Retraining Report
Find training

Medical billing and coding training in Pennsylvania

19 medical billing and coding programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

12 schools offer these medical billing and coding programs, and Pennsylvania has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Medical records specialists keep patient files and may classify patients' medical information into the numerical coding system the healthcare industry uses. Most start with a postsecondary certificate, some need an associate's degree, and certification may be required or preferred.1 In Pennsylvania, 2 of the 19 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 18 are taught partly or fully online.

See the 19 programs

How much does medical billing and coding training cost in Pennsylvania?

$3,500 to $13,515

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 19 programs with a price: $2,000 to $27,000

Finished the program
80%
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Length
29 to 52 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Pennsylvania may also offer medical billing and coding training. How these figures are made

Is there free medical billing and coding training in Pennsylvania?

Medical billing and coding training in Pittsburgh, Detroit, Philadelphia and other Pennsylvania cities

Choosing an area filters the list below. 2 more programs are in 2 other areas and 2 online.

All 19 medical billing and coding programs in Pennsylvania approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

19 programs

  • Billing and codingHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Insurance Billing and Coding Diploma

    Institute Of Medical Careers Inc, Erie

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Institute Of Medical Careers Inc, Erie · Billing and coding · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$31,200
    Price if you pay yourself$22,500
    More details about Medical Insurance Billing and Coding Diploma at Institute Of Medical Careers Inc
    Finished
    85%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,798
    Length
    48 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    264
    a year, estimated
    $31,200
    price
    $22,500
  • Billing and codingOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Coding & Billing

    South Hills School of Business & Technology, Online, based in State College, PA

    High school diploma or equivalent

    South Hills School of Business & Technology, Online, based in State College, PA · Billing and coding · Online · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,500
    Program website, Medical Coding & Billing at South Hills School of Business & Technology
    More details about Medical Coding & Billing at South Hills School of Business & Technology
    Finished
    88%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    36 weeks, 14 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    69
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $10,500
  • Medical billingHybridEducation and courses

    Medical Insurance Specialist Certificate

    Community College Allegheny County, Pittsburgh

    Education and courses

    Community College Allegheny County, Pittsburgh · Medical billing · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,490
    Program website, Medical Insurance Specialist Certificate at Community College Allegheny County
    More details about Medical Insurance Specialist Certificate at Community College Allegheny County
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 13 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,300
    Students counted
    68
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $5,490
  • Medical billingHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Billing Specialist

    Medcerts LLC, Livonia, MI

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Medcerts LLC, Livonia, MI · Medical billing · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Pennsylvania; Pennsylvania approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,000
    Program website, Medical Billing Specialist at Medcerts LLC
    More details about Medical Billing Specialist at Medcerts LLC
    Finished
    81%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    14 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    64
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,000
  • Medical codingHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Coding

    Pittsburgh Technical College Inc, Oakdale

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Pittsburgh Technical College Inc, Oakdale · Medical coding · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$39,100
    Price if you pay yourself$16,530
    School website, Medical Coding at Pittsburgh Technical College Inc
    More details about Medical Coding at Pittsburgh Technical College Inc
    Finished
    79%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,776
    Length
    40 weeks, 26 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5,106
    Students counted
    58
    a year, estimated
    $39,100
    price
    $16,530
  • Medical billingHybridEducation and courses

    Medical Billing Specialist Certificate Program

    Montgomery County Community, Blue Bell

    Education and courses

    Montgomery County Community, Blue Bell · Medical billing · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$31,900
    Price if you pay yourself$3,500
    Program website, Medical Billing Specialist Certificate Program at Montgomery County Community
    More details about Medical Billing Specialist Certificate Program at Montgomery County Community
    Finished
    96%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,977
    Length
    15 weeks, 14 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    51
    a year, estimated
    $31,900
    price
    $3,500
  • Billing and codingOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Coding and Billing Specialist

    Butler County Community College, Online, based in Butler, PA

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Butler County Community College, Online, based in Butler, PA · Billing and coding · Online · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,430
    School website, Medical Coding and Billing Specialist at Butler County Community College
    More details about Medical Coding and Billing Specialist at Butler County Community College
    Finished
    28%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    45 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,400
    Students counted
    34
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $6,430
  • Billing and codingHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Coding and Billing Professional

    Medcerts LLC, Livonia, MI

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Medcerts LLC, Livonia, MI · Billing and coding · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Pennsylvania; Pennsylvania approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,000
    Program website, Medical Coding and Billing Professional at Medcerts LLC
    More details about Medical Coding and Billing Professional at Medcerts LLC
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    28 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    27
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,000
  • Billing and codingHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Online Medical Billing and Coding

    Lackawanna College, Hawley

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lackawanna College, Hawley · Billing and coding · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$39,500
    Price if you pay yourself$7,500
    School website, Online Medical Billing and Coding at Lackawanna College
    More details about Online Medical Billing and Coding at Lackawanna College
    Finished
    40%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,884
    Length
    52 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    12
    a year, estimated
    $39,500
    price
    $7,500
  • Medical codingHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Professional Coder

    Medcerts LLC, Livonia, MI

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Medcerts LLC, Livonia, MI · Medical coding · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Pennsylvania; Pennsylvania approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,500
    Program website, Professional Coder at Medcerts LLC
    More details about Professional Coder at Medcerts LLC
    Finished
    80%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    22 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    10
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $3,500
  • Billing and codingHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Billing and Coding

    Stvt-Aai Education Inc Dba Berks, Allentown

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Stvt-Aai Education Inc Dba Berks, Allentown · Billing and coding · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$27,000
    Program website, Medical Billing and Coding at Stvt-Aai Education Inc Dba Berks
    More details about Medical Billing and Coding at Stvt-Aai Education Inc Dba Berks
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $40
    Students counted
    18
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $27,000
  • Medical office with billingHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Certified Medical Administrative Assistant with Certified El

    Pittsburgh Technical College Inc, Oakdale

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Pittsburgh Technical College Inc, Oakdale · Medical office with billing · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,745
    Program website, Certified Medical Administrative Assistant with Certified El at Pittsburgh Technical College Inc
    More details about Certified Medical Administrative Assistant with Certified El at Pittsburgh Technical College Inc
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 7 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,745
  • Billing and codingHybridNo diploma needed

    Medical Billing and Coding

    Indiana County Technology Center, Indiana

    No diploma needed

    Indiana County Technology Center, Indiana · Billing and coding · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,995
    Program website, Medical Billing and Coding at Indiana County Technology Center
    More details about Medical Billing and Coding at Indiana County Technology Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,995
  • Medical billingHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Billing Training

    Butler County Community College, Butler

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Butler County Community College, Butler · Medical billing · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,399
    School website, Medical Billing Training at Butler County Community College
    More details about Medical Billing Training at Butler County Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 7 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $3,399
  • Billing and codingHybridEducation and courses

    Medical Billing & Coding

    JEVS EduConnect, Philadelphia

    Education and courses

    JEVS EduConnect, Philadelphia · Billing and coding · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,660
    More details about Medical Billing & Coding at JEVS EduConnect
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 10 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $425
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $3,660
  • Medical office with billingIn personNo diploma needed

    Certified Medical Admin. Assistant w/ Billing & Coding

    Indiana County Technology Center, Indiana

    No diploma needed

    Indiana County Technology Center, Indiana · Medical office with billing · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,695
    Program website, Certified Medical Admin. Assistant w/ Billing & Coding at Indiana County Technology Center
    More details about Certified Medical Admin. Assistant w/ Billing & Coding at Indiana County Technology Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    52 weeks, 11 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $3,695
  • Medical billingHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Billing

    Peirce College, Philadelphia

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Peirce College, Philadelphia · Medical billing · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,600
    More details about Medical Billing at Peirce College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    42 weeks, 27 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,299
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $9,600
  • Billing and codingHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Billing and Coding

    Institute Of Medical Careers Inc, Erie

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Institute Of Medical Careers Inc, Erie · Billing and coding · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$26,200
    More details about Medical Billing and Coding at Institute Of Medical Careers Inc
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    57 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $26,200
  • Billing and codingHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Billing and Coding

    Stvt-Aai Education Inc Dba Berks, Reading

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Stvt-Aai Education Inc Dba Berks, Reading · Billing and coding · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$27,000
    School website, Medical Billing and Coding at Stvt-Aai Education Inc Dba Berks
    More details about Medical Billing and Coding at Stvt-Aai Education Inc Dba Berks
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $40
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $27,000

How to pay for medical billing and coding training in Pennsylvania

Workforce funding can pay for medical billing and coding training in Pennsylvania

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for medical billing and coding training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for medical billing and coding training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Pennsylvania medical billing and coding program numbers come from

Which Pennsylvania medical billing and coding programs are on this list?

These are the medical billing and coding programs Pennsylvania approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Pennsylvania offers.

How Pennsylvania medical billing and coding program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some medical billing and coding programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

How reliable are the Pennsylvania figures?

We leave out the share working 6 months later for Pennsylvania: its rates sit far below every other state's, and the counts suggest jobs were traced only for students whose training was publicly paid.

Sources for the facts about medical billing and coding training in Pennsylvania

Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Records Specialists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs