Culinary school in California
73 culinary programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
40 schools offer these culinary arts programs, and California has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Chefs and head cooks run the daily food preparation in restaurants and other places that serve food. Most start with a high school diploma and kitchen experience; some go through a culinary program at a community college, technical school or culinary school, and others learn in an apprenticeship.1
In California, 38 of the 73 programs take students without a high school diploma, 18 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 17 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 73 programs here are culinary arts certificate or diploma (30 programs), cooking and kitchen job training (19 programs), baking and pastry certificate or diploma (13 programs), culinary arts (associate degree, 4 programs), and 7 more of 3 other kinds.
See the 73 programsHow much does culinary school cost in California?
- Certificates and short courses (65 programs)
- $713 to $2,328most of them, usually 11 to 36 weeks long
- Two-year degrees (7 programs)
- $2,760 to $2,810most of them, usually 64 to 66 weeks long
What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 87%
- Working 6 months later
- 76%
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Only 16 of 73 programs report it
- Length
- 14 to 48 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in California may also offer culinary school. How these figures are made
All 73 culinary programs in California approved for WIOA funding
Filters
73 programs
Advanced Culinary Arts Certificate of Achievement
Saddleback College
Mission Viejo
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,978School website, Advanced Culinary Arts Certificate of Achievement at Saddleback CollegeMore details about Advanced Culinary Arts Certificate of Achievement at Saddleback College
- Finished
- 35%
- Working at 6 months
- 85%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 104 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,819
- Students counted
- 2,272
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,978
Culinary Arts Diploma
Institute of Technology
Clovis
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$46,400Price if you pay yourself$19,68020 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Culinary Arts Diploma at Institute of TechnologyMore details about Culinary Arts Diploma at Institute of Technology
- Finished
- 68%
- Working at 6 months
- 82%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,588
- Length
- 40 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,434
- Students counted
- 468
- Earned a year, estimated
- $46,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $19,680
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 20
Culinary Specialist
Los Angeles Mission College
Sylmar
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$690Program website, Culinary Specialist at Los Angeles Mission CollegeMore details about Culinary Specialist at Los Angeles Mission College
- Finished
- 45%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,877
- Students counted
- 394
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $690
Culinary Art-Chef Assistant
Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSD
Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$50,500Price if you pay yourself$1,96027 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Culinary Art-Chef Assistant at Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSDMore details about Culinary Art-Chef Assistant at Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 67%
- Working at 6 months
- 42%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,618
- Length
- 19 weeks, 29 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,749
- Students counted
- 297
- Earned a year, estimated
- $50,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,960
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 27
Culinary Arts: Chef Assistant
Richard N. Slawson Occupational Center - LAUSD
Los Angeles
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$35,300Price if you pay yourself$1,925Program website, Culinary Arts: Chef Assistant at Richard N. Slawson Occupational Center - LAUSDMore details about Culinary Arts: Chef Assistant at Richard N. Slawson Occupational Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,830
- Length
- 20 weeks, 26 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,493
- Students counted
- 192
- Earned a year, estimated
- $35,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,925
Culinary Arts, Hospitality Management - CAHM AS Degree
Cabrillo College
Aptos
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,092School website, Culinary Arts, Hospitality Management - CAHM AS Degree at Cabrillo CollegeMore details about Culinary Arts, Hospitality Management - CAHM AS Degree at Cabrillo College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 68 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,523
- Students counted
- 175
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,092
Baking and Pastry Specialist
Institute of Technology
Clovis
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$47,400Price if you pay yourself$18,9768 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Baking and Pastry Specialist at Institute of TechnologyMore details about Baking and Pastry Specialist at Institute of Technology
- Finished
- 69%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,850
- Length
- 40 weeks, 23 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,395
- Students counted
- 172
- Earned a year, estimated
- $47,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $18,976
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 8
Pastry and Baking Art
Rtc College
Jurupa Valley
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$74,000Price if you pay yourself$4,900Program website, Pastry and Baking Art at Rtc CollegeMore details about Pastry and Baking Art at Rtc College
- Finished
- 71%
- Working at 6 months
- 28%
- Earned in a quarter
- $18,500
- Length
- 10 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 122
- Earned a year, estimated
- $74,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,900
Professional Sushi Chef Course I and II
Sushi Chef Institute
Torrance
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,9003 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Professional Sushi Chef Course I and II at Sushi Chef Institute
- Finished
- 95%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,600
- Students counted
- 113
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,900
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Culinary Arts-Certificate of Achievement
Woodland Community College
Woodland
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,270Program website, Culinary Arts-Certificate of Achievement at Woodland Community CollegeMore details about Culinary Arts-Certificate of Achievement at Woodland Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $960
- Students counted
- 112
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,270
Culinary Arts-AA Degree
Woodland Community College
Woodland
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,760Program website, Culinary Arts-AA Degree at Woodland Community CollegeMore details about Culinary Arts-AA Degree at Woodland Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 144 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,300
- Students counted
- 112
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,760
Chef Assistant/Baker
Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSD
Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$56,500Price if you pay yourself$1,890Program website, Chef Assistant/Baker at Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSDMore details about Chef Assistant/Baker at Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 58%
- Working at 6 months
- 36%
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,134
- Length
- 18 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,530
- Students counted
- 99
- Earned a year, estimated
- $56,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,890
Culinary Arts: Baking and Catering
West Valley Occupational Center - LAUSD
Woodland Hills
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$56,500Price if you pay yourself$1,260Program website, Culinary Arts: Baking and Catering at West Valley Occupational Center - LAUSDMore details about Culinary Arts: Baking and Catering at West Valley Occupational Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- 23%
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,134
- Length
- 20 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,501
- Students counted
- 83
- Earned a year, estimated
- $56,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,260
Culinary Arts
JobTrain
Menlo Park
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$15,000Price if you pay yourself$8,000Program website, Culinary Arts at JobTrainMore details about Culinary Arts at JobTrain
- Finished
- 88%
- Working at 6 months
- 37%
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,754
- Length
- 11 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 77
- Earned a year, estimated
- $15,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,000
Intermediate Basic Culinary Skills: Skills Certificate
Napa Valley College
Napa
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$506Program website, Intermediate Basic Culinary Skills: Skills Certificate at Napa Valley CollegeMore details about Intermediate Basic Culinary Skills: Skills Certificate at Napa Valley College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $594
- Students counted
- 75
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $506
Food Service & Hospitality
Baldwin Park Adult and Community Education
Baldwin Park
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reported15 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Food Service & Hospitality at Baldwin Park Adult and Community Education
- Finished
- 65%
- Working at 6 months
- 76%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 29 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 71
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 15
Chef's Training Certificate of Achievement
Cerritos College
Norwalk
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,295School website, Chef's Training Certificate of Achievement at Cerritos CollegeMore details about Chef's Training Certificate of Achievement at Cerritos College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 72 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $842
- Students counted
- 60
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,295
Salvation Army Culinary Program
Napa Valley Adult Education
Napa
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$21,300Price if you pay yourselfNot reported16 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Salvation Army Culinary Program at Napa Valley Adult EducationMore details about Salvation Army Culinary Program at Napa Valley Adult Education
- Finished
- 89%
- Working at 6 months
- 72%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,325
- Length
- 14 weeks, 28 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 56
- Earned a year, estimated
- $21,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 16
Chef Apprentice
West Hills College Lemoore
Lemoore
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,748Program website, Chef Apprentice at West Hills College LemooreMore details about Chef Apprentice at West Hills College Lemoore
- Finished
- 83%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 33 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,700
- Students counted
- 48
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,748
Pastry and Baking Arts
West Hills College Lemoore
Lemoore
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$828Program website, Pastry and Baking Arts at West Hills College LemooreMore details about Pastry and Baking Arts at West Hills College Lemoore
- Finished
- 37%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,500
- Students counted
- 45
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $828
Cake Decoration - Level 1
Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult Education
Watsonville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$100Program website, Cake Decoration - Level 1 at Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult EducationMore details about Cake Decoration - Level 1 at Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult Education
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 41
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $100
Sustainable Culinary Arts - Certificate of Achievement
Monterey Peninsula College
Monterey
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,0544 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Sustainable Culinary Arts - Certificate of Achievement at Monterey Peninsula CollegeMore details about Sustainable Culinary Arts - Certificate of Achievement at Monterey Peninsula College
- Finished
- 25%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $986
- Students counted
- 40
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,054
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Professional Baking and Pastry Certificate of Achievement
Cerritos College
Norwalk
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,500School website, Professional Baking and Pastry Certificate of Achievement at Cerritos CollegeMore details about Professional Baking and Pastry Certificate of Achievement at Cerritos College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 54 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,500
- Students counted
- 38
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,500
Cake Decoration - Level 3
Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult Education
Watsonville
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$100Program website, Cake Decoration - Level 3 at Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult EducationMore details about Cake Decoration - Level 3 at Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult Education
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 37
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $100
Culinary Arts Academy
Hacienda La Puente Adult Education
La Puente
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$34,500Price if you pay yourself$2,360School website, Culinary Arts Academy at Hacienda La Puente Adult EducationMore details about Culinary Arts Academy at Hacienda La Puente Adult Education
- Finished
- 92%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,621
- Length
- 35 weeks, 31 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,475
- Students counted
- 37
- Earned a year, estimated
- $34,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,360
Cake Decoration - Level 2
Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult Education
Watsonville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$100Program website, Cake Decoration - Level 2 at Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult EducationMore details about Cake Decoration - Level 2 at Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult Education
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 33
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $100
Culinary Arts
Tulare Adult School
Tulare
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$54,200Price if you pay yourself$485Program website, Culinary Arts at Tulare Adult SchoolMore details about Culinary Arts at Tulare Adult School
- Finished
- 24%
- Working at 6 months
- 27%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,547
- Length
- 36 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $965
- Students counted
- 33
- Earned a year, estimated
- $54,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $485
Cake Decoration - Level 4
Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult Education
Watsonville
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$100Program website, Cake Decoration - Level 4 at Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult EducationMore details about Cake Decoration - Level 4 at Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult Education
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 32
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $100
LTCC Culinary Boot Camp
ADVANCE at Lake Tahoe Community College
South Lake Tahoe
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$400More details about LTCC Culinary Boot Camp at ADVANCE at Lake Tahoe Community College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- 32
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $400
Introductory Basic Culinary Skills: Skills Certificate
Napa Valley College
Napa
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$230Program website, Introductory Basic Culinary Skills: Skills Certificate at Napa Valley CollegeMore details about Introductory Basic Culinary Skills: Skills Certificate at Napa Valley College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $394
- Students counted
- 30
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $230
Culinary Arts and Restaurant Management
University of Antelope Valley
Lancaster
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$14,568Program website, Culinary Arts and Restaurant Management at University of Antelope ValleyMore details about Culinary Arts and Restaurant Management at University of Antelope Valley
- Finished
- 57%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 35 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,303
- Students counted
- 29
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $14,568
Cake Decoration - Level 5
Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult Education
Watsonville
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$100Program website, Cake Decoration - Level 5 at Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult EducationMore details about Cake Decoration - Level 5 at Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult Education
- Finished
- 85%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 26
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $100
Cake Decoration - Level 6
Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult Education
Watsonville
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$100Program website, Cake Decoration - Level 6 at Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult EducationMore details about Cake Decoration - Level 6 at Watsonville/Aptos/Santa Cruz Adult Education
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 5 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 22
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $100
Introduction to Culinary Arts
West Hills College Lemoore
Lemoore
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$96,000Price if you pay yourself$782Program website, Introduction to Culinary Arts at West Hills College LemooreMore details about Introduction to Culinary Arts at West Hills College Lemoore
- Finished
- 68%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $24,000
- Length
- 36 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,800
- Students counted
- 22
- Earned a year, estimated
- $96,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $782
Culinary Essentials
Merced County Office of Education
Merced
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$22,100Price if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Culinary Essentials at Merced County Office of EducationMore details about Culinary Essentials at Merced County Office of Education
- Finished
- 75%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,525
- Length
- 18 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 16
- Earned a year, estimated
- $22,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
Culinary Arts Certificate Program
Los Angeles Hospitality Education Center
Inglewood
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$33,300Price if you pay yourself$10,000Program website, Culinary Arts Certificate Program at Los Angeles Hospitality Education CenterMore details about Culinary Arts Certificate Program at Los Angeles Hospitality Education Center
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,320
- Length
- 26 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,143
- Students counted
- 14
- Earned a year, estimated
- $33,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,000
Culinary Arts, Hospitality Management - CAHM Certificate of Achievement
Cabrillo College
Aptos
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,905School website, Culinary Arts, Hospitality Management - CAHM Certificate of Achievement at Cabrillo CollegeMore details about Culinary Arts, Hospitality Management - CAHM Certificate of Achievement at Cabrillo College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 51 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,993
- Students counted
- 12
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,905
Culinary Arts, Hospitality Management - Entry Level Cook Certificate of Achievement
Cabrillo College
Aptos
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$902School website, Culinary Arts, Hospitality Management - Entry Level Cook Certificate of Achievement at Cabrillo CollegeMore details about Culinary Arts, Hospitality Management - Entry Level Cook Certificate of Achievement at Cabrillo College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 34 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,461
- Students counted
- 11
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $902
Culinary Skills Training
Self Help for the Elderly
San Francisco
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$35,300Price if you pay yourself$3,00011 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Culinary Skills Training at Self Help for the Elderly
- Finished
- 85%
- Working at 6 months
- 77%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,834
- Length
- 6 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,300
- Students counted
- 11
- Earned a year, estimated
- $35,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 11
HTA Line Cook/Chef de Partie Apprenticeship Program
Hospitality Training Academy (HTA) JATC
Los Angeles
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$36,500Price if you pay yourself$5,350More details about HTA Line Cook/Chef de Partie Apprenticeship Program at Hospitality Training Academy (HTA) JATC
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,124
- Length
- 8 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $500
- Students counted
- 10
- Earned a year, estimated
- $36,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,350
Single course: CULIN 203 Introduction to Baking
Laney College
Oakland
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$184School website, Single course: CULIN 203 Introduction to Baking at Laney CollegeMore details about Single course: CULIN 203 Introduction to Baking at Laney College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 2 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $60
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $184
Culinary Arts, CS
Cuesta College
San Luis Obispo
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$495Program website, Culinary Arts, CS at Cuesta CollegeMore details about Culinary Arts, CS at Cuesta College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 36 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,177
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $495
CULN: Baking and Pastry Certificate of Accomplishment
Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$552Program website, CULN: Baking and Pastry Certificate of Accomplishment at Diablo Valley CollegeMore details about CULN: Baking and Pastry Certificate of Accomplishment at Diablo Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,270
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $552
Certificate of Proficiency: Cooking
Laney College
Oakland
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$736Program website, Certificate of Proficiency: Cooking at Laney CollegeMore details about Certificate of Proficiency: Cooking at Laney College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $866
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $736
Cert. of Accomplishment Culinary Arts: Basic Food Service
Contra Costa College
San Pablo
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$782School website, Cert. of Accomplishment Culinary Arts: Basic Food Service at Contra Costa CollegeMore details about Cert. of Accomplishment Culinary Arts: Basic Food Service at Contra Costa College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $377
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $782
Professional Cooking, Entry Level
College of the Redwoods
Eureka
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$795Program website, Professional Cooking, Entry Level at College of the RedwoodsMore details about Professional Cooking, Entry Level at College of the Redwoods
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $795
Culinary Arts, Hospitality Management - Entry Level Baking Certificate of Achievement
Cabrillo College
Aptos
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$985School website, Culinary Arts, Hospitality Management - Entry Level Baking Certificate of Achievement at Cabrillo CollegeMore details about Culinary Arts, Hospitality Management - Entry Level Baking Certificate of Achievement at Cabrillo College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 37 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,992
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $985
Culinary Arts-Advanced Certificate of Achievement
Napa Valley College
Napa
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,400Program website, Culinary Arts-Advanced Certificate of Achievement at Napa Valley CollegeMore details about Culinary Arts-Advanced Certificate of Achievement at Napa Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,196
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,400
Culinary Arts- BC
Kern Community College District
Bakersfield
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,500School website, Culinary Arts- BC at Kern Community College DistrictMore details about Culinary Arts- BC at Kern Community College District
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 48 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,350
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,500
CULN: Baking and Pastry Certificate of Achievement
Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,518Program website, CULN: Baking and Pastry Certificate of Achievement at Diablo Valley CollegeMore details about CULN: Baking and Pastry Certificate of Achievement at Diablo Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 48 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,112
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,518
Culinary Arts and Hospitality Certificate of Achievement
City College of San Francisco
San Francisco
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,550More details about Culinary Arts and Hospitality Certificate of Achievement at City College of San Francisco
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 54 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,550
CULN: Culinary Arts Certificate of Achievement
Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,564Program website, CULN: Culinary Arts Certificate of Achievement at Diablo Valley CollegeMore details about CULN: Culinary Arts Certificate of Achievement at Diablo Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 48 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,344
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,564
Cert. of Achievement Culinary Arts: Classical/Modern Food Preparation & Restaurant Training
Contra Costa College
San Pablo
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,702School website, Cert. of Achievement Culinary Arts: Classical/Modern Food Preparation & Restaurant Training at Contra Costa CollegeMore details about Cert. of Achievement Culinary Arts: Classical/Modern Food Preparation & Restaurant Training at Contra Costa College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $561
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,702
Baking and Pastry, Certificate of Achievement Program
Laney College
Oakland
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,024Program website, Baking and Pastry, Certificate of Achievement Program at Laney CollegeMore details about Baking and Pastry, Certificate of Achievement Program at Laney College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,400
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,024
Culinary Arts: Baking and Pastry, Certificate of Achievement
Laney College
Oakland
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,125Program website, Culinary Arts: Baking and Pastry, Certificate of Achievement at Laney CollegeMore details about Culinary Arts: Baking and Pastry, Certificate of Achievement at Laney College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,400
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,125
Culinary Arts
Kern High School District-Rop
Bakersfield
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,200School website, Culinary Arts at Kern High School District-RopMore details about Culinary Arts at Kern High School District-Rop
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 41 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,200
Cert. of Achievement Culinary Arts: Training in Pastry and Baking Skills
Contra Costa College
San Pablo
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,208School website, Cert. of Achievement Culinary Arts: Training in Pastry and Baking Skills at Contra Costa CollegeMore details about Cert. of Achievement Culinary Arts: Training in Pastry and Baking Skills at Contra Costa College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $743
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,208
Culinary Arts Preparation Training
Cerritos College
Norwalk
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,600Program website, Culinary Arts Preparation Training at Cerritos CollegeMore details about Culinary Arts Preparation Training at Cerritos College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 6 weeks, 21 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,600
AS Degree Culinary Arts: Classical/Modern Food Prep & Restaurant Training
Contra Costa College
San Pablo
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,760School website, AS Degree Culinary Arts: Classical/Modern Food Prep & Restaurant Training at Contra Costa CollegeMore details about AS Degree Culinary Arts: Classical/Modern Food Prep & Restaurant Training at Contra Costa College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $686
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,760
AS Degree Culinary Arts: Training in Pastry & Baking Skills
Contra Costa College
San Pablo
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,760School website, AS Degree Culinary Arts: Training in Pastry & Baking Skills at Contra Costa CollegeMore details about AS Degree Culinary Arts: Training in Pastry & Baking Skills at Contra Costa College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,135
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,760
CULN: Hospitality Studies -AS degree in Culinary Arts
Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,760Program website, CULN: Hospitality Studies -AS degree in Culinary Arts at Diablo Valley CollegeMore details about CULN: Hospitality Studies -AS degree in Culinary Arts at Diablo Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,312
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,760
CULN: Hospitality Studies- Baking and Pastry - Associate in Science degree
Diablo Valley College
Pleasant Hill
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,760Program website, CULN: Hospitality Studies- Baking and Pastry - Associate in Science degree at Diablo Valley CollegeMore details about CULN: Hospitality Studies- Baking and Pastry - Associate in Science degree at Diablo Valley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,617
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,760
Culinary Arts: Baking and Pastry, Associate in Sciences
Laney College
Oakland
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,861Program website, Culinary Arts: Baking and Pastry, Associate in Sciences at Laney CollegeMore details about Culinary Arts: Baking and Pastry, Associate in Sciences at Laney College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,688
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,861
Culinary Cook / Chef
Los Angeles Trade Technical College
Los Angeles
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,477School website, Culinary Cook / Chef at Los Angeles Trade Technical CollegeMore details about Culinary Cook / Chef at Los Angeles Trade Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $80
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,477
General Cooking Occupations
Central Valley Opportunity Center
Winton
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,250Program website, General Cooking Occupations at Central Valley Opportunity CenterMore details about General Cooking Occupations at Central Valley Opportunity Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $341
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,250
Culinary Arts Management - Sous Chef
United Youth of America, Inc
Los Angeles
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,050Program website, Culinary Arts Management - Sous Chef at United Youth of America, IncMore details about Culinary Arts Management - Sous Chef at United Youth of America, Inc
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 99 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,650
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,050
05244 - Culinary Apprenticeship Program for Under served Populations
05244 - Culinary Apprenticeship Program for Under served Pop
Sacramento
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedMore details about 05244 - Culinary Apprenticeship Program for Under served Populations at 05244 - Culinary Apprenticeship Program for Under served Pop
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Left out
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
Baking and Pastry Certificate of Completion
City College of San Francisco
San Francisco
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedMore details about Baking and Pastry Certificate of Completion at City College of San Francisco
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
Chef Ann Foundation: Healthy School Food Pathway
Chef Ann Foundation
Boulder, CO
Education and courses
Classes are outside California; California approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Chef Ann Foundation: Healthy School Food Pathway at Chef Ann FoundationMore details about Chef Ann Foundation: Healthy School Food Pathway at Chef Ann Foundation
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 28 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
Culinary Arts Basic Training Certificate of Completion
City College of San Francisco
San Francisco
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedMore details about Culinary Arts Basic Training Certificate of Completion at City College of San Francisco
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 9 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
Culinary Arts, Advanced
Kern High School District-BAS
Bakersfield
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Culinary Arts, Advanced at Kern High School District-BASMore details about Culinary Arts, Advanced at Kern High School District-BAS
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 9 weeks, 28 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Culinary Arts, Beginning
Kern High School District-BAS
Bakersfield
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfLeft outProgram website, Culinary Arts, Beginning at Kern High School District-BASMore details about Culinary Arts, Beginning at Kern High School District-BAS
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 10 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Left out
Kitchen Techniques for New Culinarians Certificate of Completion (NC)- BC
Kern Community College District
Bakersfield
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Kitchen Techniques for New Culinarians Certificate of Completion (NC)- BC at Kern Community College DistrictMore details about Kitchen Techniques for New Culinarians Certificate of Completion (NC)- BC at Kern Community College District
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 36 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for culinary school in California
WIOA funding can pay for culinary school in California
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for culinary school
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for culinary school
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Culinary school in California
- programs with a price cost under $1,000
- 21 of 63
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 2nd of 28
- culinary programs of any state: no state has more than California
- Most
State comparisons use the same figures as the culinary school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Culinary school in San Francisco, Los Angeles, Santa Cruz and other California cities
Areas with 10 or more programs have a page of their own. Choosing another area filters the program list above. 14 more programs are in 10 other areas.
Other training in California
How culinary school compares with the rest of food and hospitality: Culinary and hospitality programs in California
- CDL training104 programs
- CNA classes122 programs
- Medical assistant training185 programs
- Phlebotomy training61 programs
- Welding classes98 programs
- HVAC training45 programs
- Medical billing and coding training87 programs
- LPN programs43 programs
- EMT classes49 programs
- Electrician training39 programs
- Dental assistant programs69 programs
- Auto mechanic classes75 programs
- Pharmacy technician training78 programs
- Plumbing school10 programs
- CNC machinist training37 programs
- Carpentry classes8 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training12 programs
- Diesel mechanic training10 programs
- Cybersecurity training43 programs
- IT training167 programs
- Cosmetology school35 programs
- Barber school44 programs
- Esthetician school23 programs
- Nail tech school18 programs
- EKG technician programs21 programs
- Massage therapy school18 programs
- Paralegal programs21 programs
- Fire academy32 programs
- Police academy26 programs
- Surgical tech programs12 programs
- Radiology tech programs12 programs
- Home health aide training33 programs
- PTA programs12 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training66 programs
- Human resources training38 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training30 programs
- Early childhood education programs65 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school11 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training28 programs
- Hospitality management programs17 programs
- Addiction counselor training26 programs
- Community health worker training2 programs
- Coding and software development courses69 programs
- Lineman school3 programs
- Sterile processing technician training10 programs
- Sonography school6 programs
- Data analytics courses55 programs
- Administrative assistant training77 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs2 programs
- Medical lab technician programs3 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses40 programs
- Digital marketing courses24 programs
- Web and graphic design courses83 programs
- Health information technology programs14 programs
- Vet tech programs17 programs
- Real estate school14 programs
- Security guard training40 programs
- Patient care technician training2 programs
- Crane operator training2 programs
- Interpreter and translator training14 programs
- Home inspector training5 programs
- Forklift certification7 programs
- Personal trainer certification9 programs
- Healthcare administration programs2 programs
- Customer service training3 programs
- Flight school22 programs
- MRI tech school1 program
- Cardiovascular technology programs1 program
- Mental health technician training11 programs
- Human services programs15 programs
- Manufacturing technician training20 programs
- Electronics technician training23 programs
- Business administration programs89 programs
- Criminal justice programs28 programs
- Teacher assistant certification13 programs
- Auto body repair classes15 programs
- Merchant mariner training1 program
- Sleep technician training1 program
- Solar and wind technician training13 programs
- Sheet metal training7 programs
- Water treatment operator training6 programs
- OSHA safety training17 programs
- Dialysis technician training4 programs
- Optician training6 programs
- Masonry training6 programs
- Construction training programs123 programs
- Dental hygiene programs6 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes146 programs
- RN programs31 programs
- Project management certification72 programs
Where the California culinary arts program numbers come from
Which California culinary arts programs are on this list?
These are the culinary arts programs California approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what California offers.
How the prices and results of California culinary arts programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about culinary school in California
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Chefs and Head Cooks
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List