Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Addiction counselor training in Indiana

2 addiction counseling programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

1 school offers these addiction counseling programs, and Indiana has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Substance abuse counselors advise people on alcoholism, addiction and related problems. Many have a bachelor's degree, but some positions ask only for a high school diploma and others for a master's, and the license rules outside private practice vary by state.1

In Indiana, 1 of the 2 programs takes students without a high school diploma and 1 asks for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 2 programs here are peer recovery or recovery coach course (1 program) and addiction counseling (associate degree, 1 program).

See the 2 programs

How much does addiction counselor training cost in Indiana?

$500 to $506

from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself

These two programs

Finished the program
100%
Working 6 months later
58%
Earned a year, estimated
about $32,600
Length
1 week

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Indiana may also offer addiction counselor training. How these figures are made

Is there free addiction counselor training in Indiana?

All 2 addiction counseling programs in Indiana approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

2 programs

  • Peer recovery or recovery coach courseOnlineNo diploma needed

    Ccar Recovery Coach Academy

    Mental Health America of Indiana

    Based in Indianapolis, IN

    No diploma needed

    Mental Health America of Indiana, based in Indianapolis, INPeer recovery or recovery coach courseOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$32,600
    Price if you pay yourself$506

    7 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Ccar Recovery Coach Academy at Mental Health America of Indiana
    More details about Ccar Recovery Coach Academy at Mental Health America of Indiana
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    58%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,158
    Length
    1 week, 21 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    1,081
    Earned a year, estimated
    $32,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $506
    students trained with WIOA funding
    7
    Program website, Ccar Recovery Coach Academy at Mental Health America of Indiana
  • Addiction counseling (associate degree)OnlineEducation and courses

    Recovery Support Fundamentals

    Mental Health America of Indiana

    Based in Indianapolis, IN

    Education and courses

    Mental Health America of Indiana, based in Indianapolis, INAddiction counseling (associate degree)Online · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$500
    Program website, Recovery Support Fundamentals at Mental Health America of Indiana
    More details about Recovery Support Fundamentals at Mental Health America of Indiana
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    230
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $500
    Program website, Recovery Support Fundamentals at Mental Health America of Indiana

How to pay for addiction counselor training in Indiana

WIOA funding can pay for addiction counselor training in Indiana

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for addiction counselor training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for addiction counselor training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in Indiana

How addiction counselor training compares with the rest of education and social services: Child care and social services training in Indiana

Where the Indiana addiction counseling program numbers come from

Which Indiana addiction counseling programs are on this list?

These are the addiction counseling programs Indiana approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Indiana offers.

How the prices and results of Indiana addiction counseling programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about addiction counselor training in Indiana

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Substance Abuse, Behavioral Disorder, and Mental Health Counselors
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List