Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Sonography school in South Carolina

1 sonography program with costs, results and funding that can make it free

One school offers this sonography program, and South Carolina has approved it for workforce funding. It shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Diagnostic medical sonographers use ultrasound equipment to make images of the inside of the body. Most need at least an associate degree or a certificate, offered by colleges and some hospitals; some need a state license, and employers may require or prefer professional certification.1

In South Carolina, the one program asks for earlier courses first.

See the program

How much does sonography school cost in South Carolina?

$15,900

is what this program costs if you pay yourself

This program

Finished the program
88%
Working 6 months later
Not reported
The program doesn't report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
The program doesn't report it
Length
60 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in South Carolina may also offer sonography school. How these figures are made

Is there free sonography school in South Carolina?

The one sonography program in South Carolina approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

1 program

  • Sonography certificate or diplomaIn personEducation and courses

    General Sonography- Ce

    Midlands Technical College

    Columbia

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Midlands Technical College, ColumbiaSonography certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$15,900
    Program website, General Sonography- Ce at Midlands Technical College
    More details about General Sonography- Ce at Midlands Technical College
    Finished
    88%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 31 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    16
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,900
    Program website, General Sonography- Ce at Midlands Technical College

How to pay for sonography school in South Carolina

WIOA funding can pay for sonography school in South Carolina

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for sonography school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for sonography school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in South Carolina

How sonography school compares with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in South Carolina

Where the South Carolina sonography program numbers come from

Which South Carolina sonography programs are on this list?

These are the sonography programs South Carolina approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what South Carolina offers.

How the prices and results of South Carolina sonography programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about sonography school in South Carolina

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Diagnostic Medical Sonographers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List