Fire academy in Arkansas
4 firefighter programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
2 schools offer these firefighter programs, and Arkansas has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Firefighters put out fires and answer emergencies that put people, property or the environment at risk. Most need a high school diploma, must pass written and physical tests and an interview, and then train for a few months at a fire academy run by a fire department or the state. Firefighters may also need EMT or paramedic certification.1
In Arkansas, all 4 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 4 programs here are fire academy (Firefighter I and II, 2 programs), fire science certificate or diploma (1 program) and fire science (associate degree, 1 program).
See the 4 programsHow much does fire academy cost in Arkansas?
$1,317 to $10,860
from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- 1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- 1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Arkansas may also offer fire academy training. How these figures are made
All 4 firefighter programs in Arkansas approved for WIOA funding
Filters
4 programs
Fire & Emergency Response
Southern Arkansas University (SAU) Tech
Camden
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,100Price if you pay yourself$1,317Program website, Fire & Emergency Response at Southern Arkansas University (SAU) TechMore details about Fire & Emergency Response at Southern Arkansas University (SAU) Tech
- Finished
- 20%
- Working at 6 months
- 70%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,534
- Length
- 15 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $297
- Students counted
- 228
Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.
- Earned a year, estimated
- $46,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,317
Firefighter Essentials CP
BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
Pocahontas
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,439School website, Firefighter Essentials CP at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)More details about Firefighter Essentials CP at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 19 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,439
Firefighter Essentials TC
BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
Pocahontas
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,611School website, Firefighter Essentials TC at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)More details about Firefighter Essentials TC at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 31 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,611
Fire Science AAS
BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
Pocahontas
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,860School website, Fire Science AAS at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)More details about Fire Science AAS at BLACK River Technical College (BRTC)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,860
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for fire academy training in Arkansas
WIOA funding can pay for fire academy training in Arkansas
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for fire academy training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for fire academy training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Other training in Arkansas
How fire academy training compares with the rest of public safety: First responder training in Arkansas
- CDL training37 programs
- CNA classes29 programs
- Medical assistant training10 programs
- Phlebotomy training16 programs
- Welding classes57 programs
- HVAC training18 programs
- Medical billing and coding training15 programs
- LPN programs31 programs
- EMT classes28 programs
- Electrician training11 programs
- Dental assistant programs4 programs
- Auto mechanic classes19 programs
- Pharmacy technician training10 programs
- Plumbing school3 programs
- CNC machinist training7 programs
- Carpentry classes4 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training7 programs
- Diesel mechanic training15 programs
- Cybersecurity training7 programs
- IT training33 programs
- Cosmetology school2 programs
- EKG technician programs2 programs
- Massage therapy school1 program
- Paralegal programs1 program
- Police academy8 programs
- Surgical tech programs11 programs
- Radiology tech programs8 programs
- Culinary school9 programs
- PTA programs4 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training6 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training22 programs
- Early childhood education programs28 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school7 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training6 programs
- Hospitality management programs4 programs
- Coding and software development courses2 programs
- Lineman school1 program
- Sonography school3 programs
- Administrative assistant training16 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs5 programs
- Medical lab technician programs7 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses3 programs
- Digital marketing courses2 programs
- Web and graphic design courses7 programs
- Health information technology programs10 programs
- Vet tech programs2 programs
- Patient care technician training7 programs
- OTA programs4 programs
- Forklift certification1 program
- Healthcare administration programs2 programs
- Customer service training2 programs
- Flight school1 program
- Mental health technician training2 programs
- Human services programs2 programs
- Manufacturing technician training8 programs
- Electronics technician training7 programs
- Business administration programs26 programs
- Criminal justice programs23 programs
- Teacher assistant certification18 programs
- Auto body repair classes8 programs
- Masonry training1 program
- Construction training programs8 programs
- Dental hygiene programs2 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes12 programs
- RN programs38 programs
- Project management certification1 program
Where the Arkansas firefighter program numbers come from
Which Arkansas firefighter programs are on this list?
These are the firefighter programs Arkansas approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Arkansas offers.
How the prices and results of Arkansas firefighter programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about fire academy training in Arkansas
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Firefighters
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List