Carpentry classes in California
8 carpentry programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
7 schools offer these carpentry programs, and California has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Carpenters build, repair and install building frameworks and structures made from wood and other materials. Most have a high school diploma and learn on the job or through an apprenticeship.1 In California, 3 of the 8 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.
See the 8 programsHow much do carpentry classes cost in California?
$906 to $3,396 is what most carpentry programs in California cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 8 programs with a price. All of them: $450 to $8,000
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Too few programs to say
- Working 6 months later
- Too few programs to say
- Earned a year, estimated
- Too few programs to say
- Length
- 12 to 40 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in California may also offer carpentry classes. How these figures are made
Carpentry classes in San Francisco, Los Angeles, San Luis Obispo and other California cities
Choosing an area filters the list below.
All 8 carpentry programs in California approved for WIOA funding
Filters
8 programs
Carpentry Trades
Charter Oak Adult Education
Covina
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$450Program website, Carpentry Trades at Charter Oak Adult EducationMore details about Carpentry Trades at Charter Oak Adult Education
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,285
- Students counted
- 154
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $450
Carpentry Pre-Apprenticeship Training Program
JobTrain
Menlo Park
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,200Price if you pay yourself$8,000Program website, Carpentry Pre-Apprenticeship Training Program at JobTrainMore details about Carpentry Pre-Apprenticeship Training Program at JobTrain
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 58%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,308
- Length
- 12 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 145
- a year, estimated
- $37,200
- price
- $8,000
Heartland Coalition Carpentry Construction Pre-Apprenticeship
Heartland Coalition
Pomona
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$33,500Price if you pay yourself$5,00079 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Heartland Coalition Carpentry Construction Pre-Apprenticeship at Heartland CoalitionMore details about Heartland Coalition Carpentry Construction Pre-Apprenticeship at Heartland Coalition
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,369
- Length
- 8 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $943
- Students counted
- 79
- a year, estimated
- $33,500
- price
- $5,000
- trained with WIOA funding
- 79
Carpentry Certificate of Accomplishment
City College of San Francisco
San Francisco
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$598More details about Carpentry Certificate of Accomplishment at City College of San Francisco
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $29
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $598
Construction Technology C.A.
Cuesta College
San Luis Obispo
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,008Program website, Construction Technology C.A. at Cuesta CollegeMore details about Construction Technology C.A. at Cuesta College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 29 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,044
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,008
Carpentry Journeyman
Santiago Canyon College
Santa Ana
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,604More details about Carpentry Journeyman at Santiago Canyon College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 10 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,500
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,604
Carpentry: Certificate of Achievement
Laney College
Oakland
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,734Program website, Carpentry: Certificate of Achievement at Laney CollegeMore details about Carpentry: Certificate of Achievement at Laney College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,688
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,734
Carpentry: A.S. Degree
Laney College
Oakland
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,861Program website, Carpentry: A.S. Degree at Laney CollegeMore details about Carpentry: A.S. Degree at Laney College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,688
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,861
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for carpentry classes in California
WIOA funding can pay for carpentry classes in California
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Paid carpentry apprenticeships
An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.6
Financial aid and grants for carpentry classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for carpentry classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Quick facts: Carpentry classes in California
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 1st of 19
- carpentry programs here, against the typical state's 5
- 8 vs 5
State comparisons use the same figures as the carpentry classes by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Carpentry apprenticeships in California
A carpentry apprenticeship sets a number of hours of classes and paid work on the job for each year. Unions and contractor associations run most programs, and apprentices learn carpentry basics, blueprint reading, math, building codes, and safety and first aid.1
You apply to the employer or the program sponsor, not through a school.6 The Department of Labor's Apprenticeship Finder lists openings by place and job. This page lists 1 carpentry apprenticeship approved for WIOA funding in California. Ask what you'll pay for the classes and what you'll earn on the job. There are also 2 pre-apprenticeships here, courses that prepare you to apply.
Where the California carpentry program numbers come from
Which California carpentry programs are on this list?
These are the carpentry programs California approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what California offers.
How California carpentry program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some carpentry programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in California
- CDL training101 programs
- CNA classes107 programs
- Medical assistant training132 programs
- Phlebotomy training59 programs
- Welding classes90 programs
- HVAC training44 programs
- Medical billing and coding training76 programs
- LPN programs27 programs
- EMT classes46 programs
- Electrician training33 programs
- Dental assistant programs68 programs
- Auto mechanic classes74 programs
- Pharmacy technician training78 programs
- Plumbing school7 programs
- CNC machinist training33 programs
Sources for the facts about carpentry classes in California
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Carpenters
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List