Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Job training programs in Johnson City, Tennessee

37 programs in 30 fields, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

7 schools offer these programs with classes in the Johnson City area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Compare the fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

All job training programs in Tennessee, including online programs

All 37 job training programs in the Johnson City area

How to show the programs

CDL training 4

All CDL training programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Auto mechanic classes 2

All auto mechanic programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Diesel mechanic training 2

All diesel mechanic programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

IT training 2

All IT training programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Respiratory therapy programs 2

All respiratory therapy programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Accounting and bookkeeping classes 1

All accounting and bookkeeping programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Administrative assistant training 1

All administrative assistant programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

CNC machinist training 1

All CNC machinist programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Construction training programs 1

All construction programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Cosmetology school 1

All cosmetology programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

  • Cosmetology license programIn personNo diploma needed

    Cosmetology

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton

    Elizabethton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton, ElizabethtonCosmetology license program · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$18,200
    Price if you pay yourself$4,916

    11 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Cosmetology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    More details about Cosmetology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    Finished
    70%
    Working at 6 months
    66%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,546
    Length
    50 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,711
    Students counted
    128
    Earned a year, estimated
    $18,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,916
    students trained with WIOA funding
    11
    Program website, Cosmetology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton

Criminal justice programs 1

All criminal justice programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

  • Criminal justice certificateIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Criminal Justice

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton

    Elizabethton

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton, ElizabethtonCriminal justice certificate · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,746
    School website, Criminal Justice at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    More details about Criminal Justice at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    24 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $705
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,746
    School website, Criminal Justice at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton

Dental hygiene programs 1

All dental hygiene programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

  • Dental hygiene program (level not stated)HybridNo diploma needed

    Dental Hygiene

    East Tennessee State University

    Johnson City

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    East Tennessee State University, Johnson CityDental hygiene program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$60,700
    Price if you pay yourself$47,230
    Program website, Dental Hygiene at East Tennessee State University
    More details about Dental Hygiene at East Tennessee State University
    Finished
    92%
    Working at 6 months
    97%
    Earned in a quarter
    $15,175
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,100
    Students counted
    208
    Earned a year, estimated
    $60,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $47,230
    Program website, Dental Hygiene at East Tennessee State University

Electrician training 1

All electrician training programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Electronics technician training 1

All electronics programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Esthetician school 1

All esthetician programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

  • Esthetician license programIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Aesthetics Program

    Jenny Lea Academy

    Johnson City

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Jenny Lea Academy, Johnson CityEsthetician license program · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$16,500
    Price if you pay yourself$9,400

    23 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Aesthetics Program at Jenny Lea Academy
    More details about Aesthetics Program at Jenny Lea Academy
    Finished
    87%
    Working at 6 months
    69%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,125
    Length
    26 weeks, 32 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,199
    Students counted
    186
    Earned a year, estimated
    $16,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,400
    students trained with WIOA funding
    23
    Program website, Aesthetics Program at Jenny Lea Academy

HVAC training 1

All HVAC training programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Industrial maintenance technician training 1

All industrial maintenance programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

  • Industrial maintenance certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Millwright Skills

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton

    Elizabethton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton, ElizabethtonIndustrial maintenance certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$21,900
    Price if you pay yourself$4,154

    13 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Millwright Skills at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    More details about Millwright Skills at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    Finished
    88%
    Working at 6 months
    85%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,471
    Length
    43 weeks, 31 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,866
    Students counted
    89
    Earned a year, estimated
    $21,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,154
    students trained with WIOA funding
    13
    Program website, Millwright Skills at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton

LPN programs 1

All LPN programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

  • Practical nursing (LPN)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Practical Nursing

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton

    Elizabethton

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton, ElizabethtonPractical nursing (LPN) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$35,200
    Price if you pay yourself$4,144

    160 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Practical Nursing at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    More details about Practical Nursing at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    Finished
    69%
    Working at 6 months
    86%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,799
    Length
    43 weeks, 31 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,565
    Students counted
    730
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,144
    students trained with WIOA funding
    160
    Program website, Practical Nursing at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton

Manufacturing technician training 1

All manufacturing programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Medical administrative assistant training 1

All medical office programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Medical assistant training 1

All medical assistant programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

MRI tech school 1

All MRI programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Paralegal programs 1

All paralegal programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Pharmacy technician training 1

All pharmacy technician programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Phlebotomy training 1

All phlebotomy programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Plumbing school 1

All plumbing programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

Project management certification 1

All project management programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

  • Project management certificate or courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Project Management

    IMPACT Professional Training - TRI-CITIES

    Johnson City

    High school diploma or equivalent

    IMPACT Professional Training - TRI-CITIES, Johnson CityProject management certificate or courseHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,732
    Program website, Project Management at IMPACT Professional Training - TRI-CITIES
    More details about Project Management at IMPACT Professional Training - TRI-CITIES
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    4 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $990
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,732
    Program website, Project Management at IMPACT Professional Training - TRI-CITIES

Radiology tech programs 1

All radiology tech programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

  • Radiography (bachelor's degree)HybridNo diploma needed

    Radiography

    East Tennessee State University

    Johnson City

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    East Tennessee State University, Johnson CityRadiography (bachelor's degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$51,600
    Price if you pay yourself$47,230
    Program website, Radiography at East Tennessee State University
    More details about Radiography at East Tennessee State University
    Finished
    93%
    Working at 6 months
    93%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,890
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,100
    Students counted
    292
    Earned a year, estimated
    $51,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $47,230
    Program website, Radiography at East Tennessee State University

RN programs 1

All RN programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

  • RN bachelor's degree (BSN)HybridNo diploma needed

    Nursing - Rn (Bsn)

    East Tennessee State University

    Johnson City

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    East Tennessee State University, Johnson CityRN bachelor's degree (BSN) · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$81,200
    Price if you pay yourself$47,230

    32 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Nursing - Rn (Bsn) at East Tennessee State University
    More details about Nursing - Rn (Bsn) at East Tennessee State University
    Finished
    93%
    Working at 6 months
    92%
    Earned in a quarter
    $20,305
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,700
    Students counted
    3,434
    Earned a year, estimated
    $81,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $47,230
    students trained with WIOA funding
    32
    Program website, Nursing - Rn (Bsn) at East Tennessee State University

Welding classes 1

All welding programs in Tennessee, with typical prices and results

  • General weldingIn personNo diploma needed

    Welding

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton

    Elizabethton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton, ElizabethtonGeneral welding · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$41,400
    Price if you pay yourself$4,119

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Welding at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    More details about Welding at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    Finished
    96%
    Working at 6 months
    71%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,359
    Length
    43 weeks, 31 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,302
    Students counted
    168
    Earned a year, estimated
    $41,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,119
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Welding at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton

Each program shows its own figures as the school reported them. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate.Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Johnson City may offer more. How these figures are made

Is there free job training in Johnson City?

Where the Johnson City job training numbers come from

Which Johnson City programs are counted?

Programs with classes in the Johnson City area that the state they're in approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act). Online programs are on the state pages. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Johnson City offers.

What the figures for each field mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).

Sources for the funding facts about job training in Johnson City

Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  2. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  3. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List