Diesel mechanic training in Tennessee
14 diesel mechanic programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
13 schools offer these diesel mechanic programs, and Tennessee has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Diesel mechanics inspect and repair buses and trucks and maintain diesel engines of every kind. Community colleges and technical schools offer certificates and degrees in diesel repair, employers may require or prefer certification, and some jobs need a commercial driver's license to test-drive trucks and buses.1 In Tennessee, 8 of the 14 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.
See the 14 programsHow much does diesel mechanic training cost in Tennessee?
$6,590 to $6,865 is what most diesel mechanic programs in Tennessee cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 14 programs with a price. All of them: $4,200 to $7,560
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 71%
- Working 6 months later
- 84%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $37,300
- Length
- 58 to 78 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Tennessee may also offer diesel mechanic training. How these figures are made
Diesel mechanic training in Knoxville, Johnson City, Nashville and other Tennessee cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 2 more programs are in 2 other areas, 2 in smaller cities and towns.
All 14 diesel mechanic programs in Tennessee approved for WIOA funding
Filters
14 programs
Diesel Powered Equipment Technology
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Knoxville
Knoxville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$46,300Price if you pay yourself$7,5607 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At KnoxvilleMore details about Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Knoxville
- Finished
- 67%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,565
- Length
- 52 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,210
- Students counted
- 242
- a year, estimated
- $46,300
- price
- $7,560
- trained with WIOA funding
- 7
Diesel Powered Equipment Technology
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
Elizabethton
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$32,100Price if you pay yourself$6,86511 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At ElizabethtonMore details about Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
- Finished
- 72%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,025
- Length
- 72 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $6,620
- Students counted
- 171
- a year, estimated
- $32,100
- price
- $6,865
- trained with WIOA funding
- 11
Diesel Powered Equipment Technology
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Dickson
Dickson
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,400Price if you pay yourself$6,8655 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At DicksonMore details about Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Dickson
- Finished
- 83%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,346
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,747
- Students counted
- 134
- a year, estimated
- $37,400
- price
- $6,865
- trained with WIOA funding
- 5
Diesel Powered Equipment
TCAT Upper Cumberland
Crossville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$29,200Price if you pay yourself$6,86514 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Diesel Powered Equipment at TCAT Upper CumberlandMore details about Diesel Powered Equipment at TCAT Upper Cumberland
- Finished
- 93%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,297
- Length
- 73 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $6,442
- Students counted
- 108
- a year, estimated
- $29,200
- price
- $6,865
- trained with WIOA funding
- 14
Diesel Powered Equipment Technology
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Harriman
Harriman
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$37,300Price if you pay yourself$7,45030 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Harriman
- Finished
- 68%
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,327
- Length
- 104 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $9,867
- Students counted
- 104
- a year, estimated
- $37,300
- price
- $7,450
- trained with WIOA funding
- 30
Diesel Equipment Technology
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Chattanooga
Chattanooga
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,500Price if you pay yourself$4,260Program website, Diesel Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At ChattanoogaMore details about Diesel Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Chattanooga
- Finished
- 41%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,375
- Length
- 13 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,900
- Students counted
- 91
- a year, estimated
- $37,500
- price
- $4,260
Diesel Powered Equipment Technology
Tennessee College of Applied Technology Northwest
Newbern
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$38,000Price if you pay yourself$6,8654 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College of Applied Technology NorthwestMore details about Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College of Applied Technology Northwest
- Finished
- 92%
- Working at 6 months
- 77%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,497
- Length
- 72 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $7,609
- Students counted
- 80
- a year, estimated
- $38,000
- price
- $6,865
- trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Diesel Mechanics
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Memphis
Memphis
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$42,400Price if you pay yourself$6,865More details about Diesel Mechanics at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Memphis
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,596
- Length
- 80 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,306
- Students counted
- 77
- a year, estimated
- $42,400
- price
- $6,865
Diesel Powered Equipment Technology
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Nashville
Nashville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$48,400Price if you pay yourself$7,200School website, Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At NashvilleMore details about Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Nashville
- Finished
- 84%
- Working at 6 months
- 95%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,090
- Length
- 72 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,802
- Students counted
- 73
- a year, estimated
- $48,400
- price
- $7,200
Diesel Powered Equipment Technology
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Crump
Crump
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$16,300Price if you pay yourself$6,560Program website, Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At CrumpMore details about Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Crump
- Finished
- 30%
- Working at 6 months
- 82%
- Earned in a quarter
- $4,066
- Length
- 104 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,818
- Students counted
- 66
- a year, estimated
- $16,300
- price
- $6,560
Diesel Technology
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Livingston
Livingston
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$26,700Price if you pay yourself$5,4927 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Diesel Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At LivingstonMore details about Diesel Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Livingston
- Finished
- 71%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,676
- Length
- 60 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,907
- Students counted
- 64
- a year, estimated
- $26,700
- price
- $5,492
- trained with WIOA funding
- 7
Diesel Powered Equipment Technology
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Oneida Huntsvill
Huntsville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$28,900Price if you pay yourself$6,680More details about Diesel Powered Equipment Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Oneida Huntsvill
- Finished
- 45%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,215
- Length
- 58 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,285
- Students counted
- 31
- a year, estimated
- $28,900
- price
- $6,680
Diesel Powered Equipment Technology - Agriculture Construction & Equipment
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
Elizabethton
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$22,200Price if you pay yourself$6,6805 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Diesel Powered Equipment Technology - Agriculture Construction & Equipment at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At ElizabethtonMore details about Diesel Powered Equipment Technology - Agriculture Construction & Equipment at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
- Finished
- 67%
- Working at 6 months
- 93%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,545
- Length
- 72 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,238
- Students counted
- 13
- a year, estimated
- $22,200
- price
- $6,680
- trained with WIOA funding
- 5
Diesel Mechanic Technician
Southwest Tennessee Community College
Memphis
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,200School website, Diesel Mechanic Technician at Southwest Tennessee Community CollegeMore details about Diesel Mechanic Technician at Southwest Tennessee Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 17 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,200
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for diesel mechanic training in Tennessee
WIOA funding can pay for diesel mechanic training in Tennessee
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for diesel mechanic training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for diesel mechanic training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Quick facts: Diesel mechanic training in Tennessee
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 11th of 26
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 4 of 13
- diesel mechanic programs here, against the typical state's 8
- 14 vs 8
State comparisons use the same figures as the diesel mechanic training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Where the Tennessee diesel mechanic program numbers come from
Which Tennessee diesel mechanic programs are on this list?
These are the diesel mechanic programs Tennessee approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Tennessee offers.
How Tennessee diesel mechanic program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some diesel mechanic programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Tennessee
- CDL training47 programs
- CNA classes31 programs
- Medical assistant training36 programs
- Phlebotomy training25 programs
- Welding classes34 programs
- HVAC training31 programs
- Medical billing and coding training22 programs
- LPN programs25 programs
- EMT classes41 programs
- Electrician training13 programs
- Dental assistant programs31 programs
- Auto mechanic classes26 programs
- Pharmacy technician training28 programs
- Plumbing school3 programs
- CNC machinist training25 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training3 programs
- Cybersecurity training31 programs
- IT training51 programs
- Project management certification9 programs
Sources for the facts about diesel mechanic training in Tennessee
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Diesel Service Technicians and Mechanics
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List