Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Dialysis technician training in Louisiana

4 dialysis technician programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these dialysis technician programs, and Louisiana has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Patient care dialysis technicians run kidney dialysis machines and give direct care to patients with kidney failure. Under the federal rules for dialysis facilities, they need a high school diploma or equivalent and a training program run under a registered nurse, covering dialysis and its procedures, placing the needles (cannulation), possible complications, water treatment, infection control and safety.1 At dialysis centers covered by Medicare's rules, a patient care dialysis technician must be certified through a state program or a national certification program within 18 months of being hired, and must meet any state rules for dialysis technicians.2

In Louisiana, 1 of the 4 programs takes students without a high school diploma and 3 ask for a diploma or equivalent.

All 4 are the same kind of program: dialysis technician certificate or course.

See the 4 programs

How much does dialysis technician training cost in Louisiana?

$1,500 to $4,199

is what the 4 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not reported
None of the 4 programs report it
Working 6 months later
Not reported
None of the 4 programs report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
None of the 4 programs report it
Length
Not enough data
4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Louisiana may also offer dialysis technician training. How these figures are made

Is there free dialysis technician training in Louisiana?

All 4 dialysis technician programs in Louisiana approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

4 programs

  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Dialysis Technician

    Nursing Assistant Network Association

    New Orleans

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Nursing Assistant Network Association, New OrleansDialysis technician certificate or courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,500
    More details about Dialysis Technician at Nursing Assistant Network Association
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    8 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $365
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,500
  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseOnlineNo diploma needed

    Hemodialysis Technician

    Louisiana State University at Eunice

    Based in Eunice, LA

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Louisiana State University at Eunice, based in Eunice, LADialysis technician certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,595
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician at Louisiana State University at Eunice
    More details about Hemodialysis Technician at Louisiana State University at Eunice
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,595
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician at Louisiana State University at Eunice
  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Hemodialysis Technician

    Louisiana State University at Shreveport - Cont. Ed

    Based in Shreveport, LA

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Louisiana State University at Shreveport - Cont. Ed, based in Shreveport, LADialysis technician certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,595
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician at Louisiana State University at Shreveport - Cont. Ed
    More details about Hemodialysis Technician at Louisiana State University at Shreveport - Cont. Ed
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 4 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,595
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician at Louisiana State University at Shreveport - Cont. Ed
  • Dialysis technician certificate or courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Hemodialysis Technician (Not available in California or Washington)

    Southern University at Baton Rouge - Continuing Education

    Based in Baton Rouge, LA

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southern University at Baton Rouge - Continuing Education, based in Baton Rouge, LADialysis technician certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,199
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician (Not available in California or Washington) at Southern University at Baton Rouge - Continuing Education
    More details about Hemodialysis Technician (Not available in California or Washington) at Southern University at Baton Rouge - Continuing Education
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,199
    Program website, Hemodialysis Technician (Not available in California or Washington) at Southern University at Baton Rouge - Continuing Education

How to pay for dialysis technician training in Louisiana

WIOA funding can pay for dialysis technician training in Louisiana

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for dialysis technician training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for dialysis technician training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in Louisiana

How dialysis technician training compares with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Louisiana

Where the Louisiana dialysis technician program numbers come from

Which Louisiana dialysis technician programs are on this list?

These are the dialysis technician programs Louisiana approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Louisiana offers.

How the prices and results of Louisiana dialysis technician programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the Louisiana figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Louisiana among the states with "known data quality concerns".11 We leave out the share working 6 months later for Louisiana: most of its programs report exactly 100%, which no other state comes close to. We leave out the share who finished for Louisiana: half of its programs report exactly 100%.

Sources for the facts about dialysis technician training in Louisiana

Show the 11 sourcesHide the sources
  1. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 42 CFR 494.140(e), patient care dialysis technicians
  2. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 42 CFR 494.140(e), patient care dialysis technicians
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  11. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns