Retraining Report
Find training

CDL training in the District of Columbia

1 CDL training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

1 school offers these truck driving programs, and the District of Columbia has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Truck drivers need a commercial driver's license, which generally takes a knowledge test and a driving test. Most drivers have a high school diploma and prepare at a professional truck driving school.1 In the District of Columbia, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first.

See the 1 programs

How much does CDL training cost in the District of Columbia?

$5,000

is the price of the only program that gives one, if you pay yourself

Finished the program
Not reported
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Length
Not reported for most programs

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in the District of Columbia may also offer CDL training. How these figures are made

Is there free CDL training in the District of Columbia?

All 1 CDL training programs in the District of Columbia approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

1 programs

  • Class BIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Commercial Drivers License (CDL) - Class B

    Toni Thomas Associates, Washington

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Toni Thomas Associates, Washington · Class B · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$40,400
    Price if you pay yourself$5,000
    Program website, Commercial Drivers License (CDL) - Class B at Toni Thomas Associates
    More details about Commercial Drivers License (CDL) - Class B at Toni Thomas Associates
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    44%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,089
    Length
    5 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    103
    a year, estimated
    $40,400
    price
    $5,000

How to pay for CDL training in the District of Columbia

Workforce funding can pay for CDL training in the District of Columbia

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for CDL training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

Company-paid CDL training

Some trucking companies run their own schools and may pay the tuition if you drive for them for a set time, such as a year.7

GI Bill for CDL training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the District of Columbia truck driving program numbers come from

Which the District of Columbia truck driving programs are on this list?

These are the truck driving programs the District of Columbia approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the District of Columbia offers.

How the District of Columbia truck driving program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some truck driving programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

How reliable are the District of Columbia figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists the District of Columbia among the states with "known data quality concerns".9 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.

Sources for the facts about CDL training in the District of Columbia

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heavy and Tractor-trailer Truck Drivers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee: Task 21-1 discussion notes (2021)
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns