Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Medical administrative assistant training in West Virginia

3 medical office programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

2 schools offer these medical office administration programs, and West Virginia has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Medical secretaries and administrative assistants keep a medical office running: they take basic patient histories, arrange hospital admissions and process insurance payments. They need to know medical terms and codes, medical records and office procedures, which community colleges and technical schools teach.1

In West Virginia, all 3 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 3 programs here are medical office with billing and coding (1 program), medical administrative assistant certificate or course (1 program) and medical office (associate degree, 1 program).

See the 3 programs

How much does medical administrative assistant training cost in West Virginia?

$15,845 to $23,970

from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Left out
Every program that reports it reports exactly 100%
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
Not reported
None of the 3 programs report it

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in West Virginia may also offer medical administrative assistant training. How these figures are made

Is there free medical administrative assistant training in West Virginia?

All 3 medical office programs in West Virginia approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

3 programs

  • Medical office with billing and codingIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Front Office Billing and Coding

    Valley College (Martinsburg)

    Martinsburg

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Valley College (Martinsburg), MartinsburgMedical office with billing and coding · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$29,100
    Price if you pay yourself$15,845

    24 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Medical Front Office Billing and Coding at Valley College (Martinsburg)
    More details about Medical Front Office Billing and Coding at Valley College (Martinsburg)
    Finished
    62%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,280
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $150
    Students counted
    439
    Earned a year, estimated
    $29,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,845
    students trained with WIOA funding
    24
    Program website, Medical Front Office Billing and Coding at Valley College (Martinsburg)
  • Medical administrative assistant certificate or courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Administrative Assistant

    Valley College (Martinsburg)

    Martinsburg

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Valley College (Martinsburg), MartinsburgMedical administrative assistant certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$25,900
    Price if you pay yourself$15,995
    Program website, Medical Administrative Assistant at Valley College (Martinsburg)
    More details about Medical Administrative Assistant at Valley College (Martinsburg)
    Finished
    49%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,474
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,777
    Students counted
    200
    Earned a year, estimated
    $25,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,995
    Program website, Medical Administrative Assistant at Valley College (Martinsburg)
  • Medical office (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Office Administration

    West Virginia Junior College (Morgantown)

    Morgantown

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    West Virginia Junior College (Morgantown), MorgantownMedical office (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$29,100
    Price if you pay yourself$23,970
    Program website, Medical Office Administration at West Virginia Junior College (Morgantown)
    More details about Medical Office Administration at West Virginia Junior College (Morgantown)
    Finished
    89%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,280
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $3,020
    Students counted
    175
    Earned a year, estimated
    $29,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $23,970
    Program website, Medical Office Administration at West Virginia Junior College (Morgantown)

How to pay for medical administrative assistant training in West Virginia

WIOA funding can pay for medical administrative assistant training in West Virginia

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for medical administrative assistant training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for medical administrative assistant training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Medical administrative assistant training in Hagerstown, Morgantown and other West Virginia cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above.

Other training in West Virginia

How medical administrative assistant training compares with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in West Virginia

Where the West Virginia medical office administration program numbers come from

Which West Virginia medical office administration programs are on this list?

These are the medical office administration programs West Virginia approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what West Virginia offers.

How the prices and results of West Virginia medical office administration programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the West Virginia figures?

We leave out the share working 6 months later for West Virginia: every program that reports it reports exactly 100%.

Sources for the facts about medical administrative assistant training in West Virginia

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Secretaries and Administrative Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List