Police academy in California
26 police and corrections programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
16 schools offer these law enforcement programs, and California has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Police officers protect lives and property. Applicants need at least a high school diploma, though some departments and federal agencies ask for college classes or a degree, and they usually must be 21 and meet strict physical and personal standards; most then graduate from their agency's training academy and train on the job.1
In California, 7 of the 26 programs take students without a high school diploma, 15 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 4 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 26 programs here are police academy (basic law enforcement, 16 programs), corrections certificate (6 programs), law enforcement certificate (2 programs) and corrections officer academy (2 programs).
See the 26 programsHow much does police academy cost in California?
$582 to $1,254 is what most police and corrections programs in California cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 26 programs with a price. All of them: $322 to $2,916
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 89%
- Working 6 months later
- 100%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $70,000
- Length
- 16 to 34 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in California may also offer police academy training. How these figures are made
All 26 police and corrections programs in California approved for WIOA funding
Filters
26 programs
Law Enforcement-Administration of Justice: Certificate of Achievement
Napa Valley College
Napa
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$966Program website, Law Enforcement-Administration of Justice: Certificate of Achievement at Napa Valley CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement-Administration of Justice: Certificate of Achievement at Napa Valley College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 34 weeks, 11 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $988
- Students counted
- 541
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $966
POST Certified Basic Police Academy - Intensive
College of the Sequoias
Visalia
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$48,100Price if you pay yourself$1,2889 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, POST Certified Basic Police Academy - Intensive at College of the SequoiasMore details about POST Certified Basic Police Academy - Intensive at College of the Sequoias
- Finished
- 87%
- Working at 6 months
- 7%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,024
- Length
- 32 weeks, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,944
- Students counted
- 203
- Earned a year, estimated
- $48,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,288
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 9
Police Officer Standards and Training (POST)
San Joaquin Delta College
Stockton
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$85,000Price if you pay yourself$1,6563 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Police Officer Standards and Training (POST) at San Joaquin Delta College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $21,243
- Length
- 25 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,454
- Students counted
- 147
- Earned a year, estimated
- $85,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,656
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Level III Reserve Officer Certification
College of the Siskiyous
Weed
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$69,900Price if you pay yourself$41430 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Level III Reserve Officer Certification at College of the SiskiyousMore details about Level III Reserve Officer Certification at College of the Siskiyous
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- 84%
- Earned in a quarter
- $17,477
- Length
- 15 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,007
- Students counted
- 123
- Earned a year, estimated
- $69,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $414
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 30
Law Enforcement Academy - Basic/Fish and Wildlife Emphasis (Certificate)
Butte College
Oroville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$31,200Price if you pay yourself$2,418School website, Law Enforcement Academy - Basic/Fish and Wildlife Emphasis (Certificate) at Butte CollegeMore details about Law Enforcement Academy - Basic/Fish and Wildlife Emphasis (Certificate) at Butte College
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 12%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,800
- Length
- 30 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,018
- Students counted
- 120
- Earned a year, estimated
- $31,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,418
Level II Reserve Officer Certification
College of the Siskiyous
Weed
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$70,800Price if you pay yourself$55225 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Level II Reserve Officer Certification at College of the SiskiyousMore details about Level II Reserve Officer Certification at College of the Siskiyous
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $17,696
- Length
- 15 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $207
- Students counted
- 118
- Earned a year, estimated
- $70,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $552
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 25
Level I Reserve Officer Certification
College of the Siskiyous
Weed
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$70,000Price if you pay yourself$1,01224 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Level I Reserve Officer Certification at College of the SiskiyousMore details about Level I Reserve Officer Certification at College of the Siskiyous
- Finished
- 88%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $17,503
- Length
- 15 weeks, 36 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $157
- Students counted
- 112
- Earned a year, estimated
- $70,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,012
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 24
Correctional Officer Academy (Certificate of Training)
Yuba College
Marysville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$87,300Price if you pay yourself$3553 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Correctional Officer Academy (Certificate of Training) at Yuba College
- Finished
- 96%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $21,834
- Length
- 3 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $67
- Students counted
- 109
- Earned a year, estimated
- $87,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $355
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Basic Law Enforcement Academy
College of the Redwoods
Eureka
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,9165 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Basic Law Enforcement Academy at College of the RedwoodsMore details about Basic Law Enforcement Academy at College of the Redwoods
- Finished
- 83%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 23 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,600
- Students counted
- 65
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,916
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 5
Correctional Rehabilitation
West Hills College Lemoore
Lemoore
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,104Program website, Correctional Rehabilitation at West Hills College LemooreMore details about Correctional Rehabilitation at West Hills College Lemoore
- Finished
- 46%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,000
- Students counted
- 53
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,104
POST Academy Modular I
Yuba College
Marysville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7698 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about POST Academy Modular I at Yuba College
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,647
- Students counted
- 43
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $769
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 8
POST Academy Modular II
Yuba College
Marysville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6088 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about POST Academy Modular II at Yuba College
- Finished
- 94%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 20 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $827
- Students counted
- 35
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $608
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 8
Basic Correction Officer Training BCOT 010
College Of The Desert
Palm Desert
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$21,000Price if you pay yourself$761Program website, Basic Correction Officer Training BCOT 010 at College Of The DesertMore details about Basic Correction Officer Training BCOT 010 at College Of The Desert
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,250
- Length
- 12 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,266
- Students counted
- 22
- Earned a year, estimated
- $21,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $761
POST Certified Basic Police Academy - Extended
College of the Sequoias
Visalia
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$91,700Price if you pay yourself$1,4069 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, POST Certified Basic Police Academy - Extended at College of the SequoiasMore details about POST Certified Basic Police Academy - Extended at College of the Sequoias
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $22,932
- Length
- 40 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,895
- Students counted
- 10
- Earned a year, estimated
- $91,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,406
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 9
Basic Police Academy
Fresno City College
Fresno
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,813Program website, Basic Police Academy at Fresno City CollegeMore details about Basic Police Academy at Fresno City College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 25 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,824
- Students counted
- 955
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,813
Basic Peace Officer Training Academy (Modules III)
College Of The Desert
Palm Desert
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$322Program website, Basic Peace Officer Training Academy (Modules III) at College Of The DesertMore details about Basic Peace Officer Training Academy (Modules III) at College Of The Desert
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 42 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $595
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $322
ADJUS Correctional Specialist certificate
Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$552Program website, ADJUS Correctional Specialist certificate at Diablo Valley CollegeMore details about ADJUS Correctional Specialist certificate at Diablo Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $662
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $552
Corrections
Kern Community College District
Bakersfield
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$560School website, Corrections at Kern Community College DistrictMore details about Corrections at Kern Community College District
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 5 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $500
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $560
Basic Peace Officer Training Academy (Module II)
College Of The Desert
Palm Desert
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$573Program website, Basic Peace Officer Training Academy (Module II) at College Of The DesertMore details about Basic Peace Officer Training Academy (Module II) at College Of The Desert
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 42 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $370
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $573
Cert. of Achievement Administration of Justice Correctional Specialist
Contra Costa College
San Pablo
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$690School website, Cert. of Achievement Administration of Justice Correctional Specialist at Contra Costa CollegeMore details about Cert. of Achievement Administration of Justice Correctional Specialist at Contra Costa College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $991
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $690
Cert. of Achievement Administration of Justice Corrections
Contra Costa College
San Pablo
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$828School website, Cert. of Achievement Administration of Justice Corrections at Contra Costa CollegeMore details about Cert. of Achievement Administration of Justice Corrections at Contra Costa College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $925
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $828
Corrections
San Bernardino Valley College
San Bernardino
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$828Program website, Corrections at San Bernardino Valley CollegeMore details about Corrections at San Bernardino Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 96 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,493
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $828
ADJUS Police/Law enforcement
Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$920Program website, ADJUS Police/Law enforcement at Diablo Valley CollegeMore details about ADJUS Police/Law enforcement at Diablo Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 21 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $969
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $920
Basic Police Academy
Napa Valley College
Napa
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,138School website, Basic Police Academy at Napa Valley CollegeMore details about Basic Police Academy at Napa Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 22 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,150
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,138
ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE-Basic Law Enfrcmt Acdmy Intensive(Cert of Achievement)
Los Medanos College
Pittsburg
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,150School website, ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE-Basic Law Enfrcmt Acdmy Intensive(Cert of Achievement) at Los Medanos CollegeMore details about ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE-Basic Law Enfrcmt Acdmy Intensive(Cert of Achievement) at Los Medanos College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 26 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,455
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,150
Basic Police Officer Certificate of Achievement
City College of San Francisco
San Francisco
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,148More details about Basic Police Officer Certificate of Achievement at City College of San Francisco
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 54 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,148
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for police academy training in California
WIOA funding can pay for police academy training in California
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for police academy training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for police academy training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Police academy in California
- programs with a price cost under $1,000
- 15 of 26
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 1st of 17
- police and corrections programs here, against the typical state's 7
- 26 vs 7
State comparisons use the same figures as the police academy training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Police academy in San Francisco, Riverside, Yuba City and other California cities
Areas with 10 or more programs have a page of their own. Choosing another area filters the program list above. 5 more programs are in 5 other areas, 3 in smaller cities and towns.
Other training in California
How police academy training compares with the rest of public safety: First responder training in California
- CDL training104 programs
- CNA classes122 programs
- Medical assistant training185 programs
- Phlebotomy training61 programs
- Welding classes98 programs
- HVAC training45 programs
- Medical billing and coding training87 programs
- LPN programs43 programs
- EMT classes49 programs
- Electrician training39 programs
- Dental assistant programs69 programs
- Auto mechanic classes75 programs
- Pharmacy technician training78 programs
- Plumbing school10 programs
- CNC machinist training37 programs
- Carpentry classes8 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training12 programs
- Diesel mechanic training10 programs
- Cybersecurity training43 programs
- IT training167 programs
- Cosmetology school35 programs
- Barber school44 programs
- Esthetician school23 programs
- Nail tech school18 programs
- EKG technician programs21 programs
- Massage therapy school18 programs
- Paralegal programs21 programs
- Fire academy32 programs
- Surgical tech programs12 programs
- Radiology tech programs12 programs
- Culinary school73 programs
- Home health aide training33 programs
- PTA programs12 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training66 programs
- Human resources training38 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training30 programs
- Early childhood education programs65 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school11 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training28 programs
- Hospitality management programs17 programs
- Addiction counselor training26 programs
- Community health worker training2 programs
- Coding and software development courses69 programs
- Lineman school3 programs
- Sterile processing technician training10 programs
- Sonography school6 programs
- Data analytics courses55 programs
- Administrative assistant training77 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs2 programs
- Medical lab technician programs3 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses40 programs
- Digital marketing courses24 programs
- Web and graphic design courses83 programs
- Health information technology programs14 programs
- Vet tech programs17 programs
- Real estate school14 programs
- Security guard training40 programs
- Patient care technician training2 programs
- Crane operator training2 programs
- Interpreter and translator training14 programs
- Home inspector training5 programs
- Forklift certification7 programs
- Personal trainer certification9 programs
- Healthcare administration programs2 programs
- Customer service training3 programs
- Flight school22 programs
- MRI tech school1 program
- Cardiovascular technology programs1 program
- Mental health technician training11 programs
- Human services programs15 programs
- Manufacturing technician training20 programs
- Electronics technician training23 programs
- Business administration programs89 programs
- Criminal justice programs28 programs
- Teacher assistant certification13 programs
- Auto body repair classes15 programs
- Merchant mariner training1 program
- Sleep technician training1 program
- Solar and wind technician training13 programs
- Sheet metal training7 programs
- Water treatment operator training6 programs
- OSHA safety training17 programs
- Dialysis technician training4 programs
- Optician training6 programs
- Masonry training6 programs
- Construction training programs123 programs
- Dental hygiene programs6 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes146 programs
- RN programs31 programs
- Project management certification72 programs
Where the California law enforcement program numbers come from
Which California law enforcement programs are on this list?
These are the law enforcement programs California approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what California offers.
How the prices and results of California law enforcement programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about police academy training in California
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Police and Detectives
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List