Police academy in Pennsylvania
4 police and corrections programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
3 schools offer these law enforcement programs, and Pennsylvania has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Police officers protect lives and property. Applicants need at least a high school diploma, though some departments and federal agencies ask for college classes or a degree, and they usually must be 21 and meet strict physical and personal standards; most then graduate from their agency's training academy and train on the job.1
In Pennsylvania, all 4 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 4 programs here are police academy (basic law enforcement, 2 programs), law enforcement certificate (1 program) and corrections officer academy (1 program).
See the 4 programsHow much does police academy cost in Pennsylvania?
$3,990 to $8,200
is what the 4 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- None of the 4 programs report it
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- None of the 4 programs report it
- Length
- Not enough data
- 4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Pennsylvania may also offer police academy training. How these figures are made
All 4 police and corrections programs in Pennsylvania approved for WIOA funding
Filters
4 programs
Police Technology Certificate
Community College Of Beaver County
Based in Monaca, PA
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,200Program website, Police Technology Certificate at Community College Of Beaver CountyMore details about Police Technology Certificate at Community College Of Beaver County
- Finished
- 20%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,350
- Students counted
- 32
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,200
Municipal Police Officer's Training Academy
Westmoreland County
Based in Youngwood, PA
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,9503 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Municipal Police Officer's Training Academy at Westmoreland CountyMore details about Municipal Police Officer's Training Academy at Westmoreland County
- Finished
- 91%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $505
- Students counted
- 23
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,950
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Criminal Justice/Corrections Officer Certificate
Westmoreland County
Based in Youngwood, PA
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,990Program website, Criminal Justice/Corrections Officer Certificate at Westmoreland CountyMore details about Criminal Justice/Corrections Officer Certificate at Westmoreland County
- Finished
- 27%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,275
- Students counted
- 18
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,990
Municipal Police Academy- ACT 120
Indiana University of Pennsylvania (IUP)
Based in Indiana, PA
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,300Program website, Municipal Police Academy- ACT 120 at Indiana University of Pennsylvania (IUP)More details about Municipal Police Academy- ACT 120 at Indiana University of Pennsylvania (IUP)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 22 weeks, 42 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $890
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,300
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for police academy training in Pennsylvania
WIOA funding can pay for police academy training in Pennsylvania
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for police academy training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for police academy training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Other training in Pennsylvania
How police academy training compares with the rest of public safety: First responder training in Pennsylvania
- CDL training108 programs
- CNA classes30 programs
- Medical assistant training23 programs
- Phlebotomy training12 programs
- Welding classes68 programs
- HVAC training47 programs
- Medical billing and coding training28 programs
- LPN programs42 programs
- EMT classes18 programs
- Electrician training31 programs
- Dental assistant programs24 programs
- Auto mechanic classes28 programs
- Pharmacy technician training10 programs
- Plumbing school14 programs
- CNC machinist training39 programs
- Carpentry classes20 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training10 programs
- Diesel mechanic training15 programs
- Cybersecurity training16 programs
- IT training82 programs
- Cosmetology school2 programs
- Esthetician school1 program
- Nail tech school2 programs
- EKG technician programs1 program
- Massage therapy school2 programs
- Paralegal programs15 programs
- Fire academy1 program
- Surgical tech programs2 programs
- Radiology tech programs4 programs
- Culinary school4 programs
- Home health aide training1 program
- PTA programs2 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training16 programs
- Human resources training3 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training18 programs
- Early childhood education programs13 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school1 program
- Supply chain and logistics training3 programs
- Hospitality management programs2 programs
- Addiction counselor training1 program
- Coding and software development courses18 programs
- Lineman school1 program
- Sterile processing technician training3 programs
- Sonography school3 programs
- Data analytics courses13 programs
- Administrative assistant training38 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs4 programs
- Medical lab technician programs1 program
- AutoCAD and drafting courses13 programs
- Digital marketing courses5 programs
- Web and graphic design courses10 programs
- Health information technology programs5 programs
- Vet tech programs1 program
- Real estate school1 program
- Patient care technician training5 programs
- Home inspector training3 programs
- Forklift certification5 programs
- Customer service training1 program
- Flight school1 program
- RBT certification training1 program
- Human services programs7 programs
- Manufacturing technician training3 programs
- Electronics technician training3 programs
- Business administration programs24 programs
- Criminal justice programs7 programs
- Auto body repair classes14 programs
- Sheet metal training2 programs
- Water treatment operator training3 programs
- Dialysis technician training1 program
- Masonry training7 programs
- Insurance license courses2 programs
- Construction training programs33 programs
- Dental hygiene programs3 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes34 programs
- RN programs25 programs
- Project management certification13 programs
Where the Pennsylvania law enforcement program numbers come from
Which Pennsylvania law enforcement programs are on this list?
These are the law enforcement programs Pennsylvania approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Pennsylvania offers.
How the prices and results of Pennsylvania law enforcement programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the Pennsylvania figures?
We leave out the share working 6 months later for Pennsylvania: its rates sit far below every other state's, and the counts suggest jobs were traced only for students whose training was publicly paid.
Sources for the facts about police academy training in Pennsylvania
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Police and Detectives
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List