Retraining Report
Find training

Auto mechanic classes in Louisiana

10 auto mechanic programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

7 schools offer these automotive programs, and Louisiana has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Automotive service technicians and mechanics inspect, maintain and repair cars and light trucks. Most complete a program in automotive service technology that leads to a certificate or an associate's degree, and employers may require or prefer certification.1 In Louisiana, 5 of the 10 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 3 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 10 programs

How much do auto mechanic classes cost in Louisiana?

$6,744 to $12,064 is what most auto mechanic programs in Louisiana cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 10 programs with a price. All of them: $5,975 to $52,950

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not reported
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
about $30,700
Length
43 to 72 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Louisiana may also offer auto mechanic classes. How these figures are made

Are there free auto mechanic classes in Louisiana?

Auto mechanic classes in Slidell, Lafayette, Houston and other Louisiana cities

Choosing an area filters the list below. 1 more program is in 1 other area.

All 10 auto mechanic programs in Louisiana approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

10 programs

  • Automotive technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Automotive Technology (Technical Diploma)

    Northshore Technical Community College

    Lacombe

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northshore Technical Community College, Lacombe · Automotive technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$47,100
    Price if you pay yourself$8,206
    Program website, Automotive Technology (Technical Diploma) at Northshore Technical Community College
    More details about Automotive Technology (Technical Diploma) at Northshore Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,775
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,491
    Students counted
    258
    a year, estimated
    $47,100
    price
    $8,206
  • Automotive technician (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Automotive Technology (AAS Degree)

    Northshore Technical Community College

    Lacombe

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northshore Technical Community College, Lacombe · Automotive technician (associate degree) · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$47,100
    Price if you pay yourself$10,258
    Program website, Automotive Technology (AAS Degree) at Northshore Technical Community College
    More details about Automotive Technology (AAS Degree) at Northshore Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,775
    Length
    80 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,491
    Students counted
    258
    a year, estimated
    $47,100
    price
    $10,258
  • Automotive technicianIn personNo diploma needed

    Automotive Technician Program

    South Louisiana Community College

    Lafayette

    No diploma needed

    South Louisiana Community College, Lafayette · Automotive technician · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$30,700
    Price if you pay yourself$6,000
    Program website, Automotive Technician Program at South Louisiana Community College
    More details about Automotive Technician Program at South Louisiana Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,663
    Length
    10 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,000
    Students counted
    121
    a year, estimated
    $30,700
    price
    $6,000
  • Automotive technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Automotive Technology

    South Louisiana Community College

    Lafayette

    High school diploma or equivalent

    South Louisiana Community College, Lafayette · Automotive technician · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$30,700
    Price if you pay yourself$6,257
    Program website, Automotive Technology at South Louisiana Community College
    More details about Automotive Technology at South Louisiana Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,663
    Length
    16 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,860
    Students counted
    121
    a year, estimated
    $30,700
    price
    $6,257
  • Automotive technicianIn personNo diploma needed

    Automotive Technology

    Louisiana Delta Community College

    Monroe

    No diploma needed

    Louisiana Delta Community College, Monroe · Automotive technician · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$30,100
    Price if you pay yourself$10,162
    Program website, Automotive Technology at Louisiana Delta Community College
    More details about Automotive Technology at Louisiana Delta Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,531
    Length
    104 weeks, 45 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,440
    Students counted
    39
    a year, estimated
    $30,100
    price
    $10,162
  • Automotive technicianIn personNo diploma needed

    Automotive Technician

    Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City Campus

    Baton Rouge

    No diploma needed

    Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City Campus, Baton Rouge · Automotive technician · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$12,666
    Program website, Automotive Technician at Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City Campus
    More details about Automotive Technician at Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City Campus
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    40 weeks, 17 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,650
    Students counted
    107
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $12,666
  • Automotive technicianIn personNo diploma needed

    Automotive Technology

    Northwest Louisiana Technical College

    Minden

    No diploma needed

    Northwest Louisiana Technical College, Minden · Automotive technician · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,975
    Program website, Automotive Technology at Northwest Louisiana Technical College
    More details about Automotive Technology at Northwest Louisiana Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,141
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $5,975
  • Automotive technicianHybridNo diploma needed

    Automotive Technician Diploma

    Fletcher Technical Community College

    Schriever

    No diploma needed

    Fletcher Technical Community College, Schriever · Automotive technician · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,358
    Program website, Automotive Technician Diploma at Fletcher Technical Community College
    More details about Automotive Technician Diploma at Fletcher Technical Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,059
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $8,358
  • Automotive technician (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Automotive Technology (4050)

    Universal Technical Institute Houston

    Houston, TX

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Universal Technical Institute Houston, Houston, TX · Automotive technician (associate degree) · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Louisiana; Louisiana approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$41,450
    More details about Automotive Technology (4050) at Universal Technical Institute Houston
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    51 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $680
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $41,450
  • Automotive technician (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Automotive/Diesel & Industrial Technology (4750)

    Universal Technical Institute Houston

    Houston, TX

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Universal Technical Institute Houston, Houston, TX · Automotive technician (associate degree) · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Louisiana; Louisiana approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$52,950
    More details about Automotive/Diesel & Industrial Technology (4750) at Universal Technical Institute Houston
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    75 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $680
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $52,950

How to pay for auto mechanic classes in Louisiana

WIOA funding can pay for auto mechanic classes in Louisiana

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for auto mechanic classes

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for auto mechanic classes

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Auto mechanic classes in Louisiana

programs with a price cost under $10,000
5 of 10
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
25th of 34
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
8 of 21
auto mechanic programs here, against the typical state's 11
10 vs 11

State comparisons use the same figures as the auto mechanic classes by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Where the Louisiana automotive program numbers come from

Which Louisiana automotive programs are on this list?

These are the automotive programs Louisiana approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).8 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Louisiana offers.

How Louisiana automotive program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some automotive programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

How reliable are the Louisiana figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Louisiana among the states with "known data quality concerns".9 We leave out the share working 6 months later for Louisiana: most of its programs report exactly 100%, which no other state comes close to. We leave out the share who finished for Louisiana: half of its programs report exactly 100%.

Other training in Louisiana

Sources for the facts about auto mechanic classes in Louisiana

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  8. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  9. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns