Electrician training in Los Angeles, California
20 electrician training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
15 schools offer these electrician programs with classes in the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Electricians install, maintain and repair electrical power, communications, lighting and control systems. Most learn the trade in a four- or five-year apprenticeship with paid on-the-job training, and most states require electricians to pass a test and be licensed.1 In Los Angeles, 9 of the 20 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 4 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 20 programsAll 33 electrician training programs in California, including online programs
How much does electrician training cost in Los Angeles?
$1,680 to $4,612 is what most electrician training programs in Los Angeles cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 16 programs with a price. All of them: $850 to $22,500
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 83%
- Working 6 months later
- 64%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $52,400
- Length
- 18 to 40 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Los Angeles may also offer electrician training. How these figures are made
All 20 electrician training programs in Los Angeles approved for WIOA funding
Filters
20 programs
Electrical Training Program (Hybrid)
InterCoast Colleges
West Covina
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$41,100Price if you pay yourself$22,500School website, Electrical Training Program (Hybrid) at InterCoast CollegesMore details about Electrical Training Program (Hybrid) at InterCoast Colleges
- Finished
- 74%
- Working at 6 months
- 63%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,263
- Length
- 50 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 1,541
- a year, estimated
- $41,100
- price
- $22,500
General Electrician
Southern California Institute of Technology
Anaheim
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$42,600Price if you pay yourself$16,700Program website, General Electrician at Southern California Institute of TechnologyMore details about General Electrician at Southern California Institute of Technology
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 63%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,660
- Length
- 35 weeks, 21 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,040
- Students counted
- 1,520
- a year, estimated
- $42,600
- price
- $16,700
Electrician Technician (Hybrid)
United Education Institute dba UEI College
Huntington Park
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$21,448Program website, Electrician Technician (Hybrid) at United Education Institute dba UEI CollegeMore details about Electrician Technician (Hybrid) at United Education Institute dba UEI College
- Finished
- 70%
- Working at 6 months
- 31%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $53
- Students counted
- 842
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $21,448
Electrician
Baldwin Park Adult and Community Education
Baldwin Park
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedMore details about Electrician at Baldwin Park Adult and Community Education
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 41 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 682
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- Not reported
Electrician Training Program (Residential) State Certified
Abram Friedman Occupational Center-LAUSD
Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$61,200Price if you pay yourself$1,680Program website, Electrician Training Program (Residential) State Certified at Abram Friedman Occupational Center-LAUSDMore details about Electrician Training Program (Residential) State Certified at Abram Friedman Occupational Center-LAUSD
- Finished
- 66%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,300
- Length
- 22 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,960
- Students counted
- 642
- a year, estimated
- $61,200
- price
- $1,680
Electrician Training Program (Residential) State Certified
East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSD
Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$61,200Price if you pay yourself$1,440Program website, Electrician Training Program (Residential) State Certified at East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSDMore details about Electrician Training Program (Residential) State Certified at East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 95%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,300
- Length
- 16 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,427
- Students counted
- 622
- a year, estimated
- $61,200
- price
- $1,440
Electrician Trainee (State Certified) 936 Hours
Bassett Adult School
La Puente
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, Electrician Trainee (State Certified) 936 Hours at Bassett Adult SchoolMore details about Electrician Trainee (State Certified) 936 Hours at Bassett Adult School
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,700
- Students counted
- 561
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,000
Electrician Training Program (Residential)
North Valley Occupational Center - LAUSD
Mission Hills
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$61,200Price if you pay yourself$1,680Program website, Electrician Training Program (Residential) at North Valley Occupational Center - LAUSDMore details about Electrician Training Program (Residential) at North Valley Occupational Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 61%
- Working at 6 months
- 61%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,300
- Length
- 24 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,512
- Students counted
- 477
- a year, estimated
- $61,200
- price
- $1,680
Electrician-General (State Certified)
East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSD
Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$72,800Price if you pay yourself$3,600Program website, Electrician-General (State Certified) at East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSDMore details about Electrician-General (State Certified) at East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 60%
- Working at 6 months
- 58%
- Earned in a quarter
- $18,200
- Length
- 40 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,485
- Students counted
- 408
- a year, estimated
- $72,800
- price
- $3,600
Electrician Trainee Program (State Certified)
Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSD
Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$72,800Price if you pay yourself$4,200Program website, Electrician Trainee Program (State Certified) at Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSDMore details about Electrician Trainee Program (State Certified) at Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 68%
- Working at 6 months
- 54%
- Earned in a quarter
- $18,200
- Length
- 36 weeks, 33 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,756
- Students counted
- 317
- a year, estimated
- $72,800
- price
- $4,200
Electrician Training Program (Residential) State Certified
Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSD
Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$61,200Price if you pay yourself$1,680Program website, Electrician Training Program (Residential) State Certified at Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSDMore details about Electrician Training Program (Residential) State Certified at Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 58%
- Working at 6 months
- 72%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,300
- Length
- 18 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,356
- Students counted
- 306
- a year, estimated
- $61,200
- price
- $1,680
Electrician Trainee (State Certified) 468 Hours
Bassett Adult School
La Puente
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$39,600Price if you pay yourself$2,000Program website, Electrician Trainee (State Certified) 468 Hours at Bassett Adult SchoolMore details about Electrician Trainee (State Certified) 468 Hours at Bassett Adult School
- Finished
- 88%
- Working at 6 months
- 57%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,900
- Length
- 26 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,300
- Students counted
- 239
- a year, estimated
- $39,600
- price
- $2,000
Electrician 1
Whittier Adult School
Whittier
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$850Program website, Electrician 1 at Whittier Adult SchoolMore details about Electrician 1 at Whittier Adult School
- Finished
- 70%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 9 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $300
- Students counted
- 209
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $850
Residential Electrical Boot Camp
Tri-Cities ROP
Whittier
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,850Program website, Residential Electrical Boot Camp at Tri-Cities ROPMore details about Residential Electrical Boot Camp at Tri-Cities ROP
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 12 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $150
- Students counted
- 186
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,850
ET-101-Introduction to Electrical Trades
El Monte Rosemead Adult School
El Monte
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$7,200Price if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, ET-101-Introduction to Electrical Trades at El Monte Rosemead Adult SchoolMore details about ET-101-Introduction to Electrical Trades at El Monte Rosemead Adult School
- Finished
- 83%
- Working at 6 months
- 47%
- Earned in a quarter
- $1,800
- Length
- 38 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 98
- a year, estimated
- $7,200
- price
- Not reported
General Electrician Program
Southern California Regional Occupational Center
Torrance
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,050School website, General Electrician Program at Southern California Regional Occupational CenterMore details about General Electrician Program at Southern California Regional Occupational Center
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 48 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 30
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,050
ET-201- Advanced Electrical Trades
El Monte Rosemead Adult School
El Monte
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$8,900Price if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, ET-201- Advanced Electrical Trades at El Monte Rosemead Adult SchoolMore details about ET-201- Advanced Electrical Trades at El Monte Rosemead Adult School
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $2,220
- Length
- 38 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 27
- a year, estimated
- $8,900
- price
- Not reported
Residential Electrical Wiring
Southern California Regional Occupational Center
Torrance
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$900School website, Residential Electrical Wiring at Southern California Regional Occupational CenterMore details about Residential Electrical Wiring at Southern California Regional Occupational Center
- Finished
- 96%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,985
- Students counted
- 26
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $900
Electrical Wiring Technician - Residential
Dolphin Trucking School
Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$43,700Price if you pay yourself$2,630Program website, Electrical Wiring Technician - Residential at Dolphin Trucking SchoolMore details about Electrical Wiring Technician - Residential at Dolphin Trucking School
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 64%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,920
- Length
- 5 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $865
- Students counted
- 23
- a year, estimated
- $43,700
- price
- $2,630
Commercial Electrical Apprenticeship Program
Facility Solutions Group, Inc. db Propel Career Academy, LLC
Irvine
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Commercial Electrical Apprenticeship Program at Facility Solutions Group, Inc. db Propel Career Academy, LLCMore details about Commercial Electrical Apprenticeship Program at Facility Solutions Group, Inc. db Propel Career Academy, LLC
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 122 weeks, 50 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 21
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- Not reported
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for electrician training in Los Angeles
WIOA funding can pay for electrician training in Los Angeles
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Paid electrician apprenticeships
An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.5
Financial aid and grants for electrician training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for electrician training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the Los Angeles electrician program numbers come from
Which Los Angeles electrician programs are on this list?
These are the electrician programs with classes in the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the California page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How Los Angeles electrician program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some electrician programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Los Angeles
Sources for the facts about electrician training in Los Angeles
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Electricians
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List