Beauty school in Michigan
23 beauty programs in 4 fields of beauty and personal care, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
11 schools offer these programs, and Michigan has approved every one for workforce funding. Compare the 4 fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
Beauty school covers cosmetology, barbering, skin care (esthetician) and nail tech programs. Most are full programs that prepare for a state license; a few are apprenticeships or shorter courses.
All job training programs in Michigan, every line of work
Accredited beauty schools in Michigan, each school with its accreditor
Beauty school by state, to compare Michigan with other states
Compare beauty programs in Michigan: cost, pay and results
Cosmetology school
11 programs at 10 schools
- Most cost
- $10,792 to $25,975
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $16,500
- Working 6 months later
- 72%
- Finished
- 42%
Esthetician school (skin care)
6 programs at 5 schools
- Most cost
- $5,092 to $12,478
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- 100%
Nail tech school
5 programs at 5 schools
- Most cost
- $3,995 to $7,010
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Barber school
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Each figure is the middle program of that field. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Michigan may offer more. How these figures are made
Other job training in Michigan, by line of work
- Trade school programs392
- Medical certification programs310
- Business and office training250
- IT certification programs245
- Allied health programs183
- Nursing and patient care programs179
- First responder training135
- Transportation and logistics training117
- Child care and social services training78
- Culinary and hospitality programs33
- All job training in Michigan1,945
Programs approved in Michigan in each line of work.
Where the Michigan beauty numbers come from
Which Michigan programs are counted?
Programs Michigan approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Michigan offers.
What the figures for each field mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
Sources for the funding facts about beauty programs in Michigan
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List