Barber school in Vermont
1 barber program with costs, results and funding that can make it free
One school offers this barber program, and Vermont has approved it for workforce funding. It shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Barbers shampoo, cut and style hair, mostly for men. Every state requires barbers to be licensed: you finish a state-approved program and then pass a state licensing exam.1 In Vermont, the one program asks for a diploma or other schooling first.
See the programHow much does barber school cost in Vermont?
$16,350
is what this program costs if you pay yourself
This program
- Finished the program
- 63%
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Vermont may also offer barber school. How these figures are made
The one barber program in Vermont approved for WIOA funding
Filters
1 program
Barbering
O'Brien's Aveda Institute
Williston
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$16,350Program website, Barbering at O'Brien's Aveda InstituteMore details about Barbering at O'Brien's Aveda Institute
- Finished
- 63%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $3,400
- Students counted
- 12
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $16,350
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for barber school in Vermont
WIOA funding can pay for barber school in Vermont
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for barber school
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for barber school
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the Vermont barber program numbers come from
Which Vermont barber programs are on this list?
These are the barber programs Vermont approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Vermont offers.
How the prices and results of Vermont barber programs are measured
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Other training in Vermont
- CDL training7 programs
- CNA classes4 programs
- Medical assistant training7 programs
- Phlebotomy training2 programs
- Welding classes3 programs
- Medical billing and coding training9 programs
- Dental assistant programs2 programs
- Auto mechanic classes2 programs
- Pharmacy technician training5 programs
- Carpentry classes1 program
- Cybersecurity training5 programs
- IT training9 programs
- Cosmetology school2 programs
- Esthetician school1 program
- Nail tech school1 program
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes1 program
- Project management certification2 programs
Sources for the facts about barber school in Vermont
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List