Retraining Report
Find training

Cosmetology school in Pennsylvania

2 cosmetology programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

2 schools offer these cosmetology programs, and Pennsylvania has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Hairstylists and cosmetologists shampoo, cut, color and style hair. Every state requires a license: you finish a state-approved program, which usually leads to a certificate, and then pass a state licensing exam.1 In Pennsylvania, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first, and both are taught partly or fully online.

See the 2 programs

How much does cosmetology school cost in Pennsylvania?

$9,217 to $19,000

from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself

These two programs

Finished the program
100%
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
about $34,700
Length
36 to 39 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Pennsylvania may also offer cosmetology school. How these figures are made

Is there free cosmetology school in Pennsylvania?

All 2 cosmetology programs in Pennsylvania approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

2 programs

  • Cosmetology license programOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    Susquehanna Co Career &

    Based in Springville, PA

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Susquehanna Co Career &, based in Springville, PA · Cosmetology license program · Online · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,700
    Price if you pay yourself$9,217

    6 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Cosmetology at Susquehanna Co Career &
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,665
    Length
    36 weeks, 35 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,181
    Students counted
    24
    a year, estimated
    $34,700
    price
    $9,217
    trained with WIOA funding
    6
  • Cosmetology license programOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Cosmetology

    Noe Noonan School of Cosmetology

    Based in Erie, PA

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Noe Noonan School of Cosmetology, based in Erie, PA · Cosmetology license program · Online · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$19,000

    9 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Cosmetology at Noe Noonan School of Cosmetology
    More details about Cosmetology at Noe Noonan School of Cosmetology
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    39 weeks, 33 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,005
    Students counted
    12
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $19,000
    trained with WIOA funding
    9

How to pay for cosmetology school in Pennsylvania

WIOA funding can pay for cosmetology school in Pennsylvania

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for cosmetology school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for cosmetology school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Pennsylvania cosmetology program numbers come from

Which Pennsylvania cosmetology programs are on this list?

These are the cosmetology programs Pennsylvania approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Pennsylvania offers.

How the prices and results of Pennsylvania cosmetology programs are measured

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the Pennsylvania figures?

We leave out the share working 6 months later for Pennsylvania: its rates sit far below every other state's, and the counts suggest jobs were traced only for students whose training was publicly paid.

Other training in Pennsylvania

Sources for the facts about cosmetology school in Pennsylvania

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List