Electronics technician training in California
23 electronics programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
10 schools offer these electronics programs, and California has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Electrical and electronic engineering technicians help engineers design and develop electrical and electronic equipment. They typically need an associate degree; certifications are available in many specialties, and while optional, they show advanced knowledge.1
In California, 6 of the 23 programs take students without a high school diploma, 6 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 11 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 23 programs here are electronics technician certificate or diploma (9 programs), fiber optic, telecom and low-voltage cabling (9 programs), electronics assembly and soldering (2 programs), biomedical equipment technician (1 program), and 2 more of 2 other kinds.
See the 23 programsHow much does electronics technician training cost in California?
$700 to $5,200 is what most electronics programs in California cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 21 programs with a price. All of them: $500 to $11,000
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 85%
- Working 6 months later
- 64%
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- 7 to 29 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in California may also offer electronics technician training. How these figures are made
All 23 electronics programs in California approved for WIOA funding
Filters
23 programs
Electronics Technology - Manufacturing
Antelope Valley College
Lancaster
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$690School website, Electronics Technology - Manufacturing at Antelope Valley CollegeMore details about Electronics Technology - Manufacturing at Antelope Valley College
- Finished
- 41%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $705
- Students counted
- 289
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $690
Mobile Electronics Technician
Richard N. Slawson Occupational Center - LAUSD
Los Angeles
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$65,000Price if you pay yourself$630Program website, Mobile Electronics Technician at Richard N. Slawson Occupational Center - LAUSDMore details about Mobile Electronics Technician at Richard N. Slawson Occupational Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 58%
- Working at 6 months
- 37%
- Earned in a quarter
- $16,250
- Length
- 6 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,449
- Students counted
- 133
- Earned a year, estimated
- $65,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $630
Electronics Systems Technology
Mt. San Antonio College
Walnut
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$48,300Price if you pay yourselfLeft outSchool website, Electronics Systems Technology at Mt. San Antonio CollegeMore details about Electronics Systems Technology at Mt. San Antonio College
- Finished
- 85%
- Working at 6 months
- 35%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,072
- Length
- 18 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 131
- Earned a year, estimated
- $48,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Biomedical Equipment Technician BMET
MiraCosta Community College
Oceanside
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,000Program website, Biomedical Equipment Technician BMET at MiraCosta Community CollegeMore details about Biomedical Equipment Technician BMET at MiraCosta Community College
- Finished
- 99%
- Working at 6 months
- 88%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 19 weeks, 23 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 111
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,000
Electronics Certificate
MiraCosta Community College
Oceanside
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,950Program website, Electronics Certificate at MiraCosta Community CollegeMore details about Electronics Certificate at MiraCosta Community College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 63%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 21 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $65
- Students counted
- 42
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,950
Electronic Assembly Technician Program
MiraCosta Community College
Oceanside
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,600Price if you pay yourself$1,800Program website, Electronic Assembly Technician Program at MiraCosta Community CollegeMore details about Electronic Assembly Technician Program at MiraCosta Community College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 65%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,891
- Length
- 10 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 26
- Earned a year, estimated
- $39,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,800
Structured Cabling Technician
American Trade Academy
Carson
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$39,000Price if you pay yourself$5,20014 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Structured Cabling Technician at American Trade AcademyMore details about Structured Cabling Technician at American Trade Academy
- Finished
- 80%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,740
- Length
- 6 weeks, 29 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $750
- Students counted
- 18
- Earned a year, estimated
- $39,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,200
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 14
Basic Circuitry & Programming
Visalia Adult School
Visalia
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$500More details about Basic Circuitry & Programming at Visalia Adult School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $500
Electronics Assembler
IPC, International
Bannockburn, IL
High school diploma or equivalent
Classes are outside California; California approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$500Program website, Electronics Assembler at IPC, InternationalMore details about Electronics Assembler at IPC, International
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 6 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $75
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $500
Electronics- Industrial Automation- BC
Kern Community College District
Bakersfield
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$600School website, Electronics- Industrial Automation- BC at Kern Community College DistrictMore details about Electronics- Industrial Automation- BC at Kern Community College District
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $830
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $600
Electronics- Industrial Maintenance- BC
Kern Community College District
Bakersfield
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$700School website, Electronics- Industrial Maintenance- BC at Kern Community College DistrictMore details about Electronics- Industrial Maintenance- BC at Kern Community College District
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $550
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $700
Electronics- Manufacturing Automation- BC
Kern Community College District
Bakersfield
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,100Program website, Electronics- Manufacturing Automation- BC at Kern Community College DistrictMore details about Electronics- Manufacturing Automation- BC at Kern Community College District
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $950
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,100
Electrical/Electronics Technology Certificate of Achievement
Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,196Program website, Electrical/Electronics Technology Certificate of Achievement at Diablo Valley CollegeMore details about Electrical/Electronics Technology Certificate of Achievement at Diablo Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $971
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,196
Electronics Technology- BC
Kern Community College District
Bakersfield
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,100School website, Electronics Technology- BC at Kern Community College DistrictMore details about Electronics Technology- BC at Kern Community College District
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 48 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,300
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,100
Pole Climbing and Ladder Safety
American Trade Academy
Carson
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,625Program website, Pole Climbing and Ladder Safety at American Trade AcademyMore details about Pole Climbing and Ladder Safety at American Trade Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $350
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,625
ELECT/ELTRN: Electrical/Electronics Technology Associate in science degree
Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,760Program website, ELECT/ELTRN: Electrical/Electronics Technology Associate in science degree at Diablo Valley CollegeMore details about ELECT/ELTRN: Electrical/Electronics Technology Associate in science degree at Diablo Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,212
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,760
Fiber Optics Technician
American Trade Academy
Carson
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,100Program website, Fiber Optics Technician at American Trade AcademyMore details about Fiber Optics Technician at American Trade Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 6 weeks, 29 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $850
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,100
Cable Television Technician
American Trade Academy
Carson
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,200Program website, Cable Television Technician at American Trade AcademyMore details about Cable Television Technician at American Trade Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 6 weeks, 29 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $750
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,200
Cable Television and Satellite Technician
American Trade Academy
Carson
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,500Program website, Cable Television and Satellite Technician at American Trade AcademyMore details about Cable Television and Satellite Technician at American Trade Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 29 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,050
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,500
Advanced Telecommunications Technician 1
American Trade Academy
Carson
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$9,850Program website, Advanced Telecommunications Technician 1 at American Trade AcademyMore details about Advanced Telecommunications Technician 1 at American Trade Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 20 weeks, 29 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,650
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,850
Advanced Telecommunications Technician 2
American Trade Academy
Carson
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$11,000Program website, Advanced Telecommunications Technician 2 at American Trade AcademyMore details about Advanced Telecommunications Technician 2 at American Trade Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 26 weeks, 29 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,825
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $11,000
Advanced Telecommunications Technician 3
American Trade Academy
Carson
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$11,000Program website, Advanced Telecommunications Technician 3 at American Trade AcademyMore details about Advanced Telecommunications Technician 3 at American Trade Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 26 weeks, 29 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,825
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $11,000
Electronic System Technician (Sound Technician) Apprenticeship Program (Associated Builders & Contractors of San Diego)
ABC of San Diego, Inc.
Poway
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedMore details about Electronic System Technician (Sound Technician) Apprenticeship Program (Associated Builders & Contractors of San Diego) at ABC of San Diego, Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 108 weeks, 5 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for electronics technician training in California
WIOA funding can pay for electronics technician training in California
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for electronics technician training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for electronics technician training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Electronics technician training in California
- programs with a price cost under $1,000
- 6 of 21
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 2nd of 21
- electronics programs here, against the typical state's 6
- 23 vs 6
State comparisons use the same figures as the electronics technician training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Electronics technician training in Los Angeles, San Diego, Bakersfield and other California cities
Areas with 10 or more programs have a page of their own. Choosing another area filters the program list above.
Other training in California
How electronics technician training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in California
- CDL training104 programs
- CNA classes122 programs
- Medical assistant training185 programs
- Phlebotomy training61 programs
- Welding classes98 programs
- HVAC training45 programs
- Medical billing and coding training87 programs
- LPN programs43 programs
- EMT classes49 programs
- Electrician training39 programs
- Dental assistant programs69 programs
- Auto mechanic classes75 programs
- Pharmacy technician training78 programs
- Plumbing school10 programs
- CNC machinist training37 programs
- Carpentry classes8 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training12 programs
- Diesel mechanic training10 programs
- Cybersecurity training43 programs
- IT training167 programs
- Cosmetology school35 programs
- Barber school44 programs
- Esthetician school23 programs
- Nail tech school18 programs
- EKG technician programs21 programs
- Massage therapy school18 programs
- Paralegal programs21 programs
- Fire academy32 programs
- Police academy26 programs
- Surgical tech programs12 programs
- Radiology tech programs12 programs
- Culinary school73 programs
- Home health aide training33 programs
- PTA programs12 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training66 programs
- Human resources training38 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training30 programs
- Early childhood education programs65 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school11 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training28 programs
- Hospitality management programs17 programs
- Addiction counselor training26 programs
- Community health worker training2 programs
- Coding and software development courses69 programs
- Lineman school3 programs
- Sterile processing technician training10 programs
- Sonography school6 programs
- Data analytics courses55 programs
- Administrative assistant training77 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs2 programs
- Medical lab technician programs3 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses40 programs
- Digital marketing courses24 programs
- Web and graphic design courses83 programs
- Health information technology programs14 programs
- Vet tech programs17 programs
- Real estate school14 programs
- Security guard training40 programs
- Patient care technician training2 programs
- Crane operator training2 programs
- Interpreter and translator training14 programs
- Home inspector training5 programs
- Forklift certification7 programs
- Personal trainer certification9 programs
- Healthcare administration programs2 programs
- Customer service training3 programs
- Flight school22 programs
- MRI tech school1 program
- Cardiovascular technology programs1 program
- Mental health technician training11 programs
- Human services programs15 programs
- Manufacturing technician training20 programs
- Business administration programs89 programs
- Criminal justice programs28 programs
- Teacher assistant certification13 programs
- Auto body repair classes15 programs
- Merchant mariner training1 program
- Sleep technician training1 program
- Solar and wind technician training13 programs
- Sheet metal training7 programs
- Water treatment operator training6 programs
- OSHA safety training17 programs
- Dialysis technician training4 programs
- Optician training6 programs
- Masonry training6 programs
- Construction training programs123 programs
- Dental hygiene programs6 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes146 programs
- RN programs31 programs
- Project management certification72 programs
Where the California electronics program numbers come from
Which California electronics programs are on this list?
These are the electronics programs California approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what California offers.
How the prices and results of California electronics programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about electronics technician training in California
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List