Retraining Report
Find training

LPN programs in St. Louis

10 LPN programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

10 schools offer these practical nursing programs with classes in the St. Louis area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Licensed practical and vocational nurses (LPNs and LVNs) give basic medical care to patients who are ill, injured or recovering. Most finish a state-approved certificate or diploma program that takes about a year, then pass an exam to become licensed.1 In St. Louis, 1 of the 10 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 2 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 10 programs

All 50 LPN programs in Missouri, including online programs

How much do LPN programs cost in St. Louis?

$12,558 to $19,500

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 7 programs with a price: $4,636 to $26,125

Finished the program
64%
Working 6 months later
88%
Earned a year, estimated
about $36,700
Length
47 to 52 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in St. Louis may also offer LPN programs. How these figures are made

Are there free LPN programs in St. Louis?

All 10 LPN programs in St. Louis approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

10 programs

  • Practical nursing (LPN)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nursing, Certificate

    St. Louis College Of Health Careers, County, Fenton

    High school diploma or equivalent

    St. Louis College Of Health Careers, County, Fenton · Practical nursing (LPN) · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$35,600
    Price if you pay yourself$26,125
    Program website, Practical Nursing, Certificate at St. Louis College Of Health Careers, County
    More details about Practical Nursing, Certificate at St. Louis College Of Health Careers, County
    Finished
    58%
    Working at 6 months
    89%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,905
    Length
    60 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,944
    Students counted
    246
    a year, estimated
    $35,600
    price
    $26,125
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nursing Program (lpn)

    Applied Technology Services, Saint Louis

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Applied Technology Services, Saint Louis · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$38,600
    Price if you pay yourself$19,500
    Program website, Practical Nursing Program (lpn) at Applied Technology Services
    More details about Practical Nursing Program (lpn) at Applied Technology Services
    Finished
    55%
    Working at 6 months
    87%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,651
    Length
    52 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,773
    Students counted
    169
    a year, estimated
    $38,600
    price
    $19,500
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nursing Program (lpn)

    Applied Tech ? North Tech, Florissant

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Applied Tech ? North Tech, Florissant · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$36,000
    Price if you pay yourself$19,500
    Program website, Practical Nursing Program (lpn) at Applied Tech ? North Tech
    More details about Practical Nursing Program (lpn) at Applied Tech ? North Tech
    Finished
    67%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,010
    Length
    52 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,773
    Students counted
    154
    a year, estimated
    $36,000
    price
    $19,500
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nursing Program

    Southwestern Illinois College Red Bud Campus, Red Bud

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southwestern Illinois College Red Bud Campus, Red Bud · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$33,500
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Practical Nursing Program at Southwestern Illinois College Red Bud Campus
    More details about Practical Nursing Program at Southwestern Illinois College Red Bud Campus
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,364
    Length
    52 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    149
    a year, estimated
    $33,500
    price
    Not reported
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personEducation and courses

    Practical Nursing (LPN) Level I

    Jefferson College, Hillsboro

    Education and courses

    Jefferson College, Hillsboro · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$74,200
    Price if you pay yourself$14,720
    Program website, Practical Nursing (LPN) Level I at Jefferson College
    More details about Practical Nursing (LPN) Level I at Jefferson College
    Finished
    88%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $18,554
    Length
    16 weeks, 36 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,950
    Students counted
    109
    a year, estimated
    $74,200
    price
    $14,720
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Washington School Of Practical Nursing

    Four Rivers Career Center, Washington

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Four Rivers Career Center, Washington · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$37,300
    Price if you pay yourself$18,000
    Program website, Washington School Of Practical Nursing at Four Rivers Career Center
    More details about Washington School Of Practical Nursing at Four Rivers Career Center
    Finished
    75%
    Working at 6 months
    95%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,320
    Length
    47 weeks, 32 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $345
    Students counted
    84
    a year, estimated
    $37,300
    price
    $18,000
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personNo diploma needed

    Practical Nursing, CA

    St. Charles Community College, Cottleville

    No diploma needed

    St. Charles Community College, Cottleville · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,396
    Program website, Practical Nursing, CA at St. Charles Community College
    More details about Practical Nursing, CA at St. Charles Community College
    Finished
    61%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    45 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $7,364
    Students counted
    52
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $10,396
  • Practical nursing (LPN)HybridEducation and courses

    Licensed Practical Nurse

    Career Center of Southern Il (Beck), Red Bud

    Education and courses

    Career Center of Southern Il (Beck), Red Bud · Practical nursing (LPN) · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    More details about Licensed Practical Nurse at Career Center of Southern Il (Beck)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    99
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personEducation and courses

    Practical Nursing: CP

    St. Louis Community College, District, Bridgeton

    Education and courses

    St. Louis Community College, District, Bridgeton · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,636
    School website, Practical Nursing: CP at St. Louis Community College, District
    More details about Practical Nursing: CP at St. Louis Community College, District
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $6,005
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,636
  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personEducation and courses

    Practical Nursing Program (PN)

    CALC Institute of Technology, Alton

    Education and courses

    CALC Institute of Technology, Alton · Practical nursing (LPN) · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Practical Nursing Program (PN) at CALC Institute of Technology
    More details about Practical Nursing Program (PN) at CALC Institute of Technology
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    65 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported

How to pay for LPN programs in St. Louis

Workforce funding can pay for LPN programs in St. Louis

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for LPN programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for LPN programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the St. Louis practical nursing program numbers come from

Which St. Louis practical nursing programs are on this list?

These are the practical nursing programs with classes in the St. Louis area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Missouri page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How St. Louis practical nursing program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some practical nursing programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Sources for the facts about LPN programs in St. Louis

Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs