Allied health programs in Michigan
183 allied health programs in 16 fields of allied health, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
71 schools offer these programs, and Michigan has approved every one for workforce funding. Compare the 16 fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
Allied health covers health jobs beyond doctors and nurses. Here that means dental assistants and hygienists, X-ray, MRI, cardiovascular, sleep, dialysis and surgical techs, opticians, physical and occupational therapy assistants, massage therapists and personal trainers, and for animals, vet techs and veterinary assistants. Some take a certificate of a few months; others take a two-year degree.
All job training programs in Michigan, every line of work
Accredited allied health programs in Michigan, each school with its accreditor
Allied health programs by state, to compare Michigan with other states
Compare allied health programs in Michigan: cost, pay and results
Dental assistant programs
39 programs at 35 schools
- Most cost
- $3,874 to $16,297
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $25,800
- Working 6 months later
- 81%
- Finished
- 62%
Surgical tech programs (operating room)
15 programs at 14 schools
- Most cost
- $5,029 to $19,032
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $39,900
- Working 6 months later
- 85%
- Finished
- 57%
Massage therapy school
14 programs at 13 schools
- Most cost
- $8,860 to $16,120
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $20,800
- Working 6 months later
- 76%
- Finished
- 69%
Radiology tech programs (X-ray)
14 programs at 14 schools
- Most cost
- $13,660 to $29,487
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $45,300
- Working 6 months later
- 81%
- Finished
- 51%
Sterile processing technician training (surgical instruments)
13 programs at 13 schools
- Most cost
- $3,800 to $12,310
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $36,200
- Working 6 months later
- 83%
- Finished
- 62%
PTA programs (physical therapist assistant)
12 programs at 10 schools
- Most cost
- $10,632 to $23,614
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $39,800
- Working 6 months later
- 83%
- Finished
- 72%
Vet tech programs
12 programs at 12 schools
- Most cost
- $2,121 to $14,507
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $29,900
- Working 6 months later
- 88%
- Finished
- 56%
Sonography school (ultrasound)
11 programs at 8 schools
- Most cost
- $19,940 to $27,888
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $39,200
- Working 6 months later
- 74%
- Finished
- 50%
Personal trainer certification
11 programs at 8 schools
- Most cost
- $1,244 to $8,308
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Dental hygiene programs
10 programs at 10 schools
- Most cost
- $17,124 to $28,576
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $34,500
- Working 6 months later
- 83%
- Finished
- 48%
Respiratory therapy programs
8 programs at 8 schools
- Most cost
- $14,680 to $22,983
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $48,500
- Working 6 months later
- 82%
- Finished
- 81%
MRI tech school (magnetic resonance imaging)
7 programs at 6 schools
- Most cost
- $9,136 to $14,784
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Dialysis technician training
5 programs at 5 schools
- Most cost
- $4,415 to $26,140
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
OTA programs (occupational therapy assistant)
4 programs at 4 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Cardiovascular technology programs (heart lab)
4 programs at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not enough data
Optician training
4 programs at 4 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Each figure is the middle program of that field. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Michigan may offer more. How these figures are made
Other job training in Michigan, by line of work
- Trade school programs392
- Medical certification programs310
- Business and office training250
- IT certification programs245
- Nursing and patient care programs179
- First responder training135
- Transportation and logistics training117
- Child care and social services training78
- Culinary and hospitality programs33
- Beauty school23
- All job training in Michigan1,945
Programs approved in Michigan in each line of work.
Where the Michigan allied health numbers come from
Which Michigan programs are counted?
Programs Michigan approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Michigan offers.
What the figures for each field mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
Sources for the funding facts about allied health programs in Michigan
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List