LPN programs in Los Angeles, California
13 LPN programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
13 schools offer these practical nursing programs with classes in the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Licensed practical and vocational nurses (LPNs and LVNs) give basic medical care to patients who are ill, injured or recovering. Most finish a state-approved certificate or diploma program that takes about a year, then pass an exam to become licensed.1 In Los Angeles, 1 of the 13 programs takes students without a high school diploma, and 2 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 13 programsAll 43 LPN programs in California, including online programs
How much do LPN programs cost in Los Angeles?
$19,550 to $34,127 is what most LPN programs in Los Angeles cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 13 programs with a price. All of them: $6,120 to $36,900
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 69%
- Working 6 months later
- 83%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $49,000
- Length
- 48 to 52 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Los Angeles may also offer LPN programs. How these figures are made
All 13 LPN programs in Los Angeles approved for WIOA funding
Filters
13 programs
Vocational Nursing (Blended)
American Career College
Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$42,000Price if you pay yourself$36,50016 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Vocational Nursing (Blended) at American Career CollegeMore details about Vocational Nursing (Blended) at American Career College
- Finished
- 66%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,495
- Length
- 54 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,310
- Students counted
- 3,162
- a year, estimated
- $42,000
- price
- $36,500
- trained with WIOA funding
- 16
Vocational Nursing
California Career Institute, Inc
Anaheim
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$55,500Price if you pay yourself$36,900Program website, Vocational Nursing at California Career Institute, IncMore details about Vocational Nursing at California Career Institute, Inc
- Finished
- 62%
- Working at 6 months
- 34%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,868
- Length
- 52 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 1,700
- a year, estimated
- $55,500
- price
- $36,900
Vocational Nurse
Career Development Institute, Inc.
Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$33,578Program website, Vocational Nurse at Career Development Institute, Inc.More details about Vocational Nurse at Career Development Institute, Inc.
- Finished
- 67%
- Working at 6 months
- 49%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 56 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,422
- Students counted
- 685
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $33,578
Vocational Nursing
Homestead Schools, Inc.
Torrance
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$58,500Price if you pay yourself$33,150Program website, Vocational Nursing at Homestead Schools, Inc.More details about Vocational Nursing at Homestead Schools, Inc.
- Finished
- 71%
- Working at 6 months
- 91%
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,625
- Length
- 50 weeks, 33 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,500
- Students counted
- 550
- a year, estimated
- $58,500
- price
- $33,150
Vocational Nurse
Concorde Career College - Garden Grove & San Diego
Garden Grove
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$60,000Price if you pay yourself$35,7779 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Vocational Nurse at Concorde Career College - Garden Grove & San DiegoMore details about Vocational Nurse at Concorde Career College - Garden Grove & San Diego
- Finished
- 62%
- Working at 6 months
- 39%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,000
- Length
- 50 weeks, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,737
- Students counted
- 427
- a year, estimated
- $60,000
- price
- $35,777
- trained with WIOA funding
- 9
Vocational Nursing
Glendale Career College
Glendale
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$54,600Price if you pay yourself$33,906Program website, Vocational Nursing at Glendale Career CollegeMore details about Vocational Nursing at Glendale Career College
- Finished
- 52%
- Working at 6 months
- 19%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,660
- Length
- 64 weeks, 26 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $672
- Students counted
- 238
- a year, estimated
- $54,600
- price
- $33,906
Vocational Nursing
Angeles Institute, LLC
Artesia
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,400Price if you pay yourself$28,980Program website, Vocational Nursing at Angeles Institute, LLCMore details about Vocational Nursing at Angeles Institute, LLC
- Finished
- 71%
- Working at 6 months
- 72%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,360
- Length
- 44 weeks, 37 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,911
- Students counted
- 206
- a year, estimated
- $37,400
- price
- $28,980
Vocational Nurse
North Orange County Regional Occupational Program
Anaheim
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,200Price if you pay yourself$19,5507 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Vocational Nurse at North Orange County Regional Occupational ProgramMore details about Vocational Nurse at North Orange County Regional Occupational Program
- Finished
- 84%
- Working at 6 months
- 59%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,810
- Length
- 51 weeks, 31 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 157
- a year, estimated
- $39,200
- price
- $19,550
- trained with WIOA funding
- 7
Vocational Nursing
Downey Adult School
Downey
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$52,300Price if you pay yourself$16,99931 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Vocational Nursing at Downey Adult SchoolMore details about Vocational Nursing at Downey Adult School
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 95%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,082
- Length
- 48 weeks, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 155
- a year, estimated
- $52,300
- price
- $16,999
- trained with WIOA funding
- 31
Vocational Nursing
Pacific College
Costa Mesa
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$44,200Price if you pay yourself$34,12719 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Vocational Nursing at Pacific College
- Finished
- 69%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,050
- Length
- 48 weeks, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $150
- Students counted
- 142
- a year, estimated
- $44,200
- price
- $34,127
- trained with WIOA funding
- 19
Vocational Nursing
Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSD
Los Angeles
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$43,800Price if you pay yourself$6,12014 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Vocational Nursing at Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSDMore details about Vocational Nursing at Maxine Waters Employment Prep Center - LAUSD
- Finished
- 93%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,961
- Length
- 40 weeks, 38 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,315
- Students counted
- 90
- a year, estimated
- $43,800
- price
- $6,120
- trained with WIOA funding
- 14
Vocational Nurse (LVN)
Hacienda La Puente Adult Education
La Puente
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$45,700Price if you pay yourself$6,7597 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Vocational Nurse (LVN) at Hacienda La Puente Adult EducationMore details about Vocational Nurse (LVN) at Hacienda La Puente Adult Education
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,429
- Length
- 48 weeks, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 45
- a year, estimated
- $45,700
- price
- $6,759
- trained with WIOA funding
- 7
Vocational Nursing
Nurses' Development Center, Inc.
Cypress
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$66,600Price if you pay yourself$23,780More details about Vocational Nursing at Nurses' Development Center, Inc.
- Finished
- 28%
- Working at 6 months
- 88%
- Earned in a quarter
- $16,640
- Length
- 48 weeks, 34 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,320
- Students counted
- 36
- a year, estimated
- $66,600
- price
- $23,780
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for LPN programs in Los Angeles
WIOA funding can pay for LPN programs in Los Angeles
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for LPN programs
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for LPN programs
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the Los Angeles practical nursing program numbers come from
Which Los Angeles practical nursing programs are on this list?
These are the practical nursing programs with classes in the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the California page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How Los Angeles practical nursing program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some practical nursing programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Los Angeles
- CDL training18 programs
- CNA classes51 programs
- Medical assistant training50 programs
- Phlebotomy training14 programs
- Welding classes10 programs
- HVAC training20 programs
- Medical billing and coding training32 programs
- Electrician training20 programs
- Dental assistant programs23 programs
- Auto mechanic classes31 programs
- Pharmacy technician training33 programs
- CNC machinist training18 programs
- IT training18 programs
- Cosmetology school14 programs
- Barber school12 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes36 programs
- Project management certification18 programs
Sources for the facts about LPN programs in Los Angeles
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List