HVAC training in California
30 HVAC training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
23 schools offer these HVAC programs, and California has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
HVAC technicians work on heating, ventilation, cooling and refrigeration systems. Most train in a certificate program, which usually includes the EPA refrigerant exam that nearly all technicians must pass, and some states also require a license.1 In California, 14 of the 30 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 9 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 30 programsHow much does HVAC training cost in California?
$1,890 to $17,680
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 29 programs with a price: $1,380 to $21,489
- Finished the program
- 80%
- Working 6 months later
- 68%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $53,300
- Length
- 24 to 40 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made
HVAC training in Los Angeles, Riverside, Modesto and other California cities
Areas with 10 or more programs have a page of their own. Choosing another area filters the list below. 1 more program is in 1 other area and 1 online.
All 30 HVAC training programs in California approved for funding
Filters
30 programs
Facilities Operations Technician (Credit)
College Of The Desert, Palm Desert
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,380Program website, Facilities Operations Technician (Credit) at College Of The DesertMore details about Facilities Operations Technician (Credit) at College Of The Desert
- Finished
- 88%
- Working at 6 months
- 4%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 48 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $69
- Students counted
- 8,692
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,380
Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (Hybrid)
UEI Fresno/IEC Holdings, Inc. dba UEI College, Huntington Park
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$21,448Program website, Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (Hybrid) at UEI Fresno/IEC Holdings, Inc. dba UEI CollegeMore details about Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (Hybrid) at UEI Fresno/IEC Holdings, Inc. dba UEI College
- Finished
- 62%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $53
- Students counted
- 1,847
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $21,448
HVAC/R Technology
Brownson Technical School, Anaheim
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$47,800Price if you pay yourself$17,680Program website, HVAC/R Technology at Brownson Technical SchoolMore details about HVAC/R Technology at Brownson Technical School
- Finished
- 87%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,960
- Length
- 40 weeks, 26 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,263
- Students counted
- 1,286
- a year, estimated
- $47,800
- price
- $17,680
Commercial Refrigeration, Heating & Air Conditioning
Institute for Business and Technology, San Jose
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$59,000Price if you pay yourself$17,640Program website, Commercial Refrigeration, Heating & Air Conditioning at Institute for Business and TechnologyMore details about Commercial Refrigeration, Heating & Air Conditioning at Institute for Business and Technology
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 65%
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,747
- Length
- 42 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,060
- Students counted
- 912
- a year, estimated
- $59,000
- price
- $17,640
Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning
UEI Fresno/IEC Holdings, Inc. dba UEI College, Fresno
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$64,600Price if you pay yourself$21,477Program website, Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning at UEI Fresno/IEC Holdings, Inc. dba UEI CollegeMore details about Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning at UEI Fresno/IEC Holdings, Inc. dba UEI College
- Finished
- 58%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $16,155
- Length
- 36 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $53
- Students counted
- 690
- a year, estimated
- $64,600
- price
- $21,477
Air Conditioning Technician Trainee
West Valley Occupational Center - LAUSD, Woodland Hills
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$62,200Price if you pay yourself$1,890Program website, Air Conditioning Technician Trainee at West Valley Occupational Center - LAUSDMore details about Air Conditioning Technician Trainee at West Valley Occupational Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 64%
- Working at 6 months
- 24%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,557
- Length
- 18 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $782
- Students counted
- 631
- a year, estimated
- $62,200
- price
- $1,890
Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning
Institute of Technology, Clovis
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$53,300Price if you pay yourself$18,992School website, Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning at Institute of TechnologyMore details about Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning at Institute of Technology
- Finished
- 77%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,323
- Length
- 40 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,277
- Students counted
- 586
- a year, estimated
- $53,300
- price
- $18,992
HVAC/R Technician Trainee
Harbor Occupational Center - LAUSD, San Pedro
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$52,900Price if you pay yourself$1,890Program website, HVAC/R Technician Trainee at Harbor Occupational Center - LAUSDMore details about HVAC/R Technician Trainee at Harbor Occupational Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 51%
- Working at 6 months
- 56%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,234
- Length
- 30 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $657
- Students counted
- 526
- a year, estimated
- $52,900
- price
- $1,890
Master Mechanic Technician Trainee
Harbor Occupational Center - LAUSD, San Pedro
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$47,800Price if you pay yourself$5,670Program website, Master Mechanic Technician Trainee at Harbor Occupational Center - LAUSDMore details about Master Mechanic Technician Trainee at Harbor Occupational Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 67%
- Working at 6 months
- 38%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,939
- Length
- 48 weeks, 34 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,330
- Students counted
- 378
- a year, estimated
- $47,800
- price
- $5,670
Air Conditioning Technician Trainee
Abram Friedman Occupational Center-LAUSD, Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$62,200Price if you pay yourself$1,890School website, Air Conditioning Technician Trainee at Abram Friedman Occupational Center-LAUSDMore details about Air Conditioning Technician Trainee at Abram Friedman Occupational Center-LAUSD
- Finished
- 40%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,557
- Length
- 22 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,895
- Students counted
- 349
- a year, estimated
- $62,200
- price
- $1,890
Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning
Mayfield College, Inc., Cathedral City
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$15,819School website, Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning at Mayfield College, Inc.More details about Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning at Mayfield College, Inc.
- Finished
- 70%
- Working at 6 months
- 88%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 40 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,031
- Students counted
- 322
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $15,819
Air Conditioning Technician Trainee
Richard N. Slawson Occupational Center - LAUSD, Los Angeles
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$62,200Price if you pay yourself$1,890Program website, Air Conditioning Technician Trainee at Richard N. Slawson Occupational Center - LAUSDMore details about Air Conditioning Technician Trainee at Richard N. Slawson Occupational Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 69%
- Working at 6 months
- 68%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,557
- Length
- 22 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,408
- Students counted
- 293
- a year, estimated
- $62,200
- price
- $1,890
Air Conditioning Technician Trainee
Harbor Occupational Center - LAUSD, San Pedro
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$62,200Price if you pay yourself$1,890Program website, Air Conditioning Technician Trainee at Harbor Occupational Center - LAUSDMore details about Air Conditioning Technician Trainee at Harbor Occupational Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 44%
- Working at 6 months
- 48%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,557
- Length
- 20 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $685
- Students counted
- 261
- a year, estimated
- $62,200
- price
- $1,890
HVAC Technician (Hybrid)
InterCoast Colleges, West Covina
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$45,800Price if you pay yourself$18,000School website, HVAC Technician (Hybrid) at InterCoast CollegesMore details about HVAC Technician (Hybrid) at InterCoast Colleges
- Finished
- 80%
- Working at 6 months
- 56%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,440
- Length
- 40 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 237
- a year, estimated
- $45,800
- price
- $18,000
Heating Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC)
Bassett Adult School, La Puente
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$13,600Price if you pay yourself$2,400Program website, Heating Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC) at Bassett Adult SchoolMore details about Heating Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC) at Bassett Adult School
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 62%
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,396
- Length
- 18 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,950
- Students counted
- 209
- a year, estimated
- $13,600
- price
- $2,400
HVAC/R Facilities Maintenance Course 3 Hybrid
DeHart Technical School, Modesto
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$41,600Price if you pay yourself$18,456Program website, HVAC/R Facilities Maintenance Course 3 Hybrid at DeHart Technical SchoolMore details about HVAC/R Facilities Maintenance Course 3 Hybrid at DeHart Technical School
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,400
- Length
- 48 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,685
- Students counted
- 199
- a year, estimated
- $41,600
- price
- $18,456
Hvac I/II
Southern California Regional Occupational Center, Torrance
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,800School website, Hvac I/II at Southern California Regional Occupational CenterMore details about Hvac I/II at Southern California Regional Occupational Center
- Finished
- 89%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 164
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,800
Refrigeration Technician Trainee
Harbor Occupational Center - LAUSD, San Pedro
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$55,200Price if you pay yourself$1,890Program website, Refrigeration Technician Trainee at Harbor Occupational Center - LAUSDMore details about Refrigeration Technician Trainee at Harbor Occupational Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 19%
- Working at 6 months
- 56%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,806
- Length
- 12 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $532
- Students counted
- 139
- a year, estimated
- $55,200
- price
- $1,890
Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning
IEC/AAI dba UEI College, Gardena
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$21,489Program website, Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning at IEC/AAI dba UEI CollegeMore details about Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning at IEC/AAI dba UEI College
- Finished
- 55%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $11
- Students counted
- 127
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $21,489
Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning
Baldwin Park Adult and Community Education, Baldwin Park
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedMore details about Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning at Baldwin Park Adult and Community Education
- Finished
- 81%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 125
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- Not reported
Heating Ventilation & Air Conditioning-HVAC
Hacienda La Puente Adult Education, La Puente
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$55,900Price if you pay yourself$2,313Program website, Heating Ventilation & Air Conditioning-HVAC at Hacienda La Puente Adult EducationMore details about Heating Ventilation & Air Conditioning-HVAC at Hacienda La Puente Adult Education
- Finished
- 80%
- Working at 6 months
- 53%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,965
- Length
- 36 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 101
- a year, estimated
- $55,900
- price
- $2,313
HVAC/R Facilities Maintenance Course 3
DeHart Technical School, Modesto
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$41,600Price if you pay yourself$18,456Program website, HVAC/R Facilities Maintenance Course 3 at DeHart Technical SchoolMore details about HVAC/R Facilities Maintenance Course 3 at DeHart Technical School
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,400
- Length
- 48 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,685
- Students counted
- 88
- a year, estimated
- $41,600
- price
- $18,456
HVACR Technician
American College of Healthcare and Technology, Riverside
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$12,963Program website, HVACR Technician at American College of Healthcare and TechnologyMore details about HVACR Technician at American College of Healthcare and Technology
- Finished
- 78%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 28 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $33
- Students counted
- 49
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $12,963
HVAC/R Technician (online)
California State University San Marcos Extended Learning, Online, based in San Marcos, CA
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,995Program website, HVAC/R Technician (online) at California State University San Marcos Extended LearningMore details about HVAC/R Technician (online) at California State University San Marcos Extended Learning
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 48 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 28
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,995
HVAC Technician
Merced College, Merced
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,770School website, HVAC Technician at Merced CollegeMore details about HVAC Technician at Merced College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $667
- Students counted
- 24
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,770
Facilities Maintenance HVAC Course 1 Hybrid
DeHart Technical School, Modesto
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,188Program website, Facilities Maintenance HVAC Course 1 Hybrid at DeHart Technical SchoolMore details about Facilities Maintenance HVAC Course 1 Hybrid at DeHart Technical School
- Finished
- 89%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,585
- Students counted
- 20
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $10,188
Air Conditioning, Refrigeration, Electricity and Control Technology
North American Training Center, Redlands
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$33,900Price if you pay yourself$11,700Program website, Air Conditioning, Refrigeration, Electricity and Control Technology at North American Training CenterMore details about Air Conditioning, Refrigeration, Electricity and Control Technology at North American Training Center
- Finished
- 87%
- Working at 6 months
- 62%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,477
- Length
- 24 weeks, 26 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,500
- Students counted
- 17
- a year, estimated
- $33,900
- price
- $11,700
Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC)-BC
Kern Community College District, Bakersfield
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,406School website, Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC)-BC at Kern Community College DistrictMore details about Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC)-BC at Kern Community College District
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,025
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,406
HVAC & Refrigeration
San Bernardino Valley College, San Bernardino
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,426Program website, HVAC & Refrigeration at San Bernardino Valley CollegeMore details about HVAC & Refrigeration at San Bernardino Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 128 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,715
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,426
Facilities Maintenance HVAC Course 1
DeHart Technical School, Modesto
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,188Program website, Facilities Maintenance HVAC Course 1 at DeHart Technical SchoolMore details about Facilities Maintenance HVAC Course 1 at DeHart Technical School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,585
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $10,188
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for HVAC training in California
Workforce funding can pay for HVAC training in California
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for HVAC training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for HVAC training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the California HVAC program numbers come from
Which California HVAC programs are on this list?
These are the HVAC programs California approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what California offers.
How California HVAC program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some HVAC programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Sources for the facts about HVAC training in California
Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs