Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Electronics technician training in Tennessee

10 electronics programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

9 schools offer these electronics programs, and Tennessee has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Electrical and electronic engineering technicians help engineers design and develop electrical and electronic equipment. They typically need an associate degree; certifications are available in many specialties, and while optional, they show advanced knowledge.1

In Tennessee, 2 of the 10 programs take students without a high school diploma, 6 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 2 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 10 programs here are electronics technician certificate or diploma (5 programs), electronics (associate degree, 4 programs) and fiber optic, telecom and low-voltage cabling (1 program).

See the 10 programs

How much does electronics technician training cost in Tennessee?

$5,619 to $9,414 is what most electronics programs in Tennessee cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 10 programs with a price. All of them: $4,141 to $11,225

In the typical program

Finished the program
79%
Working 6 months later
88%
Earned a year, estimated
about $46,400
Length
28 to 70 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Tennessee may also offer electronics technician training. How these figures are made

Is there free electronics technician training in Tennessee?

All 10 electronics programs in Tennessee approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

10 programs

  • Electronics (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical Engineering Technology

    WSCC Morristown Campus

    Morristown

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    WSCC Morristown Campus, MorristownElectronics (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$52,400
    Price if you pay yourself$9,242
    School website, Electrical Engineering Technology at WSCC Morristown Campus
    More details about Electrical Engineering Technology at WSCC Morristown Campus
    Finished
    73%
    Working at 6 months
    83%
    Earned in a quarter
    $13,088
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $11,800
    Students counted
    139
    Earned a year, estimated
    $52,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,242
    School website, Electrical Engineering Technology at WSCC Morristown Campus
  • Electronics (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical Engineering Technology A.A.S.

    Cleveland State Comm College

    Cleveland

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Cleveland State Comm College, ClevelandElectronics (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$57,400
    Price if you pay yourself$9,471
    Program website, Electrical Engineering Technology A.A.S. at Cleveland State Comm College
    More details about Electrical Engineering Technology A.A.S. at Cleveland State Comm College
    Finished
    93%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $14,345
    Length
    60 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,116
    Students counted
    126
    Earned a year, estimated
    $57,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,471
    Program website, Electrical Engineering Technology A.A.S. at Cleveland State Comm College
  • Electronics (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical Engineering Technology Degree Program

    Pellissippi State Community College

    Knoxville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Pellissippi State Community College, KnoxvilleElectronics (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$47,700
    Price if you pay yourself$9,052
    Program website, Electrical Engineering Technology Degree Program at Pellissippi State Community College
    More details about Electrical Engineering Technology Degree Program at Pellissippi State Community College
    Finished
    76%
    Working at 6 months
    93%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,930
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $2,641
    Students counted
    99
    Earned a year, estimated
    $47,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,052
    Program website, Electrical Engineering Technology Degree Program at Pellissippi State Community College
  • Electronics technician certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    Electricity / Electronics

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton

    Elizabethton

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton, ElizabethtonElectronics technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$30,000
    Price if you pay yourself$6,758
    Program website, Electricity / Electronics at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    More details about Electricity / Electronics at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
    Finished
    82%
    Working at 6 months
    53%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,498
    Length
    96 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,891
    Students counted
    67
    Earned a year, estimated
    $30,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,758
    Program website, Electricity / Electronics at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
  • Electronics technician certificate or diplomaOnlineEducation and courses

    Engineering Technology Industrial Tech

    Chattanooga State Community College

    Based in Chattanooga, TN

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Chattanooga State Community College, based in Chattanooga, TNElectronics technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolOnline · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$37,600
    Price if you pay yourself$10,524
    Program website, Engineering Technology Industrial Tech at Chattanooga State Community College
    More details about Engineering Technology Industrial Tech at Chattanooga State Community College
    Finished
    19%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,404
    Length
    16 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,500
    Students counted
    32
    Earned a year, estimated
    $37,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,524
    Program website, Engineering Technology Industrial Tech at Chattanooga State Community College
  • Electronics technician certificate or diplomaIn personNo diploma needed

    ELECTRONICS Systems

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Hohenwald

    Hohenwald

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Hohenwald, HohenwaldElectronics technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$17,600
    Price if you pay yourself$5,492
    Program website, ELECTRONICS Systems at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Hohenwald
    More details about ELECTRONICS Systems at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Hohenwald
    Finished
    85%
    Working at 6 months
    61%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,389
    Length
    80 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,758
    Students counted
    29
    Earned a year, estimated
    $17,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,492
    Program website, ELECTRONICS Systems at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Hohenwald
  • Fiber optic, telecom and low-voltage cablingIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Communications Systems Installation and Repair Technology

    Southeast Lineman Training Center

    Trenton, GA

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southeast Lineman Training Center, Trenton, GAFiber optic, telecom and low-voltage cablingIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Tennessee; Tennessee approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimated$45,000
    Price if you pay yourself$6,000

    8 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Communications Systems Installation and Repair Technology at Southeast Lineman Training Center
    More details about Communications Systems Installation and Repair Technology at Southeast Lineman Training Center
    Finished
    75%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,255
    Length
    8 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,955
    Students counted
    22
    Earned a year, estimated
    $45,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,000
    students trained with WIOA funding
    8
    Program website, Communications Systems Installation and Repair Technology at Southeast Lineman Training Center
  • Electronics technician certificate or diplomaHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electronics Technology

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Memphis

    Memphis

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Memphis, MemphisElectronics technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,492
    More details about Electronics Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Memphis
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    40 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $848
    Students counted
    20
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,492
  • Electronics (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Electrical/Electronic Engineering Tech

    Chattanooga State Community College

    Chattanooga

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Chattanooga State Community College, ChattanoogaElectronics (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$62,300
    Price if you pay yourself$11,225
    Program website, Electrical/Electronic Engineering Tech at Chattanooga State Community College
    More details about Electrical/Electronic Engineering Tech at Chattanooga State Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $15,578
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $1,500
    Students counted
    14
    Earned a year, estimated
    $62,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,225
    Program website, Electrical/Electronic Engineering Tech at Chattanooga State Community College
  • Electronics technician certificate or diplomaHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical/Electronic Fundmentals Technical Certificate

    Southwest Tennessee Community College

    Memphis

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southwest Tennessee Community College, MemphisElectronics technician certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,141
    School website, Electrical/Electronic Fundmentals Technical Certificate at Southwest Tennessee Community College
    More details about Electrical/Electronic Fundmentals Technical Certificate at Southwest Tennessee Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,141
    School website, Electrical/Electronic Fundmentals Technical Certificate at Southwest Tennessee Community College

How to pay for electronics technician training in Tennessee

WIOA funding can pay for electronics technician training in Tennessee

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for electronics technician training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for electronics technician training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Electronics technician training in Tennessee

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
15th of 21
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
9 of 10
electronics programs here, against the typical state's 6
10 vs 6

State comparisons use the same figures as the electronics technician training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Electronics technician training in Chattanooga, Memphis, Morristown and other Tennessee cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 in smaller cities and towns and 1 online.

Other training in Tennessee

How electronics technician training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Tennessee

Where the Tennessee electronics program numbers come from

Which Tennessee electronics programs are on this list?

These are the electronics programs Tennessee approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Tennessee offers.

How the prices and results of Tennessee electronics programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about electronics technician training in Tennessee

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List