Retraining Report
Find training

Auto mechanic classes in West Virginia

1 auto mechanic program with costs, results and funding that can make it free

One school offers this automotive program, and West Virginia has approved it for workforce funding. It shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Automotive service technicians and mechanics inspect, maintain and repair cars and light trucks. Most complete a program in automotive service technology that leads to a certificate or an associate's degree, and employers may require or prefer certification.1 In West Virginia, the one program takes students without a high school diploma.

See the program

How much do auto mechanic classes cost in West Virginia?

$9,220

is what this program costs if you pay yourself

This program

Finished the program
60%
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
about $45,200
Length
Not reported

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in West Virginia may also offer auto mechanic classes. How these figures are made

Are there free auto mechanic classes in West Virginia?

The one auto mechanic program in West Virginia approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

1 program

  • Automotive technicianIn personNo diploma needed

    Automotive Technician MAST

    James Rumsey Technical Institute

    Martinsburg

    No diploma needed

    James Rumsey Technical Institute, Martinsburg · Automotive technician · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$45,200
    Price if you pay yourself$9,220
    Program website, Automotive Technician MAST at James Rumsey Technical Institute
    More details about Automotive Technician MAST at James Rumsey Technical Institute
    Finished
    60%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,288
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    20
    a year, estimated
    $45,200
    price
    $9,220

How to pay for auto mechanic classes in West Virginia

WIOA funding can pay for auto mechanic classes in West Virginia

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for auto mechanic classes

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for auto mechanic classes

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the West Virginia automotive program numbers come from

Which West Virginia automotive programs are on this list?

These are the automotive programs West Virginia approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).8 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what West Virginia offers.

How the prices and results of West Virginia automotive programs are measured

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the West Virginia figures?

We leave out the share working 6 months later for West Virginia: every program that reports it reports exactly 100%.

Other training in West Virginia

Sources for the facts about auto mechanic classes in West Virginia

Show the 8 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  8. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List