Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Criminal justice programs in South Dakota

4 criminal justice programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these criminal justice programs, and South Dakota has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Police officers protect lives and property, and detectives gather facts and collect evidence of possible crimes. The education needed ranges from a high school diploma to a college degree, and new officers usually attend a training academy before they start.1

In South Dakota, all 4 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

All 4 are the same kind of program: criminal justice, corrections or police science (associate degree).

See the 4 programs

How much do criminal justice programs cost in South Dakota?

$17,819 to $33,790

is what the 4 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Left out
South Dakota's rates sit far below every other state's
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in South Dakota may also offer criminal justice programs. How these figures are made

Are there free criminal justice programs in South Dakota?

All 4 criminal justice programs in South Dakota approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

4 programs

  • Criminal justice, corrections or police science (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Law Enforcement Science | AAS | In-person

    Southeast Technical College

    Sioux Falls

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southeast Technical College, Sioux FallsCriminal justice, corrections or police science (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$47,400
    Price if you pay yourself$18,105
    Program website, Law Enforcement Science | AAS | In-person at Southeast Technical College
    More details about Law Enforcement Science | AAS | In-person at Southeast Technical College
    Finished
    73%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,841
    Length
    64 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,510
    Students counted
    115
    Earned a year, estimated
    $47,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $18,105
    Program website, Law Enforcement Science | AAS | In-person at Southeast Technical College
  • Criminal justice, corrections or police science (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Law Enforcement | AAS | Campus

    Lake Area Technical College

    Watertown

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lake Area Technical College, WatertownCriminal justice, corrections or police science (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$46,000
    Price if you pay yourself$17,819
    Program website, Law Enforcement | AAS | Campus at Lake Area Technical College
    More details about Law Enforcement | AAS | Campus at Lake Area Technical College
    Finished
    64%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,497
    Length
    68 weeks, 28 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,373
    Students counted
    110
    Earned a year, estimated
    $46,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $17,819
    Program website, Law Enforcement | AAS | Campus at Lake Area Technical College
  • Criminal justice, corrections or police science (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Criminal Justice // Law Enforcement Emphasis | AAS | Hybrid (63 credit hours)

    Western Dakota Technical College

    Rapid City

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Western Dakota Technical College, Rapid CityCriminal justice, corrections or police science (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$20,800
    Price if you pay yourself$18,018
    Program website, Criminal Justice // Law Enforcement Emphasis | AAS | Hybrid (63 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical College
    More details about Criminal Justice // Law Enforcement Emphasis | AAS | Hybrid (63 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical College
    Finished
    58%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,206
    Length
    64 weeks, 25 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,633
    Students counted
    80
    Earned a year, estimated
    $20,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $18,018
    Program website, Criminal Justice // Law Enforcement Emphasis | AAS | Hybrid (63 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical College
  • Criminal justice, corrections or police science (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Criminal Justice | AA/AS | In-person

    Dakota Wesleyan University

    Mitchell

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dakota Wesleyan University, MitchellCriminal justice, corrections or police science (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$33,790
    School website, Criminal Justice | AA/AS | In-person at Dakota Wesleyan University
    More details about Criminal Justice | AA/AS | In-person at Dakota Wesleyan University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $10,060
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $33,790
    School website, Criminal Justice | AA/AS | In-person at Dakota Wesleyan University

How to pay for criminal justice programs in South Dakota

WIOA funding can pay for criminal justice programs in South Dakota

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for criminal justice programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for criminal justice programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Criminal justice programs in Sioux Falls, Watertown, Rapid City and other South Dakota cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above.

Other training in South Dakota

How criminal justice programs compare with the rest of public safety: First responder training in South Dakota

Where the South Dakota criminal justice program numbers come from

Which South Dakota criminal justice programs are on this list?

These are the criminal justice programs South Dakota approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what South Dakota offers.

How the prices and results of South Dakota criminal justice programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the South Dakota figures?

We leave out the share working 6 months later for South Dakota: its rates sit far below every other state's.

Sources for the facts about criminal justice programs in South Dakota

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Police and Detectives
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List