Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Patient care technician training in Arkansas

7 patient care technician programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

7 schools offer these patient care technician programs, and Arkansas has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

The federal job guide has no separate profile for patient care technicians; the closest is nursing assistants, who give basic care and help patients with daily activities. Nursing assistants often complete a state-approved program and pass the state's competency exam, which puts them on the state registry that nursing home work requires.1

In Arkansas, 6 of the 7 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.

All 7 are the same kind of program: patient care technician course.

See the 7 programs

How much does patient care technician training cost in Arkansas?

$2,680 to $4,022 is what most patient care technician programs in Arkansas cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 7 programs with a price. All of them: $482 to $5,002

In the typical program

Finished the program
87%
Working 6 months later
76%
Earned a year, estimated
about $26,800
Length
Not enough data
4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Arkansas may also offer patient care technician training. How these figures are made

Is there free patient care technician training in Arkansas?

All 7 patient care technician programs in Arkansas approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

7 programs

  • Patient care technician courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician Certificate of Proficiency

    Arkansas State University Beebe Searcy Campus

    Searcy

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Arkansas State University Beebe Searcy Campus, SearcyPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$31,400
    Price if you pay yourself$3,343
    More details about Patient Care Technician Certificate of Proficiency at Arkansas State University Beebe Searcy Campus
    Finished
    93%
    Working at 6 months
    50%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,861
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    118
    Earned a year, estimated
    $31,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,343
  • Patient care technician courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician

    Arkansas State University (Asu) - Newport (Newport 2 Yr)

    Newport

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Arkansas State University (Asu) - Newport (Newport 2 Yr), NewportPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$18,800
    Price if you pay yourself$3,002
    School website, Patient Care Technician at Arkansas State University (Asu) - Newport (Newport 2 Yr)
    More details about Patient Care Technician at Arkansas State University (Asu) - Newport (Newport 2 Yr)
    Finished
    66%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,706
    Length
    16 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $360
    Students counted
    88
    Earned a year, estimated
    $18,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,002
    School website, Patient Care Technician at Arkansas State University (Asu) - Newport (Newport 2 Yr)
  • Patient care technician courseHybridPrerequisite courses

    CP Patient Care Technician

    Univ of Arkansas Community College - Batesville (UACCB)

    Batesville

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Univ of Arkansas Community College - Batesville (UACCB), BatesvillePatient care technician course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimated$16,300
    Price if you pay yourself$482
    Program website, CP Patient Care Technician at Univ of Arkansas Community College - Batesville (UACCB)
    More details about CP Patient Care Technician at Univ of Arkansas Community College - Batesville (UACCB)
    Finished
    33%
    Working at 6 months
    63%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,085
    Length
    16 weeks, 17 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $300
    Students counted
    69
    Earned a year, estimated
    $16,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $482
    Program website, CP Patient Care Technician at Univ of Arkansas Community College - Batesville (UACCB)
  • Patient care technician courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician

    ARKANSAS College of Health Careers

    Little Rock

    High school diploma or equivalent

    ARKANSAS College of Health Careers, Little RockPatient care technician courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$29,000
    Price if you pay yourself$2,375

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Patient Care Technician at ARKANSAS College of Health Careers
    More details about Patient Care Technician at ARKANSAS College of Health Careers
    Finished
    87%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,253
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $170
    Students counted
    49
    Earned a year, estimated
    $29,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,375
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at ARKANSAS College of Health Careers
  • Patient care technician courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician CP

    BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)

    Pocahontas

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    BLACK River Technical College (BRTC), PocahontasPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$26,800
    Price if you pay yourself$4,702
    School website, Patient Care Technician CP at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
    More details about Patient Care Technician CP at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,703
    Length
    32 weeks, 22 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $300
    Students counted
    19
    Earned a year, estimated
    $26,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,702
    School website, Patient Care Technician CP at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
  • Patient care technician courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician CP

    BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)

    Paragould

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    BLACK River Technical College (BRTC), ParagouldPatient care technician course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$26,800
    Price if you pay yourself$5,002
    School website, Patient Care Technician CP at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
    More details about Patient Care Technician CP at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,703
    Length
    16 weeks, 22 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $600
    Students counted
    19
    Earned a year, estimated
    $26,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,002
    School website, Patient Care Technician CP at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
  • Patient care technician courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Patient Care Technician

    Gateway Allied Health LLC

    Hot Springs

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Gateway Allied Health LLC, Hot SpringsPatient care technician courseHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,985
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at Gateway Allied Health LLC
    More details about Patient Care Technician at Gateway Allied Health LLC
    Finished
    85%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $405
    Students counted
    18
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,985
    Program website, Patient Care Technician at Gateway Allied Health LLC

How to pay for patient care technician training in Arkansas

WIOA funding can pay for patient care technician training in Arkansas

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for patient care technician training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for patient care technician training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Patient care technician training in Arkansas

programs with a price cost under $3,000
3 of 7
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
3rd of 15
patient care technician programs here, against the typical state's 3
7 vs 3

State comparisons use the same figures as the patient care technician training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Patient care technician training in Searcy, Batesville, Little Rock and other Arkansas cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 2 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in Arkansas

How patient care technician training compares with the rest of nursing and patient care: Nursing and patient care programs in Arkansas

Where the Arkansas patient care technician program numbers come from

Which Arkansas patient care technician programs are on this list?

These are the patient care technician programs Arkansas approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Arkansas offers.

How the prices and results of Arkansas patient care technician programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about patient care technician training in Arkansas

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Nursing Assistants and Orderlies
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List