Retraining Report
Find training

Plumbing school in Utah

6 plumbing programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

6 schools offer these plumbing programs, and Utah has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Plumbers install and repair pipes, fixtures and piping systems. Most learn the trade in a four- or five-year apprenticeship, and most states and some cities require plumbers to be licensed.1 In Utah, 2 of the 6 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.

See the 6 programs

How much does plumbing school cost in Utah?

$2,586 to $3,466 is what most plumbing programs in Utah cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 6 programs with a price. All of them: $2,465 to $4,448

In the typical program

Finished the program
Too few programs to say
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Too few programs to say
Length
128 to 162 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Utah may also offer plumbing school. How these figures are made

Is there free plumbing school in Utah?

Plumbing school in Ogden, Provo, St. George and other Utah cities

Choosing an area filters the list below.

All 6 plumbing programs in Utah approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

6 programs

  • Plumbing apprenticeshipIn personNo diploma needed

    Plumbing Technology Plumber

    Mountainland Technical College, All Locations

    Lehi

    No diploma needed

    Mountainland Technical College, All Locations, Lehi · Plumbing apprenticeship · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$31,300
    Price if you pay yourself$3,642
    Program website, Plumbing Technology Plumber at Mountainland Technical College, All Locations
    More details about Plumbing Technology Plumber at Mountainland Technical College, All Locations
    Finished
    40%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,832
    Length
    128 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $20
    Students counted
    438
    a year, estimated
    $31,300
    price
    $3,642
  • Plumbing apprenticeshipHybridNo diploma needed

    Plumbing Technology Plumber

    Davis Technical College, All Locations

    Kaysville

    No diploma needed

    Davis Technical College, All Locations, Kaysville · Plumbing apprenticeship · Hybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$41,400
    Price if you pay yourself$2,520
    School website, Plumbing Technology Plumber at Davis Technical College, All Locations
    More details about Plumbing Technology Plumber at Davis Technical College, All Locations
    Finished
    48%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,356
    Length
    208 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $737
    Students counted
    389
    a year, estimated
    $41,400
    price
    $2,520
  • Plumbing apprenticeshipIn personPrerequisite courses

    Plumbing Technology Plumber

    Ogden Weber Technical College, Ogden

    Ogden

    Prerequisite courses

    Ogden Weber Technical College, Ogden, Ogden · Plumbing apprenticeship · In person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,465
    School website, Plumbing Technology Plumber at Ogden Weber Technical College, Ogden
    More details about Plumbing Technology Plumber at Ogden Weber Technical College, Ogden
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    138 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $950
    Students counted
    165
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,465
  • Plumbing apprenticeshipIn personEducation and courses

    Plumbing Technology Plumber

    Dixie Technical College, St George Campus

    St. George

    Education and courses

    Dixie Technical College, St George Campus, St. George · Plumbing apprenticeship · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$64,500
    Price if you pay yourself$2,939
    School website, Plumbing Technology Plumber at Dixie Technical College, St George Campus
    More details about Plumbing Technology Plumber at Dixie Technical College, St George Campus
    Finished
    88%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    $16,135
    Length
    170 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $450
    Students counted
    165
    a year, estimated
    $64,500
    price
    $2,939
  • Plumbing apprenticeshipIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Plumbing Technology Plumber

    Bridgerland Technical College, All Locations

    Logan

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Bridgerland Technical College, All Locations, Logan · Plumbing apprenticeship · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,785
    School website, Plumbing Technology Plumber at Bridgerland Technical College, All Locations
    More details about Plumbing Technology Plumber at Bridgerland Technical College, All Locations
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    128 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $795
    Students counted
    74
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,785
  • Plumbing (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Plumbing Technology Plumber

    Salt Lake Community College, All Locations

    Salt Lake City

    Education and courses

    Salt Lake Community College, All Locations, Salt Lake City · Plumbing (associate degree) · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,448
    Program website, Plumbing Technology Plumber at Salt Lake Community College, All Locations
    More details about Plumbing Technology Plumber at Salt Lake Community College, All Locations
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    128 weeks, 10 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,418
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $4,448

How to pay for plumbing school in Utah

WIOA funding can pay for plumbing school in Utah

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Paid plumbing apprenticeships

An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.6

Financial aid and grants for plumbing school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for plumbing school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Plumbing school in Utah

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
8th of 17
plumbing programs here, against the typical state's 4
6 vs 4

State comparisons use the same figures as the plumbing school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Plumbing apprenticeships in Utah

Most plumbers train in a four- or five-year apprenticeship. Each year usually brings about 2,000 hours of paid work on the job plus classes in safety, local plumbing codes and blueprint reading. Unions, trade associations and businesses run the programs; some people start as helpers or with a pre-apprenticeship course. To work on your own, states and cities often ask for two to five years of experience and a passed exam.1

You apply to the employer or the program sponsor, not through a school.6 The Department of Labor's Apprenticeship Finder lists openings by place and job. This page lists 5 plumbing apprenticeships approved for WIOA funding in Utah. Ask what you'll pay for the classes and what you'll earn on the job.

Where the Utah plumbing program numbers come from

Which Utah plumbing programs are on this list?

These are the plumbing programs Utah approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Utah offers.

How Utah plumbing program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some plumbing programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

How reliable are the Utah figures?

We leave out the share working 6 months later for Utah: its rates sit far below every other state's.

Other training in Utah

Sources for the facts about plumbing school in Utah

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List