Heavy equipment operator training in Arizona
2 heavy equipment operator programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
2 schools offer these heavy equipment operator programs, and Arizona has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Heavy equipment operators drive and control the machines that build roads, bridges and buildings. Most have a high school diploma and learn on the job or in a three- or four-year apprenticeship, and many need a commercial driver's license to haul their equipment between jobsites.1 In Arizona, all 2 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.
See the 2 programsHow much does heavy equipment operator training cost in Arizona?
$4,150 to $10,000
from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself
These two programs
- Finished the program
- 76%
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Arizona may also offer heavy equipment operator training. How these figures are made
Heavy equipment operator training in Tucson, Prescott Valley and other Arizona cities
Choosing an area filters the list below.
All 2 heavy equipment operator programs in Arizona approved for WIOA funding
Filters
2 programs
Heavy Equipment Operator
Workforce Training Academy USA
Tucson
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,000Program website, Heavy Equipment Operator at Workforce Training Academy USAMore details about Heavy Equipment Operator at Workforce Training Academy USA
- Finished
- 76%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $850
- Students counted
- 17
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $10,000
Heavy Equipment Operations
Valley Academy for Career & Technology Education
Cottonwood
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,150More details about Heavy Equipment Operations at Valley Academy for Career & Technology Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $300
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,150
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for heavy equipment operator training in Arizona
WIOA funding can pay for heavy equipment operator training in Arizona
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for heavy equipment operator training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for heavy equipment operator training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the Arizona heavy equipment operator program numbers come from
Which Arizona heavy equipment operator programs are on this list?
These are the heavy equipment operator programs Arizona approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Arizona offers.
How the prices and results of Arizona heavy equipment operator programs are measured
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Other training in Arizona
- CDL training43 programs
- CNA classes29 programs
- Medical assistant training28 programs
- Phlebotomy training22 programs
- Welding classes33 programs
- HVAC training16 programs
- Medical billing and coding training18 programs
- LPN programs4 programs
- EMT classes21 programs
- Electrician training11 programs
- Dental assistant programs34 programs
- Auto mechanic classes19 programs
- Pharmacy technician training12 programs
- Plumbing school5 programs
- CNC machinist training5 programs
- Carpentry classes7 programs
- Diesel mechanic training6 programs
- Cybersecurity training22 programs
- IT training29 programs
- Project management certification10 programs
Sources for the facts about heavy equipment operator training in Arizona
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Construction Equipment Operators
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List