Dental assistant programs in Los Angeles, California
23 dental assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
19 schools offer these dental assisting programs with classes in the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Dental assistants care for patients, take x-rays, keep records and schedule appointments. Many programs take about a year and lead to a certificate or diploma, and some states require you to graduate from an accredited program and pass an exam.1 In Los Angeles, 10 of the 23 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 4 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 23 programsAll 68 dental assistant programs in California, including online programs
How much do dental assistant programs cost in Los Angeles?
$1,945 to $17,050 is what most dental assistant programs in Los Angeles cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 23 programs with a price. All of them: $1,195 to $19,900
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 84%
- Working 6 months later
- 55%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $32,400
- Length
- 20 to 38 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Los Angeles may also offer dental assistant programs. How these figures are made
All 23 dental assistant programs in Los Angeles approved for WIOA funding
Filters
23 programs
Dental Assisting (Blended)
American Career College
Los Angeles
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$27,000Price if you pay yourself$18,390Program website, Dental Assisting (Blended) at American Career CollegeMore details about Dental Assisting (Blended) at American Career College
- Finished
- 78%
- Working at 6 months
- 93%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,742
- Length
- 38 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,840
- Students counted
- 678
- a year, estimated
- $27,000
- price
- $18,390
Dental Assistant
Concorde Career College - Garden Grove & San Diego
Garden Grove
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,000Price if you pay yourself$18,757Program website, Dental Assistant at Concorde Career College - Garden Grove & San DiegoMore details about Dental Assistant at Concorde Career College - Garden Grove & San Diego
- Finished
- 84%
- Working at 6 months
- 47%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,240
- Length
- 38 weeks, 23 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $806
- Students counted
- 525
- a year, estimated
- $37,000
- price
- $18,757
Dental Assistant
United Education Institute dba UEI College
Huntington Park
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$27,900Price if you pay yourself$19,850Program website, Dental Assistant at United Education Institute dba UEI CollegeMore details about Dental Assistant at United Education Institute dba UEI College
- Finished
- 74%
- Working at 6 months
- 6%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,965
- Length
- 34 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $50
- Students counted
- 511
- a year, estimated
- $27,900
- price
- $19,850
Dental Assistant
North-West College
West Covina
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$32,400Price if you pay yourself$18,104Program website, Dental Assistant at North-West CollegeMore details about Dental Assistant at North-West College
- Finished
- 69%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,094
- Length
- 40 weeks, 19 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $387
- Students counted
- 211
- a year, estimated
- $32,400
- price
- $18,104
Dental Assistant
Venice Skills Center - LAUSD
Venice
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,400Price if you pay yourself$1,890Program website, Dental Assistant at Venice Skills Center - LAUSDMore details about Dental Assistant at Venice Skills Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 47%
- Working at 6 months
- 44%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,600
- Length
- 18 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,833
- Students counted
- 173
- a year, estimated
- $46,400
- price
- $1,890
Dental Assisting
High Desert Medical College
Lancaster
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$16,617Program website, Dental Assisting at High Desert Medical CollegeMore details about Dental Assisting at High Desert Medical College
- Finished
- 67%
- Working at 6 months
- 46%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 42 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,723
- Students counted
- 163
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $16,617
Dental Assistant
Concorde Career College, Inc
North Hollywood
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$33,900Price if you pay yourself$17,483More details about Dental Assistant at Concorde Career College, Inc
- Finished
- 80%
- Working at 6 months
- 60%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,480
- Length
- 36 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $806
- Students counted
- 131
- a year, estimated
- $33,900
- price
- $17,483
Dental Assistant
IEC/AAI dba UEI College
Gardena
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$19,900Program website, Dental Assistant at IEC/AAI dba UEI CollegeMore details about Dental Assistant at IEC/AAI dba UEI College
- Finished
- 60%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 34 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 127
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $19,900
Dental Assistant
East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSD
Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,400Price if you pay yourself$1,890Program website, Dental Assistant at East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSDMore details about Dental Assistant at East Los Angeles Occupational Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 33%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,600
- Length
- 20 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,020
- Students counted
- 126
- a year, estimated
- $46,400
- price
- $1,890
Dental Assistant
National Career College, Inc.
Panorama City
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$36,400Price if you pay yourself$16,500School website, Dental Assistant at National Career College, Inc.More details about Dental Assistant at National Career College, Inc.
- Finished
- 81%
- Working at 6 months
- 55%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,100
- Length
- 40 weeks, 29 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,139
- Students counted
- 104
- a year, estimated
- $36,400
- price
- $16,500
Dental Assistant (Hybrid- IDL)
High Desert Medical College
Lancaster
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$15,603School website, Dental Assistant (Hybrid- IDL) at High Desert Medical CollegeMore details about Dental Assistant (Hybrid- IDL) at High Desert Medical College
- Finished
- 70%
- Working at 6 months
- 57%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 42 weeks, 5 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,738
- Students counted
- 81
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $15,603
Dental Assisting - Hybrid
Tri-Cities ROP
Whittier
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$31,700Price if you pay yourself$1,195School website, Dental Assisting - Hybrid at Tri-Cities ROPMore details about Dental Assisting - Hybrid at Tri-Cities ROP
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,921
- Length
- 19 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $805
- Students counted
- 62
- a year, estimated
- $31,700
- price
- $1,195
Dental Assisting Program
American Dental Academy
Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$63,700Price if you pay yourself$2,500Program website, Dental Assisting Program at American Dental AcademyMore details about Dental Assisting Program at American Dental Academy
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 59%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,925
- Length
- 8 weeks, 19 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,960
- Students counted
- 60
- a year, estimated
- $63,700
- price
- $2,500
Dental Assisting
Southern California Regional Occupational Center
Torrance
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$29,700Price if you pay yourself$1,700Program website, Dental Assisting at Southern California Regional Occupational CenterMore details about Dental Assisting at Southern California Regional Occupational Center
- Finished
- 92%
- Working at 6 months
- 17%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,423
- Length
- 18 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 48
- a year, estimated
- $29,700
- price
- $1,700
Registered Dental Assistant
Hacienda La Puente Adult Education
La Puente
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$56,200Price if you pay yourself$3,896Program website, Registered Dental Assistant at Hacienda La Puente Adult EducationMore details about Registered Dental Assistant at Hacienda La Puente Adult Education
- Finished
- 87%
- Working at 6 months
- 44%
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,050
- Length
- 35 weeks, 31 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 47
- a year, estimated
- $56,200
- price
- $3,896
Dental Assistant - Level I
North Orange County Regional Occupational Program
Anaheim
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$22,200Price if you pay yourself$3,950Program website, Dental Assistant - Level I at North Orange County Regional Occupational ProgramMore details about Dental Assistant - Level I at North Orange County Regional Occupational Program
- Finished
- 84%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,545
- Length
- 23 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $150
- Students counted
- 43
- a year, estimated
- $22,200
- price
- $3,950
Dental Assistant
Norwalk-La Mirada Adult School
Norwalk
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,000More details about Dental Assistant at Norwalk-La Mirada Adult School
- Finished
- 85%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 25 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $200
- Students counted
- 38
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,000
Registered Dental Assisting
Southern California Regional Occupational Center
Torrance
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$18,600Price if you pay yourself$5,100Program website, Registered Dental Assisting at Southern California Regional Occupational CenterMore details about Registered Dental Assisting at Southern California Regional Occupational Center
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- 5%
- Earned in a quarter
- $4,655
- Length
- 36 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 38
- a year, estimated
- $18,600
- price
- $5,100
Dental Assistant
ABC Adult School
Cerritos
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,212Program website, Dental Assistant at ABC Adult SchoolMore details about Dental Assistant at ABC Adult School
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 40 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $468
- Students counted
- 23
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,212
Dental Assistant Level II (RDA Preparation)
North Orange County Regional Occupational Program
Anaheim
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$31,400Price if you pay yourself$1,652Program website, Dental Assistant Level II (RDA Preparation) at North Orange County Regional Occupational ProgramMore details about Dental Assistant Level II (RDA Preparation) at North Orange County Regional Occupational Program
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,850
- Length
- 12 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $98
- Students counted
- 22
- a year, estimated
- $31,400
- price
- $1,652
Dental Assistant Apprenticeship
West Los Angeles College
Culver City
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,500Program website, Dental Assistant Apprenticeship at West Los Angeles CollegeMore details about Dental Assistant Apprenticeship at West Los Angeles College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $4,840
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,500
Dental Assisting Modules
Southern California Regional Occupational Center
Torrance
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,300School website, Dental Assisting Modules at Southern California Regional Occupational CenterMore details about Dental Assisting Modules at Southern California Regional Occupational Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 22 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $465
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,300
Dental Assistant
PCI College
Cerritos
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$13,615Program website, Dental Assistant at PCI CollegeMore details about Dental Assistant at PCI College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 36 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $380
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $13,615
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for dental assistant programs in Los Angeles
WIOA funding can pay for dental assistant programs in Los Angeles
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for dental assistant programs
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for dental assistant programs
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the Los Angeles dental assisting program numbers come from
Which Los Angeles dental assisting programs are on this list?
These are the dental assisting programs with classes in the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).8 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the California page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How Los Angeles dental assisting program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some dental assisting programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Los Angeles
Sources for the facts about dental assistant programs in Los Angeles
Show the 8 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Dental Assistants
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List