Medical billing and coding training in South Carolina
11 medical billing and coding programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
8 schools offer these medical billing and coding programs, and South Carolina has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Medical records specialists keep patient files and may classify patients' medical information into the numerical coding system the healthcare industry uses. Most start with a postsecondary certificate, some need an associate's degree, and certification may be required or preferred.1 In South Carolina, 3 of the 11 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 6 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 11 programsHow much does medical billing and coding training cost in South Carolina?
$2,150 to $3,734
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 11 programs with a price: $2,000 to $4,420
- Finished the program
- 75%
- Working 6 months later
- 63%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $24,100
- Length
- 16 to 32 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in South Carolina may also offer medical billing and coding training. How these figures are made
Medical billing and coding training in Columbia, Charlotte and other South Carolina cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 1 in smaller cities and towns and 6 online.
All 11 medical billing and coding programs in South Carolina approved for funding
Filters
11 programs
Hi-1100 Medical Billing Specialist
Medcerts, Online, based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$32,400Price if you pay yourself$2,000Program website, Hi-1100 Medical Billing Specialist at MedcertsMore details about Hi-1100 Medical Billing Specialist at Medcerts
- Finished
- 99%
- Working at 6 months
- 19%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,109
- Length
- 14 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 1,036
- a year, estimated
- $32,400
- price
- $2,000
Medical Coding Specialist - Certificate - Ce
Midlands Technical College, Columbia
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$18,800Price if you pay yourself$3,393Program website, Medical Coding Specialist - Certificate - Ce at Midlands Technical CollegeMore details about Medical Coding Specialist - Certificate - Ce at Midlands Technical College
- Finished
- 72%
- Working at 6 months
- 15%
- Earned in a quarter
- $4,706
- Length
- 40 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 161
- a year, estimated
- $18,800
- price
- $3,393
CCE-CPC Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included)
Tri-County Technical College, Online, based in Pendleton, SC
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$20,500Price if you pay yourself$2,995Program website, CCE-CPC Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) at Tri-County Technical CollegeMore details about CCE-CPC Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) at Tri-County Technical College
- Finished
- 61%
- Working at 6 months
- 76%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,131
- Length
- 52 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 53
- a year, estimated
- $20,500
- price
- $2,995
Online Medical Billing And Coding
Professional Medical Training Center, Online, based in Florence, SC
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$24,100Price if you pay yourself$2,099School website, Online Medical Billing And Coding at Professional Medical Training CenterMore details about Online Medical Billing And Coding at Professional Medical Training Center
- Finished
- 79%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,025
- Length
- 24 weeks, 5 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $905
- Students counted
- 37
- a year, estimated
- $24,100
- price
- $2,099
Professional Medical Coding Curriculum
Coding Clarified Llc, Online, based in Dalton Gardens, ID
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,200Program website, Professional Medical Coding Curriculum at Coding Clarified LlcMore details about Professional Medical Coding Curriculum at Coding Clarified Llc
- Finished
- 75%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,349
- Students counted
- 22
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,200
HI-4000 Electronic Health Records and Reimbursement Specialist
Medcerts, Online, based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$48,400Price if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, HI-4000 Electronic Health Records and Reimbursement Specialist at MedcertsMore details about HI-4000 Electronic Health Records and Reimbursement Specialist at Medcerts
- Finished
- 75%
- Working at 6 months
- 63%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,105
- Length
- 19 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 12
- a year, estimated
- $48,400
- price
- $4,000
Medical Billing and Coding-In Person
Palmetto Medical Coding Academy, Columbia
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,085Program website, Medical Billing and Coding-In Person at Palmetto Medical Coding AcademyMore details about Medical Billing and Coding-In Person at Palmetto Medical Coding Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 5 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $420
- Students counted
- 11
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,085
Medical Coding-In Person
Palmetto Medical Coding Academy, Columbia
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,200Program website, Medical Coding-In Person at Palmetto Medical Coding AcademyMore details about Medical Coding-In Person at Palmetto Medical Coding Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $343
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,200
HI-5100 Professional Coder
Medcerts, Online, based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,500Program website, HI-5100 Professional Coder at MedcertsMore details about HI-5100 Professional Coder at Medcerts
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 22 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,500
Billing And Coding Specialist
Latrice D. Ferguson Healthcare Institute, Walterboro
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,967Program website, Billing And Coding Specialist at Latrice D. Ferguson Healthcare InstituteMore details about Billing And Coding Specialist at Latrice D. Ferguson Healthcare Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 14 weeks, 5 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $150
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,967
Billing And Coding Specialist
Next Level Healthcare Institute, Llc, Rock Hill
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,420Program website, Billing And Coding Specialist at Next Level Healthcare Institute, LlcMore details about Billing And Coding Specialist at Next Level Healthcare Institute, Llc
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 39 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $275
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,420
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for medical billing and coding training in South Carolina
Workforce funding can pay for medical billing and coding training in South Carolina
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for medical billing and coding training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for medical billing and coding training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the South Carolina medical billing and coding program numbers come from
Which South Carolina medical billing and coding programs are on this list?
These are the medical billing and coding programs South Carolina approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what South Carolina offers.
How South Carolina medical billing and coding program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some medical billing and coding programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Sources for the facts about medical billing and coding training in South Carolina
Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Records Specialists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs