Crane operator training in Louisiana
24 crane operator programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
6 schools offer these crane operator programs, and Louisiana has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 15 of these 24 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.
Crane and tower operators lift and move materials, machinery and other heavy loads, usually guided by signals from workers on the ground. Training can take several months, many operators first spend years running other construction equipment or working as riggers and signalers, and some states and cities require a crane operator license.1 On construction sites, federal rules require employers to make sure each crane operator is certified, by an accredited testing organization, or licensed before running most cranes, and the employer must provide that certification at no cost to the worker.2
In Louisiana, 20 of the 24 programs take students without a high school diploma, 2 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 2 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 24 programs here are mobile crane operator course (15 programs) and rigger and signal person course (9 programs).
See the 24 programsHow much does crane operator training cost in Louisiana?
$1,838 to $5,500 is what most crane operator programs in Louisiana cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 24 programs with a price. All of them: $650 to $10,500
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Left out
- Half of Louisiana's programs report exactly 100%
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Most of Louisiana's programs report exactly 100%, which no other state comes close to
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- 1 to 4 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Louisiana may also offer crane operator training. How these figures are made
All 24 crane operator programs in Louisiana approved for WIOA funding
Filters
24 programs
Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab, Telescopic Boom Swing Cab & Lattice Boom Crawler- Nov
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$42,800Price if you pay yourself$10,50033 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab, Telescopic Boom Swing Cab & Lattice Boom Crawler- Nov at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab, Telescopic Boom Swing Cab & Lattice Boom Crawler- Nov at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Left out
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,693
- Length
- 4 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 35
- Earned a year, estimated
- $42,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,500
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 33
NCCCO Mobile Crane Operator Training
River Parishes Community College
Gonzales
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$30,500Price if you pay yourself$6,50012 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, NCCCO Mobile Crane Operator Training at River Parishes Community CollegeMore details about NCCCO Mobile Crane Operator Training at River Parishes Community College
- Finished
- Left out
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,628
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $75
- Students counted
- 12
- Earned a year, estimated
- $30,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,500
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 12
Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS) & Telescopic Boom Swing Cab (TLL) Novice
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$45,800Price if you pay yourself$8,50012 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS) & Telescopic Boom Swing Cab (TLL) Novice at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS) & Telescopic Boom Swing Cab (TLL) Novice at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Left out
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,440
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 12
- Earned a year, estimated
- $45,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,500
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 12
NCCER Mobile Crane Level 1
Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City Campus
Baton Rouge
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$650School website, NCCER Mobile Crane Level 1 at Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City CampusMore details about NCCER Mobile Crane Level 1 at Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City Campus
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 40 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $650
NCCER Mobile Crane Level 2
Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City Campus
Baton Rouge
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$650School website, NCCER Mobile Crane Level 2 at Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City CampusMore details about NCCER Mobile Crane Level 2 at Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City Campus
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 25 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $650
NCCER Mobile Crane Level 3
Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City Campus
Baton Rouge
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$650School website, NCCER Mobile Crane Level 3 at Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City CampusMore details about NCCER Mobile Crane Level 3 at Baton Rouge Community College- Mid City Campus
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 25 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $650
NCCCO Rigging 1
Fletcher Technical Community College
Schriever
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,350Program website, NCCCO Rigging 1 at Fletcher Technical Community CollegeMore details about NCCCO Rigging 1 at Fletcher Technical Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,350
Rigger Level One (Rig 1)
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,500Program website, Rigger Level One (Rig 1) at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Rigger Level One (Rig 1) at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,500
Signalperson
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,500Program website, Signalperson at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Signalperson at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,500
Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS)
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,950Program website, Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS) at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS) at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,950
Telescopic Boom Swing Cab (TLL)
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,150Program website, Telescopic Boom Swing Cab (TLL) at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Telescopic Boom Swing Cab (TLL) at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,150
Lattice Boom Crawler (LBC) or Lattice Boom truck (LBT)
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,250Program website, Lattice Boom Crawler (LBC) or Lattice Boom truck (LBT) at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Lattice Boom Crawler (LBC) or Lattice Boom truck (LBT) at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,250
Signalperson & Rigger Level One
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,450Program website, Signalperson & Rigger Level One at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Signalperson & Rigger Level One at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,450
NCCCO Signal Person/Rigger Training (Non-Credit)
River Parishes Community College
Gonzales
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,500Program website, NCCCO Signal Person/Rigger Training (Non-Credit) at River Parishes Community CollegeMore details about NCCCO Signal Person/Rigger Training (Non-Credit) at River Parishes Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,500
Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS) & Telescopic Boom Swing Cab (TLL)
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,550Program website, Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS) & Telescopic Boom Swing Cab (TLL) at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS) & Telescopic Boom Swing Cab (TLL) at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,550
Rigger level One & Rigger Level Two
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,650Program website, Rigger level One & Rigger Level Two at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Rigger level One & Rigger Level Two at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,650
Siganlperson, Rigger Level One & Rigger Level Two
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,950Program website, Siganlperson, Rigger Level One & Rigger Level Two at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Siganlperson, Rigger Level One & Rigger Level Two at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,950
Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS), Telescopic Boom Swing Cab (TLL), Lattice Boom C
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,250Program website, Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS), Telescopic Boom Swing Cab (TLL), Lattice Boom C at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS), Telescopic Boom Swing Cab (TLL), Lattice Boom C at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 32 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,250
Mobile Crane Operator Training
Lamar State College-Orange
Orange, TX
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Louisiana; Louisiana approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,500School website, Mobile Crane Operator Training at Lamar State College-OrangeMore details about Mobile Crane Operator Training at Lamar State College-Orange
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,500
Signalperson & Rigger Level One Novice
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,000Program website, Signalperson & Rigger Level One Novice at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Signalperson & Rigger Level One Novice at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,000
Crane Operator Training-NCCCO
Fletcher Technical Community College
Schriever
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,500Program website, Crane Operator Training-NCCCO at Fletcher Technical Community CollegeMore details about Crane Operator Training-NCCCO at Fletcher Technical Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,500
Mobile Crane Operator
Nunez Community College
Chalmette
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,500Program website, Mobile Crane Operator at Nunez Community CollegeMore details about Mobile Crane Operator at Nunez Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $220
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,500
Signalperson, Rigger Level One & Rigger Level Two Novice
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,000Program website, Signalperson, Rigger Level One & Rigger Level Two Novice at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Signalperson, Rigger Level One & Rigger Level Two Novice at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,000
Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS) Novice
AAA Crane and Rigging
Addis
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,500Program website, Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS) Novice at AAA Crane and RiggingMore details about Telescopic Boom Fixed Cab (TSS) Novice at AAA Crane and Rigging
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,500
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for crane operator training in Louisiana
WIOA funding can pay for crane operator training in Louisiana
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for crane operator training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for crane operator training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Crane operator training in Louisiana
- programs with a price cost under $2,000
- 7 of 24
- most crane operator programs of any state, after Texas
- 2nd
State comparisons use the same figures as the crane operator training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Crane operator training in Baton Rouge, Houma, Beaumont and other Louisiana cities
Areas with 10 or more programs have a page of their own. Choosing another area filters the program list above.
Other training in Louisiana
How crane operator training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Louisiana
- CDL training68 programs
- CNA classes21 programs
- Medical assistant training65 programs
- Phlebotomy training49 programs
- Welding classes52 programs
- HVAC training32 programs
- Medical billing and coding training54 programs
- LPN programs23 programs
- EMT classes16 programs
- Electrician training33 programs
- Dental assistant programs23 programs
- Auto mechanic classes10 programs
- Pharmacy technician training38 programs
- Plumbing school10 programs
- CNC machinist training9 programs
- Carpentry classes5 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training13 programs
- Diesel mechanic training9 programs
- Cybersecurity training33 programs
- IT training84 programs
- Cosmetology school2 programs
- Barber school2 programs
- EKG technician programs29 programs
- Massage therapy school8 programs
- Paralegal programs20 programs
- Fire academy3 programs
- Surgical tech programs11 programs
- Radiology tech programs10 programs
- Culinary school10 programs
- Home health aide training1 program
- PTA programs9 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training44 programs
- Human resources training15 programs
- Medication aide training3 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training40 programs
- Early childhood education programs5 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school5 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training9 programs
- Hospitality management programs3 programs
- Community health worker training1 program
- Coding and software development courses9 programs
- Lineman school7 programs
- Sterile processing technician training7 programs
- Sonography school2 programs
- Data analytics courses3 programs
- Administrative assistant training34 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs4 programs
- Medical lab technician programs10 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses14 programs
- Digital marketing courses6 programs
- Web and graphic design courses10 programs
- Health information technology programs12 programs
- Vet tech programs1 program
- Real estate school3 programs
- Patient care technician training19 programs
- OTA programs2 programs
- Interpreter and translator training1 program
- Home inspector training2 programs
- Forklift certification3 programs
- Personal trainer certification2 programs
- Healthcare administration programs4 programs
- Customer service training7 programs
- RBT certification training2 programs
- Mental health technician training3 programs
- Manufacturing technician training32 programs
- Electronics technician training4 programs
- Business administration programs13 programs
- Criminal justice programs14 programs
- Teacher assistant certification2 programs
- Auto body repair classes2 programs
- Merchant mariner training7 programs
- Sleep technician training1 program
- Solar and wind technician training1 program
- Water treatment operator training5 programs
- OSHA safety training6 programs
- Dialysis technician training4 programs
- Insurance license courses1 program
- Construction training programs25 programs
- Dental hygiene programs1 program
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes30 programs
- RN programs35 programs
- Project management certification27 programs
Where the Louisiana crane operator program numbers come from
Which Louisiana crane operator programs are on this list?
These are the crane operator programs Louisiana approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Louisiana offers.
How the prices and results of Louisiana crane operator programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the Louisiana figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists Louisiana among the states with "known data quality concerns".11 We leave out the share working 6 months later for Louisiana: most of its programs report exactly 100%, which no other state comes close to. We leave out the share who finished for Louisiana: half of its programs report exactly 100%.
Sources for the facts about crane operator training in Louisiana
Show the 11 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Material Moving Machine Operators
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 29 CFR 1926.1427, Operator training, certification, and evaluation
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns