Heavy equipment operator training in Louisiana
14 heavy equipment operator programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
10 schools offer these heavy equipment operator programs, and Louisiana has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Heavy equipment operators drive and control the machines that build roads, bridges and buildings. Most have a high school diploma and learn on the job or in a three- or four-year apprenticeship, and many need a commercial driver's license to haul their equipment between jobsites.1 In Louisiana, 8 of the 14 programs take students without a high school diploma.
See the 14 programsHow much does heavy equipment operator training cost in Louisiana?
$2,275 to $5,242 is what most heavy equipment operator programs in Louisiana cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 14 programs with a price. All of them: $800 to $6,200
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 to 12 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Louisiana may also offer heavy equipment operator training. How these figures are made
Heavy equipment operator training in Monroe, New Orleans, Alexandria and other Louisiana cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 3 more programs are in 3 other areas.
All 14 heavy equipment operator programs in Louisiana approved for WIOA funding
Filters
14 programs
Heavy Equipment Operator Level 2
Louisiana Delta Community College
Monroe
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$800School website, Heavy Equipment Operator Level 2 at Louisiana Delta Community CollegeMore details about Heavy Equipment Operator Level 2 at Louisiana Delta Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $800
Heavy Equipment Operator Level 3
Louisiana Delta Community College
Monroe
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,000School website, Heavy Equipment Operator Level 3 at Louisiana Delta Community CollegeMore details about Heavy Equipment Operator Level 3 at Louisiana Delta Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 5 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,000
Heavy Equipment Operator Level 1 Basics
Louisiana Delta Community College
Monroe
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,870School website, Heavy Equipment Operator Level 1 Basics at Louisiana Delta Community CollegeMore details about Heavy Equipment Operator Level 1 Basics at Louisiana Delta Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,870
NCCER Heavy Equipment
Delgado Community College
New Orleans
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,200School website, NCCER Heavy Equipment at Delgado Community CollegeMore details about NCCER Heavy Equipment at Delgado Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,200
Heavy Equipment Operator
Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City Campus
Baton Rouge
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,500Program website, Heavy Equipment Operator at Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City CampusMore details about Heavy Equipment Operator at Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City Campus
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $50
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,500
Heavy Equipment Operator
Fletcher Technical Community College
Schriever
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,500Program website, Heavy Equipment Operator at Fletcher Technical Community CollegeMore details about Heavy Equipment Operator at Fletcher Technical Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 3 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,500
Heavy Equipment Operator
Delgado Community College
New Orleans
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,877School website, Heavy Equipment Operator at Delgado Community CollegeMore details about Heavy Equipment Operator at Delgado Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,877
Mobile Crane Operator Training
Lamar State College-Orange
Orange, TX
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Louisiana; Louisiana approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,500School website, Mobile Crane Operator Training at Lamar State College-OrangeMore details about Mobile Crane Operator Training at Lamar State College-Orange
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,500
Heavy Equipment Operator Training
Central Louisiana Technical Community College
Alexandria
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,054Program website, Heavy Equipment Operator Training at Central Louisiana Technical Community CollegeMore details about Heavy Equipment Operator Training at Central Louisiana Technical Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,025
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,054
Construction Equipment Operation
Pearl River Community College
Poplarville, MS
High school diploma or equivalent
Classes are outside Louisiana; Louisiana approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,470Program website, Construction Equipment Operation at Pearl River Community CollegeMore details about Construction Equipment Operation at Pearl River Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $800
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,470
Heavy Equipment Operation
Nunez Community College
Chalmette
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,500School website, Heavy Equipment Operation at Nunez Community CollegeMore details about Heavy Equipment Operation at Nunez Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 7 weeks, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,500
Heavy Equipment Vehicle Operator
Northwest Louisiana Technical College
Minden
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,659Program website, Heavy Equipment Vehicle Operator at Northwest Louisiana Technical CollegeMore details about Heavy Equipment Vehicle Operator at Northwest Louisiana Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $406
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,659
Heavy Equipment Operator
South Louisiana Community College
Lafayette
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,000Program website, Heavy Equipment Operator at South Louisiana Community CollegeMore details about Heavy Equipment Operator at South Louisiana Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 9 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $6,000
Heavy Equipment Operator Training-Workforce Training
Central Louisiana Technical Community College
Alexandria
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,200Program website, Heavy Equipment Operator Training-Workforce Training at Central Louisiana Technical Community CollegeMore details about Heavy Equipment Operator Training-Workforce Training at Central Louisiana Technical Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 9 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $6,200
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for heavy equipment operator training in Louisiana
WIOA funding can pay for heavy equipment operator training in Louisiana
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for heavy equipment operator training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for heavy equipment operator training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Quick facts: Heavy equipment operator training in Louisiana
- programs with a price cost under $2,000
- 3 of 14
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 2nd of 13
- most heavy equipment operator programs of any state, after Texas and Ohio
- 3rd
State comparisons use the same figures as the heavy equipment operator training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Where the Louisiana heavy equipment operator program numbers come from
Which Louisiana heavy equipment operator programs are on this list?
These are the heavy equipment operator programs Louisiana approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Louisiana offers.
How Louisiana heavy equipment operator program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some heavy equipment operator programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
How reliable are the Louisiana figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Louisiana among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 We leave out the share working 6 months later for Louisiana: most of its programs report exactly 100%, which no other state comes close to. We leave out the share who finished for Louisiana: half of its programs report exactly 100%.
Other training in Louisiana
- CDL training66 programs
- CNA classes30 programs
- Medical assistant training57 programs
- Phlebotomy training47 programs
- Welding classes52 programs
- HVAC training32 programs
- Medical billing and coding training52 programs
- LPN programs18 programs
- EMT classes14 programs
- Electrician training28 programs
- Dental assistant programs23 programs
- Auto mechanic classes10 programs
- Pharmacy technician training38 programs
- Plumbing school1 program
- CNC machinist training8 programs
- Carpentry classes4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training9 programs
- Cybersecurity training30 programs
- IT training41 programs
- Project management certification18 programs
Sources for the facts about heavy equipment operator training in Louisiana
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Construction Equipment Operators
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns