Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Job training programs in Rapid City, South Dakota

43 programs in 27 fields, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

6 schools offer these programs with classes in the Rapid City area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Compare the fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

All job training programs in South Dakota, including online programs

All 43 job training programs in the Rapid City area

How to show the programs

Accounting and bookkeeping classes 3

All accounting and bookkeeping programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Phlebotomy training 3

All phlebotomy programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Plumbing school 3

All plumbing programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Welding classes 3

All welding programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

  • Welding (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Welding & Fabrication | AAS | Hybrid (66 credit hours)

    Western Dakota Technical College

    Rapid City

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Western Dakota Technical College, Rapid CityWelding (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$43,200
    Price if you pay yourself$18,876
    Program website, Welding & Fabrication | AAS | Hybrid (66 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical College
    More details about Welding & Fabrication | AAS | Hybrid (66 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical College
    Finished
    59%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,800
    Length
    64 weeks, 24 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $6,854
    Students counted
    105
    Earned a year, estimated
    $43,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $18,876
    Program website, Welding & Fabrication | AAS | Hybrid (66 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical College
  • Welding and fabricationHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Welding and Fabrication | Diploma | Hybrid (36 credit hours)

    Western Dakota Technical College

    Rapid City

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Western Dakota Technical College, Rapid CityWelding and fabrication · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$38,800
    Price if you pay yourself$10,296
    Program website, Welding and Fabrication | Diploma | Hybrid (36 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical College
    More details about Welding and Fabrication | Diploma | Hybrid (36 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical College
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,707
    Length
    32 weeks, 24 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,306
    Students counted
    60
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,296
    Program website, Welding and Fabrication | Diploma | Hybrid (36 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical College
  • Structural weldingIn personNo diploma needed

    Structural Welding Technologies | Certificate | In-person

    Great Plains Welding Academy

    Rapid City

    No diploma needed

    Great Plains Welding Academy, Rapid CityStructural weldingIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,200
    More details about Structural Welding Technologies | Certificate | In-person at Great Plains Welding Academy
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $300
    Students counted
    14
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,200

Administrative assistant training 2

All administrative assistant programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Barber school 2

All barber programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

  • Barber license programHybridNo diploma needed

    Barber Studies

    South Dakota Barber College, LLC

    Rapid City

    No diploma needed

    South Dakota Barber College, LLC, Rapid CityBarber license programHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$21,100
    Price if you pay yourself$18,500

    14 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Barber Studies at South Dakota Barber College, LLC
    More details about Barber Studies at South Dakota Barber College, LLC
    Finished
    83%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,270
    Length
    38 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,350
    Students counted
    58
    Earned a year, estimated
    $21,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $18,500
    students trained with WIOA funding
    14
    Program website, Barber Studies at South Dakota Barber College, LLC
  • Crossover, upgrade or short courseHybridEducation and courses

    Barber | Cosmetology to Barber Crossover

    South Dakota Barber College, LLC

    Rapid City

    Education and courses

    South Dakota Barber College, LLC, Rapid CityCrossover, upgrade or short courseHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,850

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Barber | Cosmetology to Barber Crossover at South Dakota Barber College, LLC
    More details about Barber | Cosmetology to Barber Crossover at South Dakota Barber College, LLC
    Finished
    96%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 25 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,900
    Students counted
    29
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,850
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Barber | Cosmetology to Barber Crossover at South Dakota Barber College, LLC

CDL training 2

All CDL training programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

CNC machinist training 2

All CNC machinist programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Diesel mechanic training 2

All diesel mechanic programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Electrician training 2

All electrician training programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

  • Electrician (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical Trades | AAS | Campus (77 credit hours)

    Western Dakota Technical College

    Rapid City

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Western Dakota Technical College, Rapid CityElectrician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$46,200
    Price if you pay yourself$22,022
    Program website, Electrical Trades | AAS | Campus (77 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical College
    More details about Electrical Trades | AAS | Campus (77 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical College
    Finished
    55%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,560
    Length
    64 weeks, 25 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $8,110
    Students counted
    93
    Earned a year, estimated
    $46,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $22,022
    Program website, Electrical Trades | AAS | Campus (77 credit hours) at Western Dakota Technical College
  • Electrician certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrician Training

    AETech Inc.

    Rapid City

    High school diploma or equivalent

    AETech Inc., Rapid CityElectrician certificate or diplomaIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$29,100
    Price if you pay yourself$10,073

    9 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Electrician Training at AETech Inc.
    Finished
    98%
    Working at 6 months
    Left out
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,266
    Length
    17 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $527
    Students counted
    55
    Earned a year, estimated
    $29,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,073
    students trained with WIOA funding
    9

EMT classes 2

All EMT and paramedic programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

IT training 2

All IT training programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Auto mechanic classes 1

All auto mechanic programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Business administration programs 1

All business programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

AutoCAD and drafting courses 1

All CAD and drafting programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Construction training programs 1

All construction programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Cosmetology school 1

All cosmetology programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Criminal justice programs 1

All criminal justice programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Dental assistant programs 1

All dental assistant programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Hospitality management programs 1

All hospitality management programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

HVAC training 1

All HVAC training programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Industrial maintenance technician training 1

All industrial maintenance programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

LPN programs 1

All LPN programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Medical assistant training 1

All medical assistant programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Medical lab technician programs 1

All medical lab programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

RN programs 1

All RN programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Surgical tech programs 1

All surgical tech programs in South Dakota, with typical prices and results

Each program shows its own figures as the school reported them. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate.Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Rapid City may offer more. How these figures are made

Is there free job training in Rapid City?

Where the Rapid City job training numbers come from

Which Rapid City programs are counted?

Programs with classes in the Rapid City area that the state they're in approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act). Online programs are on the state pages. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Rapid City offers.

What the figures for each field mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).

How reliable are the South Dakota figures?

We leave out the share working 6 months later for South Dakota: its rates sit far below every other state's.

Sources for the funding facts about job training in Rapid City

Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  2. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  3. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List