Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Sleep technician training in California

1 sleep technology program with costs, results and funding that can make it free

One school offers this sleep technician program, and California has approved it for workforce funding. It shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Polysomnographic technologists (sleep technicians) watch adults and children through the night in sleep labs: they attach sensors, observe patients, collect data and take notes during a sleep study, then summarize it for a sleep physician who makes the diagnosis. Most sleep studies happen at night.1 One credential employers look for, the BRPT's Registered Polysomnographic Technologist (RPSGT), takes either graduating from a CAAHEP- or CoARC-accredited polysomnography program or 960 hours of clinical experience with approved training, and a passed exam.2

In California, the one program asks for a high school diploma or equivalent.

See the program

How much does sleep technician training cost in California?

$3,500

is what this program costs if you pay yourself

This program

Finished the program
100%
Working 6 months later
Not reported
The program doesn't report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
The program doesn't report it
Length
2 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in California may also offer sleep technician training. How these figures are made

Is there free sleep technician training in California?

The one sleep technology program in California approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

1 program

  • Introductory sleep technology courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    A-STEP 80-hour Introductory Course

    Northern California School of Sleep Medicine

    Sacramento

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northern California School of Sleep Medicine, SacramentoIntroductory sleep technology courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,500
    More details about A-STEP 80-hour Introductory Course at Northern California School of Sleep Medicine
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    2 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    24
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,500

How to pay for sleep technician training in California

WIOA funding can pay for sleep technician training in California

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for sleep technician training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for sleep technician training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in California

How sleep technician training compares with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in California

Where the California sleep technician program numbers come from

Which California sleep technician programs are on this list?

These are the sleep technician programs California approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what California offers.

How the prices and results of California sleep technician programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about sleep technician training in California

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Quarterly: "You're a what? Polysomnographic technologist" (2006)
  2. Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists: RPSGT eligibility
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List