Retraining Report
Find training

CDL training in Vermont

7 CDL training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

5 schools offer these truck driving programs, and Vermont has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Truck drivers need a commercial driver's license, which generally takes a knowledge test and a driving test. Most drivers have a high school diploma and prepare at a professional truck driving school.1 In Vermont, 6 of the 7 programs take students without a high school diploma.

See the 7 programs

How much does CDL training cost in Vermont?

$4,625 to $6,542

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 7 programs with a price: $2,999 to $7,500

Finished the program
94%
Working 6 months later
97%
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Length
Not reported for most programs

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Vermont may also offer CDL training. How these figures are made

Is there free CDL training in Vermont?

CDL training in Lebanon, Barre, Bennington and other Vermont cities

Choosing an area filters the list below. 1 in smaller cities and towns.

All 7 CDL training programs in Vermont approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

7 programs

  • Class AIn personNo diploma needed

    Class A CDL

    Northeast Driver Training LLC., Chester

    No diploma needed

    Northeast Driver Training LLC., Chester · Class A · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$24,000
    Price if you pay yourself$7,500
    Program website, Class A CDL at Northeast Driver Training LLC.
    More details about Class A CDL at Northeast Driver Training LLC.
    Finished
    95%
    Working at 6 months
    97%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,011
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    126
    a year, estimated
    $24,000
    price
    $7,500
  • Class AIn personNo diploma needed

    Class A CDL Training

    Giroux General Transport Inc, Barre

    No diploma needed

    Giroux General Transport Inc, Barre · Class A · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$48,900
    Price if you pay yourself$6,982
    School website, Class A CDL Training at Giroux General Transport Inc
    More details about Class A CDL Training at Giroux General Transport Inc
    Finished
    89%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,228
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $50
    Students counted
    108
    a year, estimated
    $48,900
    price
    $6,982
  • Class BIn personNo diploma needed

    Class B CDL Training

    Giroux General Transport Inc, Barre

    No diploma needed

    Giroux General Transport Inc, Barre · Class B · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$43,900
    Price if you pay yourself$3,950
    Program website, Class B CDL Training at Giroux General Transport Inc
    More details about Class B CDL Training at Giroux General Transport Inc
    Finished
    96%
    Working at 6 months
    88%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,982
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $50
    Students counted
    45
    a year, estimated
    $43,900
    price
    $3,950
  • Class BIn personNo diploma needed

    CDL B

    Northeast Driver Training LLC., Chester

    No diploma needed

    Northeast Driver Training LLC., Chester · Class B · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$46,100
    Price if you pay yourself$5,300
    Program website, CDL B at Northeast Driver Training LLC.
    More details about CDL B at Northeast Driver Training LLC.
    Finished
    96%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,520
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    23
    a year, estimated
    $46,100
    price
    $5,300
  • CDL (class not stated)In personNo diploma needed

    Commerical Driver's License

    Southwest Vermont Regional Technical School District, Bennington

    No diploma needed

    Southwest Vermont Regional Technical School District, Bennington · CDL (class not stated) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,999
    Program website, Commerical Driver's License at Southwest Vermont Regional Technical School District
    More details about Commerical Driver's License at Southwest Vermont Regional Technical School District
    Finished
    92%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    12
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,999
  • CDL (class not stated)In personNo diploma needed

    CDL Driver Training

    Pro Driver Training, Milton

    No diploma needed

    Pro Driver Training, Milton · CDL (class not stated) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,101
    Program website, CDL Driver Training at Pro Driver Training
    More details about CDL Driver Training at Pro Driver Training
    Finished
    75%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    12
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $6,101
  • Class AIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    CDL-A

    St. Johnsbury Academy Adult Education, Saint Johnsbury

    High school diploma or equivalent

    St. Johnsbury Academy Adult Education, Saint Johnsbury · Class A · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,600
    Program website, CDL-A at St. Johnsbury Academy Adult Education
    More details about CDL-A at St. Johnsbury Academy Adult Education
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $5,600

How to pay for CDL training in Vermont

Workforce funding can pay for CDL training in Vermont

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for CDL training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

Company-paid CDL training

Some trucking companies run their own schools and may pay the tuition if you drive for them for a set time, such as a year.7

GI Bill for CDL training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Vermont truck driving program numbers come from

Which Vermont truck driving programs are on this list?

These are the truck driving programs Vermont approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Vermont offers.

How Vermont truck driving program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some truck driving programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Sources for the facts about CDL training in Vermont

Show the 8 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heavy and Tractor-trailer Truck Drivers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee: Task 21-1 discussion notes (2021)
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs