Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Solar and wind technician training in South Carolina

1 solar and wind program with costs, results and funding that can make it free

One school offers this solar and wind program, and South Carolina has approved it for workforce funding. It shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Solar photovoltaic installers assemble, set up and maintain rooftop and other systems that turn sunlight into energy. They typically need a high school diploma, some take courses at a technical school or community college, and most learn on the job for up to a year.1

In South Carolina, the one program takes students without a high school diploma.

See the program

How much does solar and wind technician training cost in South Carolina?

$4,000

is what this program costs if you pay yourself

This program

Finished the program
Not reported
The program doesn't report it
Working 6 months later
Not reported
The program doesn't report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
The program doesn't report it
Length
3 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in South Carolina may also offer solar and wind technician training. How these figures are made

Is there free solar and wind technician training in South Carolina?

The one solar and wind program in South Carolina approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

1 program

How to pay for solar and wind technician training in South Carolina

WIOA funding can pay for solar and wind technician training in South Carolina

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for solar and wind technician training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for solar and wind technician training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in South Carolina

How solar and wind technician training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in South Carolina

Where the South Carolina solar and wind program numbers come from

Which South Carolina solar and wind programs are on this list?

These are the solar and wind programs South Carolina approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what South Carolina offers.

How the prices and results of South Carolina solar and wind programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about solar and wind technician training in South Carolina

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Solar Photovoltaic Installers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List