CNC machinist training in South Carolina
1 CNC machinist program with costs, results and funding that can make it free
One school offers this machinist program, and South Carolina has approved it for workforce funding. It shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Machinists set up and run equipment, including computer-controlled (CNC) machines, to make precision metal parts and tools. Community colleges and technical schools offer certificates and two-year degrees that teach reading engineering drawings and programming CNC machines.1 In South Carolina, the one program takes students without a high school diploma.
See the programHow much does CNC machinist training cost in South Carolina?
$5,000
is what this program costs if you pay yourself
This program
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in South Carolina may also offer CNC machinist training. How these figures are made
The one CNC machinist program in South Carolina approved for WIOA funding
Filters
1 program
Computer Numeric Control - Cnc
Palmetto Training Inc
Walterboro
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,000Program website, Computer Numeric Control - Cnc at Palmetto Training IncMore details about Computer Numeric Control - Cnc at Palmetto Training Inc
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,000
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for CNC machinist training in South Carolina
WIOA funding can pay for CNC machinist training in South Carolina
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Paid machinist apprenticeships
An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.6
Financial aid and grants for CNC machinist training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for CNC machinist training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Machinist apprenticeships in South Carolina
A machinist apprenticeship is usually run by an employer. It combines paid training on the job with related classes and lasts several years.1
You apply to the employer or the program sponsor, not through a school.6 The Department of Labor's Apprenticeship Finder lists openings by place and job. None of the CNC machinist program on this page is an apprenticeship.
Where the South Carolina machinist program numbers come from
Which South Carolina machinist programs are on this list?
These are the machinist programs South Carolina approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what South Carolina offers.
How the prices and results of South Carolina machinist programs are measured
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Other training in South Carolina
- CDL training25 programs
- CNA classes16 programs
- Medical assistant training9 programs
- Phlebotomy training8 programs
- Welding classes10 programs
- HVAC training7 programs
- Medical billing and coding training11 programs
- LPN programs2 programs
- EMT classes1 program
- Electrician training4 programs
- Dental assistant programs4 programs
- Auto mechanic classes1 program
- Pharmacy technician training6 programs
- Plumbing school1 program
- Heavy equipment operator training2 programs
- Cybersecurity training3 programs
- IT training1 program
- Project management certification3 programs
Sources for the facts about CNC machinist training in South Carolina
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Machinists and Tool and Die Makers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List