HVAC training in South Carolina
7 HVAC training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
7 schools offer these HVAC programs, and South Carolina has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
HVAC technicians work on heating, ventilation, cooling and refrigeration systems. Most train in a certificate program, which usually includes the EPA refrigerant exam that nearly all technicians must pass, and some states also require a license.1 In South Carolina, 1 of the 7 programs take students without a high school diploma.
See the 7 programsHow much does HVAC training cost in South Carolina?
$4,500 to $6,562
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 7 programs with a price: $988 to $19,552
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- 20 to 52 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made
HVAC training in Charleston, Columbia, Myrtle Beach and other South Carolina cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 2 in smaller cities and towns.
All 7 HVAC training programs in South Carolina approved for funding
Filters
7 programs
Heating Ventilation And Air Cond - Refrigeration
Fortis College, Columbia
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$25,100Price if you pay yourself$19,552Program website, Heating Ventilation And Air Cond - Refrigeration at Fortis CollegeMore details about Heating Ventilation And Air Cond - Refrigeration at Fortis College
- Finished
- 63%
- Working at 6 months
- 70%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,270
- Length
- 52 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,691
- Students counted
- 145
- a year, estimated
- $25,100
- price
- $19,552
Residential Heating Ventilation And Air Conditioning Service Technician - Certif
Horry-Georgetown Technical College, Conway
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$38,100Price if you pay yourself$6,778Program website, Residential Heating Ventilation And Air Conditioning Service Technician - Certif at Horry-Georgetown Technical CollegeMore details about Residential Heating Ventilation And Air Conditioning Service Technician - Certif at Horry-Georgetown Technical College
- Finished
- 93%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,534
- Length
- 30 weeks, 26 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 130
- a year, estimated
- $38,100
- price
- $6,778
Basic Training For Hvac Technicians-Residential/light Commercial Ac & Heat Pump
Air Conditioning And Refrigeration Training Center, Ladson
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$43,700Price if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, Basic Training For Hvac Technicians-Residential/light Commercial Ac & Heat Pump at Air Conditioning And Refrigeration Training CenterMore details about Basic Training For Hvac Technicians-Residential/light Commercial Ac & Heat Pump at Air Conditioning And Refrigeration Training Center
- Finished
- 83%
- Working at 6 months
- 50%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,920
- Length
- 20 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,500
- Students counted
- 24
- a year, estimated
- $43,700
- price
- $4,000
Pre-Apprenticeship Certification Training (pact) - Basic Hvac
Second Chance Job Center, Mount Pleasant
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$28,200Price if you pay yourself$5,500Program website, Pre-Apprenticeship Certification Training (pact) - Basic Hvac at Second Chance Job CenterMore details about Pre-Apprenticeship Certification Training (pact) - Basic Hvac at Second Chance Job Center
- Finished
- 88%
- Working at 6 months
- 56%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,047
- Length
- 52 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $200
- Students counted
- 16
- a year, estimated
- $28,200
- price
- $5,500
AHRT - Air Conditioning Certificate
Richmond Community College, Hamlet, NC
High school diploma or equivalent
Classes are outside South Carolina; South Carolina approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$988Program website, AHRT - Air Conditioning Certificate at Richmond Community CollegeMore details about AHRT - Air Conditioning Certificate at Richmond Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $325
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $988
HVAC Repair Service Technician
Field Ready Training Academy, Hampton
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,000Program website, HVAC Repair Service Technician at Field Ready Training AcademyMore details about HVAC Repair Service Technician at Field Ready Training Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 6 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $500
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,000
Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, And Refrigeration Associates Degree
Williamsburg Technical College, Kingstree
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,346Program website, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, And Refrigeration Associates Degree at Williamsburg Technical CollegeMore details about Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, And Refrigeration Associates Degree at Williamsburg Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $980
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $6,346
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for HVAC training in South Carolina
Workforce funding can pay for HVAC training in South Carolina
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for HVAC training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for HVAC training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the South Carolina HVAC program numbers come from
Which South Carolina HVAC programs are on this list?
These are the HVAC programs South Carolina approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what South Carolina offers.
How South Carolina HVAC program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some HVAC programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Sources for the facts about HVAC training in South Carolina
Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs