Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Radiology tech programs in California

12 radiology tech programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

10 schools offer these radiologic technology programs, and California has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Radiologic technologists take X-rays and other imaging scans of patients. Most have an associate degree, some a bachelor's, and most states require a license or certification, which usually means finishing an accredited program and passing a certification exam.1 The usual route to certification by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) takes an associate degree or higher, an ARRT-approved program and a passed exam.2

In California, 8 of the 12 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent and 4 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 12 programs here are limited-scope X-ray course (5 programs), radiography (associate degree, 3 programs), x-ray program (level not stated, 3 programs) and radiography certificate or diploma (1 program).

See the 12 programs

How much do radiology tech programs cost in California?

$4,908 to $16,969 is what most radiology tech programs in California cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 12 programs with a price. All of them: $3,036 to $68,402

In the typical program

Finished the program
86%
Working 6 months later
91%
Earned a year, estimated
about $66,500
Length
50 to 90 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in California may also offer radiology tech programs. How these figures are made

Are there free radiology tech programs in California?

All 12 radiology tech programs in California approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

12 programs

  • Radiography certificate or diplomaIn personEducation and courses

    Radiologic Technology Certificate

    Santa Rosa Junior College

    Santa Rosa

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Santa Rosa Junior College, Santa RosaRadiography certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,691
    School website, Radiologic Technology Certificate at Santa Rosa Junior College
    More details about Radiologic Technology Certificate at Santa Rosa Junior College
    Finished
    8%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    96 weeks, 26 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $800
    Students counted
    493
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,691
    School website, Radiologic Technology Certificate at Santa Rosa Junior College
  • Radiography (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Associate of Science in Radiologic Technology

    Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts

    San Jose

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts, San JoseRadiography (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$68,402
    Program website, Associate of Science in Radiologic Technology at Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts
    More details about Associate of Science in Radiologic Technology at Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts
    Finished
    85%
    Working at 6 months
    41%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    94 weeks, 32 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $825
    Students counted
    250
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $68,402
    Program website, Associate of Science in Radiologic Technology at Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts
  • Limited-scope X-ray courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    X-Ray Technician/Medical Assistant

    Modern Technology School

    Fountain Valley

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Modern Technology School, Fountain ValleyLimited-scope X-ray course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$36,400
    Price if you pay yourself$17,041

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, X-Ray Technician/Medical Assistant at Modern Technology School
    More details about X-Ray Technician/Medical Assistant at Modern Technology School
    Finished
    89%
    Working at 6 months
    75%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,093
    Length
    44 weeks, 26 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,326
    Students counted
    204
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $17,041
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
    Program website, X-Ray Technician/Medical Assistant at Modern Technology School
  • X-ray program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Radiologic Technology

    Yuba College

    Marysville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Yuba College, MarysvilleX-ray program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,036

    99 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Radiologic Technology at Yuba College
    Finished
    95%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    88 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    139
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,036
    students trained with WIOA funding
    99
  • Limited-scope X-ray courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting with Limited Permit X-ray Technician

    Medical Career College Of Northern California

    Roseville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Career College Of Northern California, RosevilleLimited-scope X-ray course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$65,000
    Price if you pay yourself$25,445

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Medical Assisting with Limited Permit X-ray Technician at Medical Career College Of Northern California
    More details about Medical Assisting with Limited Permit X-ray Technician at Medical Career College Of Northern California
    Finished
    74%
    Working at 6 months
    94%
    Earned in a quarter
    $16,250
    Length
    60 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,445
    Students counted
    111
    Earned a year, estimated
    $65,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $25,445
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
    Program website, Medical Assisting with Limited Permit X-ray Technician at Medical Career College Of Northern California
  • Radiography (associate degree)In personPrerequisite courses

    Diagnostic Medical Imaging Major (AS)

    City College of San Francisco

    San Francisco

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    City College of San Francisco, San FranciscoRadiography (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,358
    More details about Diagnostic Medical Imaging Major (AS) at City College of San Francisco
    Finished
    89%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $203
    Students counted
    56
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,358
  • X-ray program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Radiologic Technologist

    East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSD

    Los Angeles

    High school diploma or equivalent

    East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSD, Los AngelesX-ray program (level not stated)In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$73,200
    Price if you pay yourself$5,425
    Program website, Radiologic Technologist at East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSD
    More details about Radiologic Technologist at East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSD
    Finished
    51%
    Working at 6 months
    81%
    Earned in a quarter
    $18,300
    Length
    52 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,660
    Students counted
    52
    Earned a year, estimated
    $73,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,425
    Program website, Radiologic Technologist at East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSD
  • Limited-scope X-ray courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    X-Ray Tech./Medical Assistant

    Central California School of Cont. Ed.

    San Luis Obispo

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Central California School of Cont. Ed., San Luis ObispoLimited-scope X-ray course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$15,000

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about X-Ray Tech./Medical Assistant at Central California School of Cont. Ed.
    Finished
    88%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    78 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $75
    Students counted
    46
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,000
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
  • Radiography (associate degree)In personPrerequisite courses

    Radiologic Technology - Radiologic Technology AS Degree

    Cabrillo College

    Aptos

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Cabrillo College, AptosRadiography (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimated$82,600
    Price if you pay yourself$6,174

    21 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Radiologic Technology - Radiologic Technology AS Degree at Cabrillo College
    More details about Radiologic Technology - Radiologic Technology AS Degree at Cabrillo College
    Finished
    94%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $20,660
    Length
    92 weeks, 17 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,920
    Students counted
    22
    Earned a year, estimated
    $82,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,174
    students trained with WIOA funding
    21
    School website, Radiologic Technology - Radiologic Technology AS Degree at Cabrillo College
  • X-ray program (level not stated)In personPrerequisite courses

    Radiologic Technology-BC

    Kern Community College District

    Bakersfield

    Prerequisite courses

    Kern Community College District, BakersfieldX-ray program (level not stated)In person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimated$66,500
    Price if you pay yourself$3,270

    21 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Radiologic Technology-BC at Kern Community College District
    More details about Radiologic Technology-BC at Kern Community College District
    Finished
    75%
    Working at 6 months
    91%
    Earned in a quarter
    $16,617
    Length
    48 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,182
    Students counted
    21
    Earned a year, estimated
    $66,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,270
    students trained with WIOA funding
    21
    School website, Radiologic Technology-BC at Kern Community College District
  • Limited-scope X-ray courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    X-Ray Technician

    Central California School of Cont. Ed.

    San Luis Obispo

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Central California School of Cont. Ed., San Luis ObispoLimited-scope X-ray course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$14,000
    More details about X-Ray Technician at Central California School of Cont. Ed.
    Finished
    85%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    40 weeks, 24 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $75
    Students counted
    21
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,000
  • Limited-scope X-ray courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Limited Permit X-ray Technician

    Medical Career College Of Northern California

    Roseville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Career College Of Northern California, RosevilleLimited-scope X-ray course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$16,945

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Limited Permit X-ray Technician at Medical Career College Of Northern California
    More details about Limited Permit X-ray Technician at Medical Career College Of Northern California
    Finished
    87%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    78 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $733
    Students counted
    15
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $16,945
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
    Program website, Limited Permit X-ray Technician at Medical Career College Of Northern California

How to pay for radiology tech programs in California

WIOA funding can pay for radiology tech programs in California

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for radiology tech programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for radiology tech programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Radiology tech programs in California

programs with a price cost under $5,000
3 of 12
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
11th of 22
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
18 of 18
radiology tech programs here, against the typical state's 7
12 vs 7

State comparisons use the same figures as the radiology tech programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Radiology tech programs in Los Angeles, Sacramento, San Luis Obispo and other California cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 3 more programs are in 3 other areas.

Other training in California

How radiology tech programs compare with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in California

Where the California radiologic technology program numbers come from

Which California radiologic technology programs are on this list?

These are the radiologic technology programs California approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what California offers.

How the prices and results of California radiologic technology programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about radiology tech programs in California

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Radiologic and MRI Technologists
  2. American Registry of Radiologic Technologists: Primary eligibility pathway requirements
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List