Home inspector training in California
5 home inspector programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
4 schools offer these home inspection programs, and California has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Home inspectors examine houses and other homes and report on their condition, from the roof and foundation to the plumbing, electrical and heating and cooling systems. Most states require a state license or certification or set rules for the work; requirements vary but may include inspection experience, liability insurance and a passed exam.1
In California, 2 of the 5 programs take students without a high school diploma and 3 ask for a diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 5 programs here are home inspector license course (2 programs), building code inspector course (2 programs) and home inspection (associate degree, 1 program).
See the 5 programsHow much does home inspector training cost in California?
$805 to $2,760 is what most home inspector programs in California cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 5 programs with a price. All of them: $695 to $2,945
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- 1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- None of the 5 programs report it
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- None of the 5 programs report it
- Length
- 32 to 52 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in California may also offer home inspector training. How these figures are made
All 5 home inspector programs in California approved for WIOA funding
Filters
5 programs
Home Inspection Certificate (GES 704)
Loyola Marymount University - LMU Extension
Based in Los Angeles, CA
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,9454 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Home Inspection Certificate (GES 704) at Loyola Marymount University - LMU ExtensionMore details about Home Inspection Certificate (GES 704) at Loyola Marymount University - LMU Extension
- Finished
- 35%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $150
- Students counted
- 20
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,945
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Home Inspection Certification Training
College of the Redwoods
Based in Eureka, CA
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$695School website, Home Inspection Certification Training at College of the RedwoodsMore details about Home Inspection Certification Training at College of the Redwoods
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 5 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $695
Building Codes & Inspections: Certificate of Proficiency
Laney College
Oakland
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$805School website, Building Codes & Inspections: Certificate of Proficiency at Laney CollegeMore details about Building Codes & Inspections: Certificate of Proficiency at Laney College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,616
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $805
Construction and Building Inspection Certificate
Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,518Program website, Construction and Building Inspection Certificate at Diablo Valley CollegeMore details about Construction and Building Inspection Certificate at Diablo Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,564
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,518
Construction: AS degree Construction & building inspection specialization
Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,760Program website, Construction: AS degree Construction & building inspection specialization at Diablo Valley CollegeMore details about Construction: AS degree Construction & building inspection specialization at Diablo Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,323
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,760
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for home inspector training in California
WIOA funding can pay for home inspector training in California
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for home inspector training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for home inspector training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Other training in California
How home inspector training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in California
- CDL training104 programs
- CNA classes122 programs
- Medical assistant training185 programs
- Phlebotomy training61 programs
- Welding classes98 programs
- HVAC training45 programs
- Medical billing and coding training87 programs
- LPN programs43 programs
- EMT classes49 programs
- Electrician training39 programs
- Dental assistant programs69 programs
- Auto mechanic classes75 programs
- Pharmacy technician training78 programs
- Plumbing school10 programs
- CNC machinist training37 programs
- Carpentry classes8 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training12 programs
- Diesel mechanic training10 programs
- Cybersecurity training43 programs
- IT training167 programs
- Cosmetology school35 programs
- Barber school44 programs
- Esthetician school23 programs
- Nail tech school18 programs
- EKG technician programs21 programs
- Massage therapy school18 programs
- Paralegal programs21 programs
- Fire academy32 programs
- Police academy26 programs
- Surgical tech programs12 programs
- Radiology tech programs12 programs
- Culinary school73 programs
- Home health aide training33 programs
- PTA programs12 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training66 programs
- Human resources training38 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training30 programs
- Early childhood education programs65 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school11 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training28 programs
- Hospitality management programs17 programs
- Addiction counselor training26 programs
- Community health worker training2 programs
- Coding and software development courses69 programs
- Lineman school3 programs
- Sterile processing technician training10 programs
- Sonography school6 programs
- Data analytics courses55 programs
- Administrative assistant training77 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs2 programs
- Medical lab technician programs3 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses40 programs
- Digital marketing courses24 programs
- Web and graphic design courses83 programs
- Health information technology programs14 programs
- Vet tech programs17 programs
- Real estate school14 programs
- Security guard training40 programs
- Patient care technician training2 programs
- Crane operator training2 programs
- Interpreter and translator training14 programs
- Forklift certification7 programs
- Personal trainer certification9 programs
- Healthcare administration programs2 programs
- Customer service training3 programs
- Flight school22 programs
- MRI tech school1 program
- Cardiovascular technology programs1 program
- Mental health technician training11 programs
- Human services programs15 programs
- Manufacturing technician training20 programs
- Electronics technician training23 programs
- Business administration programs89 programs
- Criminal justice programs28 programs
- Teacher assistant certification13 programs
- Auto body repair classes15 programs
- Merchant mariner training1 program
- Sleep technician training1 program
- Solar and wind technician training13 programs
- Sheet metal training7 programs
- Water treatment operator training6 programs
- OSHA safety training17 programs
- Dialysis technician training4 programs
- Optician training6 programs
- Masonry training6 programs
- Construction training programs123 programs
- Dental hygiene programs6 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes146 programs
- RN programs31 programs
- Project management certification72 programs
Where the California home inspection program numbers come from
Which California home inspection programs are on this list?
These are the home inspection programs California approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what California offers.
How the prices and results of California home inspection programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about home inspector training in California
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Construction and Building Inspectors
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List