Welding classes in South Carolina
11 welding programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
6 schools offer these welding programs, and South Carolina has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Welders join and cut metal parts with hand-held or remotely controlled equipment. Most have a high school diploma plus technical training, and some employers ask for a certification for particular jobs.1
In South Carolina, 5 of the 11 programs take students without a high school diploma, 4 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 2 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 11 programs here are general welding (6 programs), pipe welding (2 programs), structural welding (1 program), single welding process (1 program), and 1 more of one other kind.
See the 11 programsHow much do welding classes cost in South Carolina?
$5,000 to $6,750 is what most welding programs in South Carolina cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 11 programs with a price. All of them: $2,100 to $20,300
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 79%
- Working 6 months later
- 79%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $34,100
- Length
- 6 to 12 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in South Carolina may also offer welding classes. How these figures are made
All 11 welding programs in South Carolina approved for WIOA funding
Filters
11 programs
900 Hour Advanced Welding
Arclabs Welding School
Piedmont
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$35,400Price if you pay yourself$20,3008 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, 900 Hour Advanced Welding at Arclabs Welding SchoolMore details about 900 Hour Advanced Welding at Arclabs Welding School
- Finished
- 71%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,849
- Length
- 26 weeks, 38 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,375
- Students counted
- 1,216
- Earned a year, estimated
- $35,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $20,300
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 8
Wld-101 Plate Welding
Norris Mechanical, Llc
Anderson
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$35,000Price if you pay yourself$5,00050 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Wld-101 Plate Welding at Norris Mechanical, LlcMore details about Wld-101 Plate Welding at Norris Mechanical, Llc
- Finished
- 79%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,752
- Length
- 6 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $941
- Students counted
- 123
- Earned a year, estimated
- $35,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 50
Wld-102 Pipe Welding
Norris Mechanical, Llc
Anderson
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$35,800Price if you pay yourself$5,00027 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Wld-102 Pipe Welding at Norris Mechanical, LlcMore details about Wld-102 Pipe Welding at Norris Mechanical, Llc
- Finished
- 81%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,945
- Length
- 6 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $941
- Students counted
- 69
- Earned a year, estimated
- $35,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 27
Welding I
Carolina Welding Training Institute
Andrews
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$26,000Price if you pay yourself$4,67524 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Welding I at Carolina Welding Training InstituteMore details about Welding I at Carolina Welding Training Institute
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- 82%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,489
- Length
- 20 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $320
- Students counted
- 60
- Earned a year, estimated
- $26,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,675
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 24
Nccer Welding Technology Program
Palmetto Training Inc
Walterboro
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$29,600Price if you pay yourself$5,00039 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Nccer Welding Technology Program at Palmetto Training IncMore details about Nccer Welding Technology Program at Palmetto Training Inc
- Finished
- 95%
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,395
- Length
- 12 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $500
- Students counted
- 47
- Earned a year, estimated
- $29,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 39
Production MIG Welding
Florence-Darlington Technical College
Florence
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,1006 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Production MIG Welding at Florence-Darlington Technical CollegeMore details about Production MIG Welding at Florence-Darlington Technical College
- Finished
- 38%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 41
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,100
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 6
280 Hour Specific Process Welding
Arclabs Welding School
Piedmont
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,600Price if you pay yourself$5,880Program website, 280 Hour Specific Process Welding at Arclabs Welding SchoolMore details about 280 Hour Specific Process Welding at Arclabs Welding School
- Finished
- 74%
- Working at 6 months
- 92%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,398
- Length
- 7 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $700
- Students counted
- 24
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,880
280 Hour Specific Process Welding with OSHA 10
Arclabs Welding School
Piedmont
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$33,200Price if you pay yourself$5,880Program website, 280 Hour Specific Process Welding with OSHA 10 at Arclabs Welding SchoolMore details about 280 Hour Specific Process Welding with OSHA 10 at Arclabs Welding School
- Finished
- 62%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,294
- Length
- 7 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $875
- Students counted
- 13
- Earned a year, estimated
- $33,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,880
Wld-101 Fabrication Welding Course
Norris Mechanical, Llc
Anderson
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$30,900Price if you pay yourself$7,0003 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Wld-101 Fabrication Welding Course at Norris Mechanical, LlcMore details about Wld-101 Fabrication Welding Course at Norris Mechanical, Llc
- Finished
- 89%
- Working at 6 months
- 77%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,725
- Length
- 10 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,400
- Students counted
- 10
- Earned a year, estimated
- $30,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Course #101 Combo Pipe Welder SMAW/GTAW/GMAW
South Carolina School Of Welding, Llc
Beech Island
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,500Program website, Course #101 Combo Pipe Welder SMAW/GTAW/GMAW at South Carolina School Of Welding, LlcMore details about Course #101 Combo Pipe Welder SMAW/GTAW/GMAW at South Carolina School Of Welding, Llc
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $4,000
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,500
400 Hour Welding, including Certificate With OSHA Training
Arclabs Welding School
Piedmont
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,400Program website, 400 Hour Welding, including Certificate With OSHA Training at Arclabs Welding SchoolMore details about 400 Hour Welding, including Certificate With OSHA Training at Arclabs Welding School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 36 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $875
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,400
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for welding classes in South Carolina
WIOA funding can pay for welding classes in South Carolina
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for welding classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for welding classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Welding classes in South Carolina
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 33rd of 46
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 15 of 31
- welding programs here, against the typical state's 24
- 11 vs 24
State comparisons use the same figures as the welding classes by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Welding classes in Greenville, Florence, Augusta and other South Carolina cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 2 in smaller cities and towns.
Other training in South Carolina
How welding classes compare with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in South Carolina
- CDL training25 programs
- CNA classes11 programs
- Medical assistant training11 programs
- Phlebotomy training8 programs
- HVAC training7 programs
- Medical billing and coding training11 programs
- LPN programs4 programs
- EMT classes2 programs
- Electrician training4 programs
- Dental assistant programs4 programs
- Auto mechanic classes1 program
- Pharmacy technician training6 programs
- Plumbing school1 program
- CNC machinist training1 program
- Heavy equipment operator training2 programs
- Cybersecurity training4 programs
- IT training8 programs
- EKG technician programs4 programs
- Massage therapy school1 program
- Surgical tech programs1 program
- Radiology tech programs1 program
- Culinary school1 program
- PTA programs1 program
- Medical administrative assistant training5 programs
- Human resources training1 program
- Early childhood education programs1 program
- Aircraft mechanic school1 program
- Supply chain and logistics training1 program
- Coding and software development courses2 programs
- Lineman school2 programs
- Sterile processing technician training4 programs
- Sonography school1 program
- Administrative assistant training1 program
- Medical lab technician programs1 program
- Web and graphic design courses2 programs
- Vet tech programs1 program
- Patient care technician training6 programs
- Forklift certification2 programs
- Personal trainer certification1 program
- RBT certification training1 program
- Electronics technician training1 program
- Business administration programs1 program
- Criminal justice programs1 program
- Solar and wind technician training1 program
- Construction training programs2 programs
- RN programs5 programs
- Project management certification4 programs
Where the South Carolina welding program numbers come from
Which South Carolina welding programs are on this list?
These are the welding programs South Carolina approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what South Carolina offers.
How the prices and results of South Carolina welding programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about welding classes in South Carolina
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List