Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Culinary school in St. Louis, Missouri

11 culinary programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

7 schools offer these culinary arts programs with classes in the St. Louis area, and every one is approved for workforce funding: 9 by Missouri and 2 by Illinois. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Chefs and head cooks run the daily food preparation in restaurants and other places that serve food. Most start with a high school diploma and kitchen experience; some go through a culinary program at a community college, technical school or culinary school, and others learn in an apprenticeship.1

In St. Louis, 8 of the 11 programs take students without a high school diploma, 2 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 11 programs here are culinary arts (associate degree, 5 programs), baking and pastry (associate degree, 2 programs), cooking and kitchen job training (1 program), baking and pastry certificate or diploma (1 program), and 2 more of 2 other kinds.

See the 11 programs

All 24 culinary programs in Missouri, including online programs

How much does culinary school cost in St. Louis?

Two-year degrees (7 programs)
$8,791 to $12,776most of them, usually 62 to 104 weeks long
Other culinary arts programs (4 programs)
$3,200 to $6,330all 3 with a price

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not reported
None of the 11 programs report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
None of the 11 programs report it
Length
41 to 84 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in St. Louis may also offer culinary school. How these figures are made

Is there free culinary school in St. Louis?

All 11 culinary programs in St. Louis approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

11 programs

  • Culinary arts (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Culinary Arts

    St. Louis Community College, District

    Bridgeton

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    St. Louis Community College, District, BridgetonCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,930
    Program website, Culinary Arts at St. Louis Community College, District
    More details about Culinary Arts at St. Louis Community College, District
    Finished
    38%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    104 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,200
    Students counted
    174
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,930
    Program website, Culinary Arts at St. Louis Community College, District
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Culinary, AAS

    St. Charles Community College

    Cottleville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    St. Charles Community College, CottlevilleCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$13,082
    School website, Culinary, AAS at St. Charles Community College
    More details about Culinary, AAS at St. Charles Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $7,012
    Students counted
    95
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $13,082
    School website, Culinary, AAS at St. Charles Community College
  • Baking and pastry (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Baking And Pastry Arts

    St. Louis Community College, District

    Bridgeton

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    St. Louis Community College, District, BridgetonBaking and pastry (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,930
    Program website, Baking And Pastry Arts at St. Louis Community College, District
    More details about Baking And Pastry Arts at St. Louis Community College, District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    104 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,800
    Students counted
    69
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,930
    Program website, Baking And Pastry Arts at St. Louis Community College, District
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Culinary Arts

    Jefferson College

    Hillsboro

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Jefferson College, HillsboroCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$11,375
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Jefferson College
    More details about Culinary Arts at Jefferson College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,600
    Students counted
    63
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,375
    Program website, Culinary Arts at Jefferson College
  • Baking and pastry (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Culinary Arts-Baking & Pastry, AAS

    St. Charles Community College

    Cottleville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    St. Charles Community College, CottlevilleBaking and pastry (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$12,871
    School website, Culinary Arts-Baking & Pastry, AAS at St. Charles Community College
    More details about Culinary Arts-Baking & Pastry, AAS at St. Charles Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $7,012
    Students counted
    31
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,871
    School website, Culinary Arts-Baking & Pastry, AAS at St. Charles Community College
  • Cooking and kitchen job trainingIn personNo diploma needed

    Culinary Training Program

    St. Louis Community College, Corporate

    Bridgeton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    St. Louis Community College, Corporate, BridgetonCooking and kitchen job training · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,200
    Program website, Culinary Training Program at St. Louis Community College, Corporate
    More details about Culinary Training Program at St. Louis Community College, Corporate
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,200
    Program website, Culinary Training Program at St. Louis Community College, Corporate
  • Baking and pastry certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Baking & Pastry, CA

    St. Charles Community College

    Cottleville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    St. Charles Community College, CottlevilleBaking and pastry certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,330
    Program website, Baking & Pastry, CA at St. Charles Community College
    More details about Baking & Pastry, CA at St. Charles Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $7,012
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,330
    Program website, Baking & Pastry, CA at St. Charles Community College
  • Culinary arts certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Culinary, CA

    St. Charles Community College

    Cottleville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    St. Charles Community College, CottlevilleCulinary arts certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,330
    Program website, Culinary, CA at St. Charles Community College
    More details about Culinary, CA at St. Charles Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $7,012
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,330
    Program website, Culinary, CA at St. Charles Community College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Culinary Arts

    East Central College

    Union

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    East Central College, UnionCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$12,490
    Program website, Culinary Arts at East Central College
    More details about Culinary Arts at East Central College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,408
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,490
    Program website, Culinary Arts at East Central College
  • Culinary arts (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Culinary Arts & Food Management AAS Degree

    Southwestern Illinois College

    Belleville

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Southwestern Illinois College, BellevilleCulinary arts (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Culinary Arts & Food Management AAS Degree at Southwestern Illinois College
    More details about Culinary Arts & Food Management AAS Degree at Southwestern Illinois College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    104 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Culinary Arts & Food Management AAS Degree at Southwestern Illinois College
  • Culinary apprenticeshipIn personNo diploma needed

    Food Truck Apprenticeship Program

    Soulcial Kitchen

    Swansea

    No diploma needed

    Soulcial Kitchen, SwanseaCulinary apprenticeshipIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    More details about Food Truck Apprenticeship Program at Soulcial Kitchen
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out

How to pay for culinary school in St. Louis

WIOA funding can pay for culinary school in St. Louis

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for culinary school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for culinary school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in St. Louis

How culinary school compares with the rest of food and hospitality across Missouri: Culinary and hospitality programs in Missouri

Where the St. Louis culinary arts program numbers come from

Which St. Louis culinary arts programs are on this list?

These are the culinary arts programs with classes in the St. Louis area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Missouri page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How the prices and results of St. Louis culinary arts programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about culinary school in St. Louis

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Chefs and Head Cooks
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List