CDL training in South Carolina
25 CDL (commercial driver's license) training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
19 schools offer these truck driving programs, and South Carolina has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Truck drivers need a commercial driver's license, which generally takes a knowledge test and a driving test. Most drivers have a high school diploma and prepare at a professional truck driving school.1 Since February 7, 2022, federal rules require anyone getting a Class A or B license for the first time, or upgrading to one, to train with a provider on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry.2
In South Carolina, 10 of the 25 programs take students without a high school diploma, 14 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 25 programs here are Class A (13 programs), CDL (class not stated, 7 programs), Class B (4 programs) and endorsements and permit prep (1 program).
See the 25 programsHow much does CDL training cost in South Carolina?
$4,595 to $5,595 is what most CDL training programs in South Carolina cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 25 programs with a price. All of them: $175 to $7,995
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 94%
- Working 6 months later
- 83%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $39,500
- Length
- 4 to 5 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in South Carolina may also offer CDL training. How these figures are made
All 25 CDL training programs in South Carolina approved for WIOA funding
Filters
25 programs
Cdl Training: Class A Tractor Trailer
STVT-AAI Education Inc. (DBA Miller-Motte Driving Institute)
Summerville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$42,900Price if you pay yourself$5,000249 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Cdl Training: Class A Tractor Trailer at STVT-AAI Education Inc. (DBA Miller-Motte Driving Institute)More details about Cdl Training: Class A Tractor Trailer at STVT-AAI Education Inc. (DBA Miller-Motte Driving Institute)
- Finished
- 95%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,736
- Length
- 4 weeks, 37 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 873
- Earned a year, estimated
- $42,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 249
Truck Driver - Cdl - Semi - Tractor Trailer
Truck Driver Institute
Richburg
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,400Price if you pay yourself$4,995152 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck Driver - Cdl - Semi - Tractor Trailer at Truck Driver InstituteMore details about Truck Driver - Cdl - Semi - Tractor Trailer at Truck Driver Institute
- Finished
- 89%
- Working at 6 months
- 46%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,346
- Length
- 3 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $34
- Students counted
- 852
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,995
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 152
Class A Commercial Driver's License (cdl) License Training
160 Driving Academy
Columbia
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$44,200Price if you pay yourself$4,595158 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Class A Commercial Driver's License (cdl) License Training at 160 Driving AcademyMore details about Class A Commercial Driver's License (cdl) License Training at 160 Driving Academy
- Finished
- 94%
- Working at 6 months
- 38%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,053
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 662
- Earned a year, estimated
- $44,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,595
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 158
Truck Driver - Cdl
Palmetto Training Inc
Walterboro
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$37,700Price if you pay yourself$5,900209 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck Driver - Cdl at Palmetto Training IncMore details about Truck Driver - Cdl at Palmetto Training Inc
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,422
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 514
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,900
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 209
Truck Driver - Cdl Class A
Tri-County Technical College
Pendleton
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$48,000Price if you pay yourself$4,79559 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck Driver - Cdl Class A at Tri-County Technical CollegeMore details about Truck Driver - Cdl Class A at Tri-County Technical College
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- 85%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,012
- Length
- 4 weeks, 37 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $212
- Students counted
- 424
- Earned a year, estimated
- $48,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,795
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 59
Truck Driver - Cdl-Ce
Florence-Darlington Technical College
Florence
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$16,300Price if you pay yourself$5,000Program website, Truck Driver - Cdl-Ce at Florence-Darlington Technical CollegeMore details about Truck Driver - Cdl-Ce at Florence-Darlington Technical College
- Finished
- 95%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $4,078
- Length
- 40 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 345
- Earned a year, estimated
- $16,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
CLASS A Automatic Transmission
Commercial Driving Academy
Duncan
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$39,700Price if you pay yourself$5,50017 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, CLASS A Automatic Transmission at Commercial Driving AcademyMore details about CLASS A Automatic Transmission at Commercial Driving Academy
- Finished
- 94%
- Working at 6 months
- 8%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,920
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 339
- Earned a year, estimated
- $39,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,500
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 17
Class A Manual Transmission
Commercial Driving Academy
Duncan
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$45,000Price if you pay yourself$6,00036 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Class A Manual Transmission at Commercial Driving AcademyMore details about Class A Manual Transmission at Commercial Driving Academy
- Finished
- 95%
- Working at 6 months
- 26%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,238
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $610
- Students counted
- 198
- Earned a year, estimated
- $45,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 36
Commercial Truck Driver Training
Roadmaster Drivers School
Columbia
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,4957 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Commercial Truck Driver Training at Roadmaster Drivers SchoolMore details about Commercial Truck Driver Training at Roadmaster Drivers School
- Finished
- 66%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $200
- Students counted
- 128
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,495
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 7
Class A Truck Driving
Carolina Construction School LLC
Lancaster
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$31,100Price if you pay yourself$4,84588 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Class A Truck Driving at Carolina Construction School LLCMore details about Class A Truck Driving at Carolina Construction School LLC
- Finished
- 83%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,781
- Length
- 5 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $150
- Students counted
- 107
- Earned a year, estimated
- $31,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,845
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 88
Basic Truck Driver Training
Cdl Training Service Of Sc Dba Ace Driving Academy
Greer
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$39,500Price if you pay yourself$7,99546 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Basic Truck Driver Training at Cdl Training Service Of Sc Dba Ace Driving AcademyMore details about Basic Truck Driver Training at Cdl Training Service Of Sc Dba Ace Driving Academy
- Finished
- 92%
- Working at 6 months
- 91%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,885
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 104
- Earned a year, estimated
- $39,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,995
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 46
Class A CDL Truck Driver Training
Sage Truck Driving Schools
Lexington
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,99517 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Class A CDL Truck Driver Training at Sage Truck Driving SchoolsMore details about Class A CDL Truck Driver Training at Sage Truck Driving Schools
- Finished
- 95%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 6 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $10
- Students counted
- 94
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,995
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 17
Class A CDL Entry Level Driver Training
SBL Driving Academy, Inc.
Greer
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$40,000Price if you pay yourself$3,820Program website, Class A CDL Entry Level Driver Training at SBL Driving Academy, Inc.More details about Class A CDL Entry Level Driver Training at SBL Driving Academy, Inc.
- Finished
- 66%
- Working at 6 months
- 88%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,005
- Length
- 6 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,080
- Students counted
- 83
- Earned a year, estimated
- $40,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,820
Truck Driver - Cdl Class B
Tri-County Technical College
Pendleton
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$45,000Price if you pay yourself$2,4954 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck Driver - Cdl Class B at Tri-County Technical CollegeMore details about Truck Driver - Cdl Class B at Tri-County Technical College
- Finished
- 96%
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,255
- Length
- 5 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $212
- Students counted
- 77
- Earned a year, estimated
- $45,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,495
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Valley Coach & Logistics Commercial Driving Training School
Valley Coach & Logistics Driving Training School
Orangeburg
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$51,700Price if you pay yourself$6,50064 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Valley Coach & Logistics Commercial Driving Training School at Valley Coach & Logistics Driving Training SchoolMore details about Valley Coach & Logistics Commercial Driving Training School at Valley Coach & Logistics Driving Training School
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,919
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 72
- Earned a year, estimated
- $51,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,500
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 64
Truck Driver - Cdl
Williamsburg Technical College
Kingstree
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$39,100Price if you pay yourself$5,00029 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck Driver - Cdl at Williamsburg Technical CollegeMore details about Truck Driver - Cdl at Williamsburg Technical College
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- 63%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,769
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $150
- Students counted
- 42
- Earned a year, estimated
- $39,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 29
Truck Driver Training
Trusted King Transport Llc
West Columbia
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$23,700Price if you pay yourself$4,63035 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Truck Driver Training at Trusted King Transport LlcMore details about Truck Driver Training at Trusted King Transport Llc
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,925
- Length
- 5 weeks, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $430
- Students counted
- 37
- Earned a year, estimated
- $23,700
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,630
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 35
Class B Automatic
Commercial Driving Academy
Duncan
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,0003 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Class B Automatic at Commercial Driving AcademyMore details about Class B Automatic at Commercial Driving Academy
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $610
- Students counted
- 29
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Commercial Driver's License - CDL
Accel Training Centers, Inc.
Ridgeland
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,50018 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Commercial Driver's License - CDL at Accel Training Centers, Inc.More details about Commercial Driver's License - CDL at Accel Training Centers, Inc.
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 22
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,500
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 18
Commercial Transportation -Cdl - Truck Driver Ce
Northeastern Technical College
Cheraw
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$36,500Price if you pay yourself$5,0005 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Commercial Transportation -Cdl - Truck Driver Ce at Northeastern Technical CollegeMore details about Commercial Transportation -Cdl - Truck Driver Ce at Northeastern Technical College
- Finished
- 93%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,114
- Length
- 5 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 19
- Earned a year, estimated
- $36,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 5
CDL - Truck Driving (WD)
Horry-Georgetown Technical College
Conway
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$23,800Price if you pay yourself$5,59510 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, CDL - Truck Driving (WD) at Horry-Georgetown Technical CollegeMore details about CDL - Truck Driving (WD) at Horry-Georgetown Technical College
- Finished
- 89%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,956
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $150
- Students counted
- 11
- Earned a year, estimated
- $23,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,595
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 10
Hazmat
Commercial Driving Academy
Based in Duncan, SC
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$175Program website, Hazmat at Commercial Driving AcademyMore details about Hazmat at Commercial Driving Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $175
Class B CDL Training
Sage Truck Driving Schools
Lexington
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,705Program website, Class B CDL Training at Sage Truck Driving SchoolsMore details about Class B CDL Training at Sage Truck Driving Schools
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,705
Class B Manual
Commercial Driving Academy
Duncan
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,500Program website, Class B Manual at Commercial Driving AcademyMore details about Class B Manual at Commercial Driving Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,500
Collins CDL Truck School
Collins CDL Truck Driving School
Myrtle Beach
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,500Program website, Collins CDL Truck School at Collins CDL Truck Driving SchoolMore details about Collins CDL Truck School at Collins CDL Truck Driving School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,500
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for CDL training in South Carolina
WIOA funding can pay for CDL training in South Carolina
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for CDL training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
Company-paid CDL training
Some trucking companies run their own schools and may pay the tuition if you drive for them for a set time, such as a year.9
GI Bill for CDL training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.10
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: CDL training in South Carolina
- programs with a price cost under $5,000
- 12 of 25
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 31st of 45
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 6 of 41
- CDL training programs here, against the typical state's 35
- 25 vs 35
State comparisons use the same figures as the CDL training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
CDL training in Columbia, Greenville, Spartanburg and other South Carolina cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 3 more programs are in 3 other areas, 3 in smaller cities and towns and 1 online.
Other training in South Carolina
How CDL training compares with the rest of transportation and logistics: Transportation and logistics training in South Carolina
- CNA classes11 programs
- Medical assistant training11 programs
- Phlebotomy training8 programs
- Welding classes11 programs
- HVAC training7 programs
- Medical billing and coding training11 programs
- LPN programs4 programs
- EMT classes2 programs
- Electrician training4 programs
- Dental assistant programs4 programs
- Auto mechanic classes1 program
- Pharmacy technician training6 programs
- Plumbing school1 program
- CNC machinist training1 program
- Heavy equipment operator training2 programs
- Cybersecurity training4 programs
- IT training8 programs
- EKG technician programs4 programs
- Massage therapy school1 program
- Surgical tech programs1 program
- Radiology tech programs1 program
- Culinary school1 program
- PTA programs1 program
- Medical administrative assistant training5 programs
- Human resources training1 program
- Early childhood education programs1 program
- Aircraft mechanic school1 program
- Supply chain and logistics training1 program
- Coding and software development courses2 programs
- Lineman school2 programs
- Sterile processing technician training4 programs
- Sonography school1 program
- Administrative assistant training1 program
- Medical lab technician programs1 program
- Web and graphic design courses2 programs
- Vet tech programs1 program
- Patient care technician training6 programs
- Forklift certification2 programs
- Personal trainer certification1 program
- RBT certification training1 program
- Electronics technician training1 program
- Business administration programs1 program
- Criminal justice programs1 program
- Solar and wind technician training1 program
- Construction training programs2 programs
- RN programs5 programs
- Project management certification4 programs
Where the South Carolina truck driving program numbers come from
Which South Carolina truck driving programs are on this list?
These are the truck driving programs South Carolina approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).11 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what South Carolina offers.
How the prices and results of South Carolina truck driving programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about CDL training in South Carolina
Show the 11 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heavy and Tractor-trailer Truck Drivers
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 49 CFR part 380, subpart F, Entry-level driver training requirements
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee: Task 21-1 discussion notes (2021)
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List