Police academy in Arkansas
8 police and corrections programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
3 schools offer these law enforcement programs, and Arkansas has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 5 of these 8 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.
Police officers protect lives and property. Applicants need at least a high school diploma, though some departments and federal agencies ask for college classes or a degree, and they usually must be 21 and meet strict physical and personal standards; most then graduate from their agency's training academy and train on the job.1
In Arkansas, all 8 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 8 programs here are law enforcement certificate (6 programs) and police academy (basic law enforcement, 2 programs).
See the 8 programsHow much does police academy cost in Arkansas?
$2,326 to $7,087 is what most police and corrections programs in Arkansas cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 8 programs with a price. All of them: $2,204 to $8,132
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- 4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- 4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Arkansas may also offer police academy training. How these figures are made
All 8 police and corrections programs in Arkansas approved for WIOA funding
Filters
8 programs
Basic Police Training/Law Enforcement CP
BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
Pocahontas
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$43,600Price if you pay yourself$8,000School website, Basic Police Training/Law Enforcement CP at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)More details about Basic Police Training/Law Enforcement CP at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
- Finished
- 80%
- Working at 6 months
- 61%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,893
- Length
- 13 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,500
- Students counted
- 77
- Earned a year, estimated
- $43,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,000
Law Enforcement Training Academy (LETA) TC
BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
Pocahontas
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,600Price if you pay yourself$8,132School website, Law Enforcement Training Academy (LETA) TC at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)More details about Law Enforcement Training Academy (LETA) TC at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
- Finished
- 94%
- Working at 6 months
- 98%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,658
- Length
- 13 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,000
- Students counted
- 77
- Earned a year, estimated
- $46,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,132
Wildlife Enforcement Technical Certificate
Arkansas State University (Asu)
Beebe
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$23,200Price if you pay yourself$6,783More details about Wildlife Enforcement Technical Certificate at Arkansas State University (Asu)
- Finished
- 81%
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,794
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,600
- Students counted
- 19
- Earned a year, estimated
- $23,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,783
Wildlife Enforcement Certificate of Proficiency
Arkansas State University (Asu)
Beebe
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$14,400Price if you pay yourself$2,289More details about Wildlife Enforcement Certificate of Proficiency at Arkansas State University (Asu)
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 50%
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,594
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $850
- Students counted
- 16
- Earned a year, estimated
- $14,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,289
Law Enforcement Certificate of Proficiency
Arkansas State University (Asu)
Beebe
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,204More details about Law Enforcement Certificate of Proficiency at Arkansas State University (Asu)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $800
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,204
Community Policing - Certificate of Proficiency
Arkansas State University (Asu)
Beebe
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,339More details about Community Policing - Certificate of Proficiency at Arkansas State University (Asu)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,339
Law Enforcement
Southern Arkansas University (SAU) Tech
Camden
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,994Program website, Law Enforcement at Southern Arkansas University (SAU) TechMore details about Law Enforcement at Southern Arkansas University (SAU) Tech
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,500
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,994
Law Enforcement Technical Certificate
Arkansas State University (Asu)
Beebe
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,290More details about Law Enforcement Technical Certificate at Arkansas State University (Asu)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,575
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,290
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for police academy training in Arkansas
WIOA funding can pay for police academy training in Arkansas
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for police academy training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for police academy training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Police academy in Arkansas
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 17th of 17
- police and corrections programs here, against the typical state's 7
- 8 vs 7
State comparisons use the same figures as the police academy training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Police academy in Searcy, Camden and other Arkansas cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 2 in smaller cities and towns.
Other training in Arkansas
How police academy training compares with the rest of public safety: First responder training in Arkansas
- CDL training37 programs
- CNA classes29 programs
- Medical assistant training10 programs
- Phlebotomy training16 programs
- Welding classes57 programs
- HVAC training18 programs
- Medical billing and coding training15 programs
- LPN programs31 programs
- EMT classes28 programs
- Electrician training11 programs
- Dental assistant programs4 programs
- Auto mechanic classes19 programs
- Pharmacy technician training10 programs
- Plumbing school3 programs
- CNC machinist training7 programs
- Carpentry classes4 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training7 programs
- Diesel mechanic training15 programs
- Cybersecurity training7 programs
- IT training33 programs
- Cosmetology school2 programs
- EKG technician programs2 programs
- Massage therapy school1 program
- Paralegal programs1 program
- Fire academy4 programs
- Surgical tech programs11 programs
- Radiology tech programs8 programs
- Culinary school9 programs
- PTA programs4 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training6 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training22 programs
- Early childhood education programs28 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school7 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training6 programs
- Hospitality management programs4 programs
- Coding and software development courses2 programs
- Lineman school1 program
- Sonography school3 programs
- Administrative assistant training16 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs5 programs
- Medical lab technician programs7 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses3 programs
- Digital marketing courses2 programs
- Web and graphic design courses7 programs
- Health information technology programs10 programs
- Vet tech programs2 programs
- Patient care technician training7 programs
- OTA programs4 programs
- Forklift certification1 program
- Healthcare administration programs2 programs
- Customer service training2 programs
- Flight school1 program
- Mental health technician training2 programs
- Human services programs2 programs
- Manufacturing technician training8 programs
- Electronics technician training7 programs
- Business administration programs26 programs
- Criminal justice programs23 programs
- Teacher assistant certification18 programs
- Auto body repair classes8 programs
- Masonry training1 program
- Construction training programs8 programs
- Dental hygiene programs2 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes12 programs
- RN programs38 programs
- Project management certification1 program
Where the Arkansas law enforcement program numbers come from
Which Arkansas law enforcement programs are on this list?
These are the law enforcement programs Arkansas approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Arkansas offers.
How the prices and results of Arkansas law enforcement programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about police academy training in Arkansas
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Police and Detectives
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List