pay yourself

This program

Finished the program
Not reported
The program doesn't report it
Working 6 months later
Not reported
The program doesn't report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
The program doesn't report it
Length
2 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in South Dakota may also offer home inspector training. How these figures are made

Is there free home inspector training in South Dakota?

The one home inspector program in South Dakota approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

1 program

  • Home inspector license courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Master Home Inspection Training | Online

    Be Online Inc.

    Based in Madison, SD

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Be Online Inc., based in Madison, SDHome inspector license courseOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$615
    Program website, Master Home Inspection Training | Online at Be Online Inc.
    More details about Master Home Inspection Training | Online at Be Online Inc.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    2 weeks, 45 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $615
    Program website, Master Home Inspection Training | Online at Be Online Inc.

How to pay for home inspector training in South Dakota

WIOA funding can pay for home inspector training in South Dakota

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for home inspector training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for home inspector training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in South Dakota

How home inspector training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in South Dakota

Where the South Dakota home inspection program numbers come from

Which South Dakota home inspection programs are on this list?

These are the home inspection programs South Dakota approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what South Dakota offers.

How the prices and results of South Dakota home inspection programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the South Dakota figures?

We leave out the share working 6 months later for South Dakota: its rates sit far below every other state's.

Sources for the facts about home inspector training in South Dakota

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Construction and Building Inspectors
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List