Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Radiology tech programs in Alabama

8 radiology tech programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

8 schools offer these radiologic technology programs, and Alabama has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Radiologic technologists take X-rays and other imaging scans of patients. Most have an associate degree, some a bachelor's, and most states require a license or certification, which usually means finishing an accredited program and passing a certification exam.1 The usual route to certification by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) takes an associate degree or higher, an ARRT-approved program and a passed exam.2

In Alabama, 3 of the 8 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent and 5 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 8 programs here are x-ray program (level not stated, 6 programs) and radiography (associate degree, 2 programs).

See the 8 programs

How much do radiology tech programs cost in Alabama?

$10,894 to $12,441 is what most radiology tech programs in Alabama cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 8 programs with a price. All of them: $9,600 to $12,844

In the typical program

Finished the program
75%
Working 6 months later
Left out
Alabama's rates sit far below every other state's
Earned a year, estimated
about $43,100
Length
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Alabama may also offer radiology tech programs. How these figures are made

Are there free radiology tech programs in Alabama?

All 8 radiology tech programs in Alabama approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

8 programs

  • Radiography (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Radiologic Technology Degree Program

    Jefferson State Community College

    Birmingham

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Jefferson State Community College, BirminghamRadiography (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$50,000
    Price if you pay yourself$12,600
    School website, Radiologic Technology Degree Program at Jefferson State Community College
    More details about Radiologic Technology Degree Program at Jefferson State Community College
    Finished
    75%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,500
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $3,220
    Students counted
    155
    Earned a year, estimated
    $50,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,600
    School website, Radiologic Technology Degree Program at Jefferson State Community College
  • X-ray program (level not stated)In personEducation and courses

    Radiologic Technology

    George C. Wallace Community College

    Dothan

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    George C. Wallace Community College, DothanX-ray program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$36,300
    Price if you pay yourself$11,059

    16 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Radiologic Technology at George C. Wallace Community College
    More details about Radiologic Technology at George C. Wallace Community College
    Finished
    69%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,074
    Length
    75 weeks, 29 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,828
    Students counted
    121
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,059
    students trained with WIOA funding
    16
    Program website, Radiologic Technology at George C. Wallace Community College
  • X-ray program (level not stated)In personEducation and courses

    DCH School of Radiologic Technology

    The DCH Health Care Authority

    Tuscaloosa

    Education and courses

    The DCH Health Care Authority, TuscaloosaX-ray program (level not stated)In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$41,800
    Price if you pay yourself$10,400

    14 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, DCH School of Radiologic Technology at The DCH Health Care Authority
    More details about DCH School of Radiologic Technology at The DCH Health Care Authority
    Finished
    75%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,455
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,735
    Students counted
    89
    Earned a year, estimated
    $41,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,400
    students trained with WIOA funding
    14
    Program website, DCH School of Radiologic Technology at The DCH Health Care Authority
  • X-ray program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Radiology (Medical Radiologic Technology)

    Trenholm State Community College

    Montgomery

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Trenholm State Community College, MontgomeryX-ray program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$47,300
    Price if you pay yourself$12,388

    10 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Radiology (Medical Radiologic Technology) at Trenholm State Community College
    More details about Radiology (Medical Radiologic Technology) at Trenholm State Community College
    Finished
    63%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,837
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $2,537
    Students counted
    80
    Earned a year, estimated
    $47,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,388
    students trained with WIOA funding
    10
    Program website, Radiology (Medical Radiologic Technology) at Trenholm State Community College
  • X-ray program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Radiologic Technology

    Southern Union Community College

    Opelika

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southern Union Community College, OpelikaX-ray program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$40,000
    Price if you pay yourself$12,150

    15 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Radiologic Technology at Southern Union Community College
    More details about Radiologic Technology at Southern Union Community College
    Finished
    94%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,007
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $4,073
    Students counted
    74
    Earned a year, estimated
    $40,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,150
    students trained with WIOA funding
    15
    Program website, Radiologic Technology at Southern Union Community College
  • Radiography (associate degree)HybridEducation and courses

    Radiologic Technology Degree

    Gadsden State Community College

    Gadsden

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Gadsden State Community College, GadsdenRadiography (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$44,500
    Price if you pay yourself$12,844

    23 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Radiologic Technology Degree at Gadsden State Community College
    More details about Radiologic Technology Degree at Gadsden State Community College
    Finished
    78%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,118
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,358
    Students counted
    56
    Earned a year, estimated
    $44,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,844
    students trained with WIOA funding
    23
    Program website, Radiologic Technology Degree at Gadsden State Community College
  • X-ray program (level not stated)In personEducation and courses

    Diagnostic Imaging - Radiography

    Northwest Shoals Community College

    Muscle Shoals

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Northwest Shoals Community College, Muscle ShoalsX-ray program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$11,520
    Program website, Diagnostic Imaging - Radiography at Northwest Shoals Community College
    More details about Diagnostic Imaging - Radiography at Northwest Shoals Community College
    Finished
    82%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $3,400
    Students counted
    13
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,520
    Program website, Diagnostic Imaging - Radiography at Northwest Shoals Community College
  • X-ray program (level not stated)In personEducation and courses

    Medical Radiologic Technology/Technician

    Lawson State Community College

    Birmingham

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Lawson State Community College, BirminghamX-ray program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,600
    School website, Medical Radiologic Technology/Technician at Lawson State Community College
    More details about Medical Radiologic Technology/Technician at Lawson State Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    85 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,650
    Students counted
    30
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,600
    School website, Medical Radiologic Technology/Technician at Lawson State Community College

How to pay for radiology tech programs in Alabama

WIOA funding can pay for radiology tech programs in Alabama

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for radiology tech programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for radiology tech programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Radiology tech programs in Alabama

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
10th of 22
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
6 of 18
radiology tech programs here, against the typical state's 7
8 vs 7

State comparisons use the same figures as the radiology tech programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Radiology tech programs in Birmingham, Dothan, Tuscaloosa and other Alabama cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 more program is in 1 other area.

Other training in Alabama

How radiology tech programs compare with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Alabama

Where the Alabama radiologic technology program numbers come from

Which Alabama radiologic technology programs are on this list?

These are the radiologic technology programs Alabama approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Alabama offers.

How the prices and results of Alabama radiologic technology programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the Alabama figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Alabama among the states with "known data quality concerns".11 We leave out the share working 6 months later for Alabama: its rates sit far below every other state's.

Sources for the facts about radiology tech programs in Alabama

Show the 11 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Radiologic and MRI Technologists
  2. American Registry of Radiologic Technologists: Primary eligibility pathway requirements
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  11. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns