Retraining Report
Find training

Heavy equipment operator training in Arkansas

6 heavy equipment operator programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these heavy equipment operator programs, and Arkansas has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Heavy equipment operators drive and control the machines that build roads, bridges and buildings. Most have a high school diploma and learn on the job or in a three- or four-year apprenticeship, and many need a commercial driver's license to haul their equipment between jobsites.1 In Arkansas, 4 of the 6 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 4 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 6 programs

How much does heavy equipment operator training cost in Arkansas?

$3,972 to $6,690 is what most heavy equipment operator programs in Arkansas cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 6 programs with a price. All of them: $2,695 to $15,500

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
Length
Not reported for most programs

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Arkansas may also offer heavy equipment operator training. How these figures are made

Is there free heavy equipment operator training in Arkansas?

Heavy equipment operator training in Harrison, Pine Bluff, Little Rock and other Arkansas cities

Choosing an area filters the list below. 1 in smaller cities and towns.

All 6 heavy equipment operator programs in Arkansas approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

6 programs

  • Heavy equipment operator courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Heavy Equipment Operator Course

    Heavy Equipment Operating Academy

    Bee Branch

    No diploma needed

    Heavy Equipment Operating Academy, Bee Branch · Heavy equipment operator course · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$43,900
    Price if you pay yourself$15,500
    Program website, Heavy Equipment Operator Course at Heavy Equipment Operating Academy
    More details about Heavy Equipment Operator Course at Heavy Equipment Operating Academy
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,969
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,200
    Students counted
    80
    a year, estimated
    $43,900
    price
    $15,500
  • Heavy equipment operator courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Construction Equipment Operation (Certificate of Prof)

    North Arkansas College - Nac (North Campus And South Campus)

    Harrison

    High school diploma or equivalent

    North Arkansas College - Nac (North Campus And South Campus), Harrison · Heavy equipment operator course · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$46,300
    Price if you pay yourself$3,266
    Program website, Construction Equipment Operation (Certificate of Prof) at North Arkansas College - Nac (North Campus And South Campus)
    More details about Construction Equipment Operation (Certificate of Prof) at North Arkansas College - Nac (North Campus And South Campus)
    Finished
    66%
    Working at 6 months
    54%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,581
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $329
    Students counted
    46
    a year, estimated
    $46,300
    price
    $3,266
  • Heavy equipment operator courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Construction Equipment Operation (Technical Certificate)

    North Arkansas College - Nac (North Campus And South Campus)

    Harrison

    High school diploma or equivalent

    North Arkansas College - Nac (North Campus And South Campus), Harrison · Heavy equipment operator course · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,500
    Price if you pay yourself$6,092
    Program website, Construction Equipment Operation (Technical Certificate) at North Arkansas College - Nac (North Campus And South Campus)
    More details about Construction Equipment Operation (Technical Certificate) at North Arkansas College - Nac (North Campus And South Campus)
    Finished
    43%
    Working at 6 months
    42%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,128
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $329
    Students counted
    36
    a year, estimated
    $32,500
    price
    $6,092
  • Heavy equipment operator courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Certified Heavy Equipment Operator

    Arkansas Construction Education Foundation (Acef)

    Little Rock

    No diploma needed

    Arkansas Construction Education Foundation (Acef), Little Rock · Heavy equipment operator course · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,695
    Program website, Certified Heavy Equipment Operator at Arkansas Construction Education Foundation (Acef)
    More details about Certified Heavy Equipment Operator at Arkansas Construction Education Foundation (Acef)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    5 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,695
  • Heavy equipment operator courseHybridNo diploma needed

    CDAP Heavy Equipment Operator Level I

    Carpenter Daughter Apprenticeship Programs

    Pine Bluff

    No diploma needed

    Carpenter Daughter Apprenticeship Programs, Pine Bluff · Heavy equipment operator course · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,690
    Program website, CDAP Heavy Equipment Operator Level I at Carpenter Daughter Apprenticeship Programs
    More details about CDAP Heavy Equipment Operator Level I at Carpenter Daughter Apprenticeship Programs
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $450
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $6,690
  • Heavy equipment operator courseHybridNo diploma needed

    CDAP Heavy Equipment Operator Level II

    Carpenter Daughter Apprenticeship Programs

    Pine Bluff

    No diploma needed

    Carpenter Daughter Apprenticeship Programs, Pine Bluff · Heavy equipment operator course · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,690
    Program website, CDAP Heavy Equipment Operator Level II at Carpenter Daughter Apprenticeship Programs
    More details about CDAP Heavy Equipment Operator Level II at Carpenter Daughter Apprenticeship Programs
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $450
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $6,690

How to pay for heavy equipment operator training in Arkansas

WIOA funding can pay for heavy equipment operator training in Arkansas

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for heavy equipment operator training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for heavy equipment operator training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Heavy equipment operator training in Arkansas

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
8th of 13
heavy equipment operator programs here, against the typical state's 4
6 vs 4

State comparisons use the same figures as the heavy equipment operator training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Where the Arkansas heavy equipment operator program numbers come from

Which Arkansas heavy equipment operator programs are on this list?

These are the heavy equipment operator programs Arkansas approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Arkansas offers.

How Arkansas heavy equipment operator program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some heavy equipment operator programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Other training in Arkansas

Sources for the facts about heavy equipment operator training in Arkansas

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Construction Equipment Operators
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List