Medical billing and coding training in Vermont
9 medical billing and coding programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
6 schools offer these medical billing and coding programs, and Vermont has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 4 of these 9 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.
Medical records specialists keep patient files and may classify patients' medical information into the numerical coding system the healthcare industry uses. Most start with a postsecondary certificate, some need an associate's degree, and certification may be required or preferred.1
In Vermont, 1 of the 9 programs takes students without a high school diploma and 8 ask for a diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 9 programs here are billing and coding (4 programs), medical coding (3 programs), medical billing (1 program) and medical office with billing (1 program).
See the 9 programsHow much does medical billing and coding training cost in Vermont?
$3,370 to $4,250 is what most medical billing and coding programs in Vermont cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 8 programs with a price. All of them: $2,000 to $6,750
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 79%
- Working 6 months later
- 72%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $36,000
- Length
- Not enough data
- 1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Vermont may also offer medical billing and coding training. How these figures are made
All 9 medical billing and coding programs in Vermont approved for WIOA funding
Filters
9 programs
HI-1100: Medical Billing Specialist
MedCerts
Based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,000Price if you pay yourself$2,000Program website, HI-1100: Medical Billing Specialist at MedCertsMore details about HI-1100: Medical Billing Specialist at MedCerts
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- 59%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,000
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 1,922
- Earned a year, estimated
- $36,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,000
HI-5100: Professional Coder
MedCerts
Based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$40,800Price if you pay yourself$3,500Program website, HI-5100: Professional Coder at MedCertsMore details about HI-5100: Professional Coder at MedCerts
- Finished
- 79%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,200
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 864
- Earned a year, estimated
- $40,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,500
HI-5000 Medical Coding and Billing Professional
MedCerts
Based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$34,600Price if you pay yourself$4,0003 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, HI-5000 Medical Coding and Billing Professional at MedCertsMore details about HI-5000 Medical Coding and Billing Professional at MedCerts
- Finished
- 96%
- Working at 6 months
- 63%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,640
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 644
- Earned a year, estimated
- $34,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
HI-4000 Electronic Health Records & Reimbursement Specialist
MedCerts
Based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,000Price if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, HI-4000 Electronic Health Records & Reimbursement Specialist at MedCertsMore details about HI-4000 Electronic Health Records & Reimbursement Specialist at MedCerts
- Finished
- 81%
- Working at 6 months
- 60%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,000
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 398
- Earned a year, estimated
- $36,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,000
Professional Medical Coding Curriculum
Coding Clarified LLC
Based in Dalton Gardens, ID
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$33,600Price if you pay yourself$4,999Program website, Professional Medical Coding Curriculum at Coding Clarified LLCMore details about Professional Medical Coding Curriculum at Coding Clarified LLC
- Finished
- 79%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,400
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $900
- Students counted
- 203
- Earned a year, estimated
- $33,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,999
Medical Billing and Coding Training and Exam Preparation
iCode Academy Inc.
Based in Atlanta, GA
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,750Program website, Medical Billing and Coding Training and Exam Preparation at iCode Academy Inc.More details about Medical Billing and Coding Training and Exam Preparation at iCode Academy Inc.
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $825
- Students counted
- 72
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,750
Medical Billing and Coding
Blackstone Career Institute
Based in Allentown, PA
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$51,700Price if you pay yourself$2,995Program website, Medical Billing and Coding at Blackstone Career InstituteMore details about Medical Billing and Coding at Blackstone Career Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,915
- Length
- 52 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 32
- Earned a year, estimated
- $51,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,995
Medical Billing & Coding
Community College of Vermont
Montpelier
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$33,400Price if you pay yourselfNot reported15 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Medical Billing & Coding at Community College of VermontMore details about Medical Billing & Coding at Community College of Vermont
- Finished
- 50%
- Working at 6 months
- 60%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,343
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 15
- Earned a year, estimated
- $33,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 15
Professional Medical Coder Program Status
Academy of World Education
Based in Arlington, TX
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,495Program website, Professional Medical Coder Program Status at Academy of World EducationMore details about Professional Medical Coder Program Status at Academy of World Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $232
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,495
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for medical billing and coding training in Vermont
WIOA funding can pay for medical billing and coding training in Vermont
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for medical billing and coding training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for medical billing and coding training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Medical billing and coding training in Vermont
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 24th of 45
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 22 of 24
- medical billing and coding programs here, against the typical state's 16
- 9 vs 16
State comparisons use the same figures as the medical billing and coding training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Other training in Vermont
How medical billing and coding training compares with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in Vermont
- CDL training8 programs
- CNA classes3 programs
- Medical assistant training7 programs
- Phlebotomy training3 programs
- Welding classes3 programs
- Dental assistant programs2 programs
- Auto mechanic classes2 programs
- Pharmacy technician training5 programs
- Carpentry classes2 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training1 program
- Cybersecurity training8 programs
- IT training25 programs
- Cosmetology school2 programs
- Barber school1 program
- Esthetician school1 program
- Nail tech school1 program
- EKG technician programs1 program
- Paralegal programs2 programs
- Fire academy1 program
- Surgical tech programs2 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training4 programs
- Human resources training1 program
- Industrial maintenance technician training1 program
- Early childhood education programs3 programs
- Coding and software development courses6 programs
- Lineman school1 program
- Sterile processing technician training1 program
- Data analytics courses9 programs
- Administrative assistant training3 programs
- Medical lab technician programs1 program
- AutoCAD and drafting courses2 programs
- Digital marketing courses3 programs
- Web and graphic design courses3 programs
- Health information technology programs1 program
- Vet tech programs2 programs
- Patient care technician training1 program
- Personal trainer certification1 program
- Customer service training1 program
- RBT certification training2 programs
- Mental health technician training2 programs
- Human services programs1 program
- Manufacturing technician training3 programs
- Electronics technician training1 program
- Business administration programs2 programs
- Construction training programs1 program
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes1 program
- Project management certification2 programs
Where the Vermont medical billing and coding program numbers come from
Which Vermont medical billing and coding programs are on this list?
These are the medical billing and coding programs Vermont approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Vermont offers.
How the prices and results of Vermont medical billing and coding programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about medical billing and coding training in Vermont
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Records Specialists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List